Aesop Rock
None Shall Pass

Definitive Jux
2007
A-
Reviewed by: Jeff Weiss
Reviewed on: 2007-09-05



Posted 09/05/2007 - 07:28:42 AM by smezzer:
 I like this album a lot, so much so that it's barely left my ears since i got it. The production was always my issue with earlier Aesop Rock work, as well as the meaningless abstraction, but he seems to have refined both into something much more enjoyable. Not quite as good as I'll Sleep.. but really, what is?
 
Posted 09/05/2007 - 12:36:52 PM by olaolu:
 "Not quite as good as I'll Sleep.. but really, what is?" - A lot, actually. But still, I'm happy to see this review. I'll have to check out the album, I guess.
 
Posted 09/05/2007 - 01:02:46 PM by theheightstx:
 A waste of space. Thanks for spending most of the review making inessential comparisons/analogies to the beats. That you remark that Can Ox has nothing on Big Sur or the Dharma Bums shows that your analogies don't work. Daylight being analogous to Howl? Have you read the poem lately? This album is a step back from Bazooka Tooth. The last album, was a dizzying array of the psychosis and inner turmoil that Aes hinted at before on the secret cut Maintenance from the Daylight EP. The frazzled production of that album allowed the listener into the tempestuous nature of his mental space at the time. Why the fuss about bringing back Blockhead except to fulfill the fantasies of fanboys such as yourself who can't let Labor Days alone? Bands like Wilco get flack for "mellowing" out in the most boring way. This album should get the same treatment. El-P's latest was truly a masterwork for more reasons than I care to get into now (this is a comment and not a record review),None Shall Pass is a disappointment's in that, as this reviewer points out, makes a conscious decision to being "non-abstractly fun" to armies of fair-weather hip-hop fans who are more interested in Rx Bandits than Busy Bee.
 
Posted 09/05/2007 - 04:11:08 PM by johnedowney:
 ...but I like it...
 
Posted 09/09/2007 - 01:20:24 AM by barbarian:
 Other than a track or two, Bazooka Tooth sucked. This is much better, like a B or B- grade. I stopped reading the article when all the literary references came in. I was like ... no. This albums is about on the level of Mr. Lif's Mo Mega.
 
Posted 09/09/2007 - 09:37:03 PM by ieatseeds:
 the heightstx was on POINT. Agree with everything said. I was at the Aesop Rock show last night in Philly and was going into giving him (and Cage) the benefit of the doubt, trying to let them impress me. But there was no vibe, no love, that's not hiphop, sorry.
 
Posted 09/09/2007 - 11:57:56 PM by aclaerbo:
 hey johnedowney, your opinion doesn't matter. you like fall out boy