Destroyer
Your Blues

Merge
2004
B+
Reviewed by: Eric Seguy
Reviewed on: 2004-03-11



Posted 03/11/2004 - 11:50:54 AM by theokcomputer:
 Glam foundations? What about T. Rex?
 
Posted 03/11/2004 - 12:21:05 PM by chpalson:
 I think the glam comparisons have been beaten to death when talking about Destroyer and have really hardly applied since Streethawk; there are a few aspects of it on Blues, but just as many folk, new-wave or psych-rock elements. Spending as much time on the glam angle -- especially Bowie, who accounts for perhaps 10% of what Bejar does -- seems awful lazy, and though I generally enjoy your reviews, I found this to be needlessly over-written and near impossible to get through. Put down the thesaurus and hit us with some ideas or original insight instead.
 
Posted 03/11/2004 - 12:21:44 PM by chpalson:
 sorry, I meant "haven't applied since Streethawk"
 
Posted 03/11/2004 - 12:37:04 PM by ESeguy:
 The glam references are either lazy or accurate. This was probably over-written, but I found I didn't have much to say about it while writing it. In short, if you like Destroyer, as I do, then you'll like this album. It's basically the same except with slightly worse lyrics, and weirder production. (Also it should be noted I never use a thesaurus while writing, though I get the gist of what you're saying).
 
Posted 03/11/2004 - 03:40:06 PM by chpalson:
 I agree with you, and I think a review that could clearly articulate that with more focus on the songs rather than the inconsequential Bowie pondering would've been helpful; I love the record, but I can't imagine anyone unfamiliar with the group reading the review and knowing what the hell to expect and if they were expecting a Bowie impersonation to the level that it seems to let on, they'd be misled. I think whether or not you actually use a thesaurus is moot. To have these words in your vocabulary without a way of incorporating them that flows well or makes your point instead of seeming forced and needlessly complex is pointless. It's a music review, not a philosophy paper.
 
Posted 03/13/2004 - 05:03:40 PM by popeguillaume:
 I'm surprised you didn't mention City of Daughters, Bejar's pre-Bowie masterpiece. It's the perfect showcase of his idiosyncratic (still illuminating!) lyrics and a disc where our listening is not so easily colored by his on-the-sleeve influences.
 
Posted 04/05/2004 - 02:33:53 AM by nadjer:
 This Bowie/T-rex comparrisson is SO PLAYED OUT! Have any one of you ever heard of LUCAS HAINES (the lead singer from that 90's bristsh "alternative" band ,The Auteurs)??! --- ---Look for some Auteurs mp3's and get back to me on Bejar's sound-a-like issues. Seriously, it might shock and amaze you that this manchester band who never really made it big is one of Destroyer's greatest influences.