Boredoms
Seadrum/House of Sun

Vice
2005
C
Reviewed by: Mario Quadracci
Reviewed on: 2005-06-13



Posted 06/13/2005 - 10:43:20 AM by grinder:
 This album is a departure from past Boredoms releases. I've heard them all and these two tracks are unique in the band's canon. Further, you appear to lack the critical faculties necessary to grasp this disc's transcendentally psychedelic properties. Seadrum/House of Sun is a serious contender for album of the year.
 
Posted 06/13/2005 - 11:44:54 AM by dubidet:
 Seadrum/House of the Sun is a departure from the past Boredom's releases in that it's the most banal thing they've produced since the mind numbingly boring remixes of remixes of remixes that go for $30 each @ Other Music. If anything, you, grinder, apparently lack the critical faculties to realize that The Boredoms haven't relased anything of worth since 1990's Soul Discharge. "Transcendentally psychedelic properties?" Are you kidding? Seadrum/House of the Sun is more like "Letdown of the Year," bro.
 
Posted 06/13/2005 - 11:53:33 AM by Slumberlord:
 "House of Sun" is pretty disposable. "Seadrum" is one of the best Boredoms tracks I've heard and I'm surprised people are reading it so differently than I am. The rising percussion building into the unexpected piano is brilliant. I saw the group live a few weeks ago and the performance (Eye + 3 drummers) is basically an almost two-hour development of "Seadrum"-like percussion themes. Pretty incredible stuff, although they could probably do even better with their next full album.
 
Posted 06/13/2005 - 02:53:26 PM by grinder:
 Dubidet, you obviously don't have even a basic understanding of the holy qualities of drone-based music and the sublimities of free jazz. Or perhaps you suffer from ADD. To call Seadrum/HOS "banal" reveals a shocking dullness in your hearing apparatus. And Slumberlord, if "HOS" is "disposable," then you probably have no use for the immortal music of La Monte Young, Terry Riley, Henry Flynt and other minimalist masters.
 
Posted 06/13/2005 - 04:01:17 PM by dubidet:
 'suppose me needs to sharpen up. Oh, snap!
 
Posted 06/13/2005 - 07:28:22 PM by KeithKawaii:
 http://www.tinymixtapes.com/musicreviews/b/boredoms.htm My more hyperbolic review at TMT. I think I got too emotional...
 
Posted 06/13/2005 - 08:05:34 PM by grinder:
 "The entire second side of Seadrum/House of Sun is comprised of a sitar warbling along, possibly accompanied by a guitar, though I can't really tell. " Tha't's a tamboura, Keith. Otherwise, your review makes some solid points. "House of Sun" is the prolonged, glorious sigh of pleasure after "Seadrum"'s vigorous shag. 20 minutes of it is just a tease. But maybe the fact that I'm 43 and have a long attention span puts me in the minority on this issue. Y'all need to get some Viagra for your mind.
 
Posted 06/13/2005 - 09:02:58 PM by dubidet:
 Grinder, you are nasty.
 
Posted 06/13/2005 - 09:34:17 PM by grinder:
 "Grinder, you are nasty." Know this.
 
Posted 06/15/2005 - 11:37:28 AM by grinder:
 One wonders why Stylus doesn't list this piece in its Recent Reviews column. Anyone care to venture a guess?
 
Posted 06/15/2005 - 01:27:36 PM by ddrake:
 Erick knows his Boredoms! Seadrum is brilliant. I don't think you have to know "minimalist masters" in order to appreciate that kind of beauty, but thats just my love of shimmering unpredictability rather than any love of psychadelia.