Super Furry Animals
Hey Venus!

Rough Trade
2007
B-
Reviewed by: Nick Southall
Reviewed on: 2007-08-24



Posted 08/24/2007 - 10:55:22 AM by ReichlJuice:
 I agree, Nick. SFA seem to be trying to slow down their rocking a lot and, I think, with their last album I was on the fence as to whether or not that was such a hot idea. I think I like Hey Venus a lot more than Love Kraft, but I like everything else more than these two, at least so far. I wouldn't give this album anything less than a B- as well, as its still a really good effort, just not comparable to Rings Around the World... not to say its not as good but they're just so damned different.
 
Posted 08/24/2007 - 11:53:57 AM by mattslack:
 I've not heard this yet, but the last two albums were worse than anything I could have imagined one of my favourite bands releasing. Good use of the word 'schizeclecto' in the review.
 
Posted 08/24/2007 - 10:47:00 PM by ReichlJuice:
 aww what, Matt... no love for Phantom Power, especially Hello Sunshine?
 
Posted 08/25/2007 - 04:49:01 AM by yarn24:
 Just reading your review, I would have thought it was more like a B+. As for me, more beautiful stuff by this band. And mattslack, I can understand not liking Love Kraft (it was weak even by SFA's standards), but I can't imagine even your mother being able to still love you if you can't appreciate the brilliance of Phantom Power. That album still sounds great after four years and remains one of the ten best albums of the decade thus far. Hey Venus! is not quite that good, but still well worth your time.
 
Posted 08/27/2007 - 05:28:05 AM by florenz6:
 I don´t know the new one, heared two tracks, foudn them too a la Beach Boys. Surely, Phantom Power was better than Love Kraft, but this band often fills the tracks with too mnay sounds, leading to "overproduction". Always preferred the Gorky´s anyway, this other Welsh band...
 
Posted 08/29/2007 - 11:08:14 PM by jeremyyoung:
 What's with the lack of love for Love Kraft? I thought it was a great mature offering from these Welshmen, and arguably their most cohesive album. "Walk you home" didn't do much for me (it felt like two songs stitched together; albeit not very seamlessly) but the rest of the album is solid, if subdued, SFA. And while Phantom Power allowed a band member other than Gruff to sing on one song, Love Kraft did this on a few tracks and for this reason it sounds like a real "band" album. I have yet to hear Hey Venus as it hasn't been released here in Australia, but I look forward to it.
 
Posted 08/30/2007 - 10:15:40 PM by OrvilleM:
 Wait, the songs are both shorter and more concise? Crazy! No, but really, seems like a good review of the album. And I'll stick up for Love Kraft, it was great, but it's difficult to compare to Phantom Power.
 
Posted 09/11/2007 - 11:17:26 PM by auteur55:
 I really like Nick as a reviewer. But I believe one's heart must be critically cynical to not look at every furry record as a gift. Most consistently brilliant, enchanting and inventive band of the last 15 years I simply can't understand how professed music lovers don't devour everything they release. Once a band gets over four or five albums no matter what they do fans start complaining about how every record doesn't sound like their favorite one. Their first five albums are benchmarks. Phantom Power and Love Kraft made you work a little bit to love them which means the rewards were greater. The most recent album continues their incredible musical journey. A journey I have been on since 1992 and have loved every minute of it.
 
Posted 10/19/2007 - 10:06:47 AM by atebayam:
 i also like nick as a reviewer. but i also think that this record deserved more praise than it got. i dont want to compare this album with previous furries albums. its a bit boring when people - fans - get so attach to one especific album that they cant enjoy what comes after. its even more boring and annoying when its a lazy magazine reviewer who in all his lazyness loves to praise the previous album and bash the new one. (im not talking about you, nick) i went to metacritic yesterday and this record is doing okay. but just okay. i dont get it. to me, this is the best album of the year, and one of furries' best. i dont see it as a conceptual affair, i see it as a great album, loaded with great pop songs, and by great i mean GREAT! i cant remember the last time i picked up a pop album as catchy and remarkable as this. i think it may even be the best record of the year. i loved spoon's ga ga ga, and i thought the new radiohead was good. but hey venus! has everything one could wish for. the highlights for me are: run away, the gift that keeps on giving, into the night, baby ate my eightball and carbon dating. but i think i could list the whole album here.