Fire Engines
Hungry Beat

Acute
2007
B
Reviewed by: Mike Orme
Reviewed on: 2007-10-02



Posted 10/02/2007 - 05:28:10 AM by Brooon:
 I was lucky enough to see The Fire Engines live last month (on the same festival bill as Primal Scream and JAMC, incidentally). This is a great record to introduce them, 'Candyskin' and 'Discord' are both brilliant.
 
Posted 10/02/2007 - 09:42:08 AM by hutlock:
 In fact, this is not just a great introduction, this is EVERYTHING that was released by the band until the recent stuff, almost a straight reissue of the Fond compilation on Creation/RevOla, but that had one bonus cut -- a cover of Heaven 17's "(We Don't Need This) Fascist Groove Thing" from a BBC Session. Hey Danny -- did you steal this from WOBC?
 
Posted 10/02/2007 - 10:56:09 AM by danselzer:
 Technically, Hungry Beat is everything on Fond minus the two BBC session tracks, which were Fascist Groove Thing and a version of Discord, plus the full unedited version of Big Gold Dream, which was shortened for Fond. Everythings all remastered, especially Big Gold Dream which is a much better sounding transfer now, plus liner notes, artwork and of course actually being available in the US this time! And for the record Todd, the only thing I stole from WOBC was a promo version of the Beach Boys Holland 7" that I found in a giant dusty box of singles in Studio B. To clarify one thing about this review...Acute Records is no longer a Brooklyn label, we are a Queens label. Also a DC label though. And not all our releases are so dour...the Prefects could be pretty funny, or as they say over there, take the piss. Thanks for the great review though!
 
Posted 10/02/2007 - 02:16:18 PM by grandbanks:
 Good review, good record. Just want to say thanks Dan, your label is really top notch.
 
Posted 10/02/2007 - 02:38:12 PM by hutlock:
 Well, as you might recall, we used to stock Fond at the Co-op, although I think Dave, me, Tim Paxton, and Tree bought all the copies that came in. Anyway, more importantly: Where the hell is my promo copy of this? ;-)
 
Posted 10/02/2007 - 04:56:11 PM by danselzer:
 thanks grandbanks....Todd, emailm me offsite, I'll send you one, I mean it this time!
 
Posted 10/03/2007 - 07:36:49 AM by Brooon:
 aye sorry, you're right Todd, not just an introduction. It's pretty much all the Fire Engines you'll ever need. Oh and Mike - nice review!
 
Posted 10/04/2007 - 11:17:24 PM by MikeOrme:
 I wouldn't say it's the ONLY Fire Engines album you'll ever need. If you enjoy this, you might want to pick up Codex Teenage Premonition, but only after you buy this one.
Dan: Thanks for the kind words and the label clarification. I wouldn't call all of your releases "dour" at all. I do think there's a general theme of challenging abrasion running through the Acute releases that even touches on witty albums like the Prefects disc and the Dr. Mix and the Remix record. And I like it!