Devendra Banhart
Smokey Rolls Down Thunder Canyon

XL
2007
C
Reviewed by: Andrew Gaerig
Reviewed on: 2007-09-24



Posted 09/24/2007 - 02:19:34 AM by florenz6:
 No, he doesn´t loose his way, I think. The album may be way too long, full of side-steps, long improv parts, a myriad of echoes etc. But it works. It will not keep you at the edge of the seat for the whole time, but this kind of day dreaming, mumblings, naive metaphors mixed with sincere moments, add to the magic of a lot of moments (songs)...And Devandra B. has a good team at his side, he always finds a way to not end up in total cliche territory. The reggae song, for example, "The Other Woman", is beautiful. And his take on Brubeck´s "Take Five"-groove makes a lot of sense when it leads to a bossa-kind of swing; cause Brubeck´s old pal, Paul Desmond, loved Brazilian music. An album which has its weaknesses, but they make it even more lovely. Rare enough such things happen! The best review I read about it, was published in "Uncut".
 
Posted 09/24/2007 - 12:18:08 PM by IanMathers:
 D'you know who's better than Devendra fuckin' Banhart? The Strokes.
 
Posted 09/24/2007 - 12:20:07 PM by florenz6:
 So funny, Little Matters!! You´re welcome!
 
Posted 09/24/2007 - 12:42:57 PM by florenz6:
 Hello, Devandra! You might read this. And I want to excuse myself for this guy with bad manners some of us call "Little Matters". He was a bit offended by some of my reactions about things he said, so he can´t stop making bad jokes. (by the way, he´s a huge fan of the first Strokes album, which was i.m.o. a typical example for the co-existence of great hype machinery and totally bad music!) It´s a bit miserable that Ian Mathers is officially working for Stylus (looking for some applause from his small fan-base)and uses this forum for offending artists he doesn´personally know at all. I call this asshole behaviour, but I think he likes this kind of attention. Well, he should take a vacation and listen to the collected works of the Butthole Surfers. I´m very sure he´s good in butthle surfing! Best wishes, Florenz6!
 
Posted 09/24/2007 - 03:14:21 PM by cwperry:
 IanMathers: The Strokes are not even capable of creating a song as achingly beautiful as "Korean Dogwood," a song as goofily fun as "Chinese Children," or an album as lovely as Nino Roja, to name just three things Banhart does better.
 
Posted 09/24/2007 - 04:20:55 PM by Richie_A:
 It's better than I was expecting.. too long and the genre-pastiche stuff is tiresome but there is a lot of good stuff on it too (some of it not mentioned in the review, like I Remember which I think is one of the best songs he's ever done, and Freely, Seaside, Rosa..) I think the line about this "asking listeners to buy into his hippie-cum-man child persona wholesale" is far more applicable to Cripple Crow, whereas this album feels more genuine to my ears. He still needs a damn editor and to kick the band for a while.. frustrating to hear that he can still make good stuff but apparently can't tell the difference between the good and bad.
 
Posted 09/24/2007 - 06:18:17 PM by raskolnikov:
 Saying the Strokes are better than Devendra is like saying you prefer syphillitic tumors to leprosy. Both are conditions to be avoided....but for the sake of argument I say I'll take the annoyingly childlike penniless troubadour over the fucking band of poseur millionaire kids whose parents run modeling agencies. Just from an art-for-art's-sake point of course. Banhart's music is torture for me, but the I hear nothing in the Strokes' music but the sound of payola and the gears of the hype machine. And Florenz' nickname for Mathers has become funny through sheer repetition at this point.
 
Posted 09/24/2007 - 06:40:43 PM by motelmoka:
 Little Matters, rofl. I find the strongest songs on the release to be the spanish speaking ones (and tonada yanomaminista). I'll give it to him that the spanish lyrics finally make sense in comparison with the ones from his past albums which were random for the most part. Was halfway dissapointed by this album, there was a rumour about doing a whole album collaboration with Arto Lindsay (which I think collaborates on some of the songs in here) and all of the songs were supposedly going to be written in spanish & portuguese. Probably would have been better that way, at least non-spanish speaking people could have enjoyed the music itself and overlook the nonsensical lyrics.
 
Posted 09/25/2007 - 01:15:00 PM by florenz6:
 Re: Rasky: I think CW Perry is a well-mannered man.Your comparison of music and illness shows once more you´re an asshole.
 
Posted 09/25/2007 - 05:32:40 PM by raskolnikov:
 Florenz6: there are many reasons why I'm an asshole, don't forget. But disliking the windy, hippy, dippy Devendra is not one of them. Neither is hating the fucking Strokes, who fucking suck. I've been a despised figure since the late 1860s, so I think I can handle your contempt.
 
Posted 09/26/2007 - 07:03:00 AM by florenz6:
 Rasky, not liking Devanadra is not the reason for calling you an asshole, but these analogies between illnesses and music are so disgusting! It´s not far away from the thinking of old fascist Germany about their view of "Entartete Kunst". And this attitude of some guys who like insulting artists for what they´re doing - that is such a foul game. If you would suffer from a syphillitic humour, you wouldn´t write such a rubbish. This belongs to the area of "emotional intelligence", Rasky. So, it´s fine with me to play boomerang.
 
Posted 09/26/2007 - 10:48:13 AM by florenz6:
 correction: it´s tumor, not "humour" (in case of Rasky, such mistakes easly happen)
 
Posted 09/27/2007 - 07:27:08 AM by raskolnikov:
 Bad music is a virus, an illness, a poison beyond measure. Those who practice this form of expression are as dangerous to the human mind as a deadly bacillus is to the human body. Hippies are as dangerous to the well-being of a mind as rich wussy poseurs. I'd say more but my leprosy is preventing me from typing more, as I've lost a fingertip in my keyboard.
 
Posted 09/28/2007 - 08:20:20 AM by florenz6:
 Raskolnikov, you´re a complete idiot!
 
Posted 09/28/2007 - 05:49:35 PM by raskolnikov:
 Awww, now you're just flirting with me, Florenz...
 
Posted 09/30/2007 - 09:26:06 AM by bassmanO8:
 You're all idiots at the end of the day. You listen to your pop music. It goes in your ear, makes it all gluey, infects the posterum and next thing your hammer & anvil are stuck together. Your brain's a spittoon, your tongue a sputum. Your postings to Stylus become the liquid flatulence of your social life. The Stylus writers themselves have already sucked the fatty acid from the blowfly-strewn corpse of pop music's fevered limpodes and are 'pelicaning' it back into the mouths of their iodine-deficient monkey-brother fan base who lovingly cup the ball-sac of each writer's nauseated & feverish desperation to be noticed. Raskolnikov's illnesses aren't the half of Florenz's leukodystrophied psychiatric quarking or CW Perry's sick self-loathing.
 
Posted 09/30/2007 - 10:13:04 AM by florenz6:
 bassman08: a source of constant joy, yep!