Paul McCartney
Memory Almost Full

Hear Music
2007
B-
Reviewed by: Alfred Soto
Reviewed on: 2007-06-08



Posted 06/08/2007 - 06:03:01 AM by florenz6:
 Months later, I still totally disagree with Mr. Soto´s review of the fabulous and dark "West"-album of Lucinda Williams. But now, concerning Macca, no contratdiction possible.:) Okay, his last collab with Nigel Godrich had more substance, but what will you expect from a producer who was responsible for this terribly overrated first Strokes-album?! From this perspective, "Memory´s Almost Full" is wuite okayx and comes with nearly a handfull of good songs - and moments of indisputable magic!
 
Posted 06/08/2007 - 06:04:43 AM by florenz6:
 correction: "...is quite okay and comes along with..."
 
Posted 06/08/2007 - 10:04:45 AM by meatbreak:
 Florenz, if you think that Paul McCartney has any moments of magic left in him then you must think that new Mitchell & Webb film is A.M.A.Z.I.N.G.

Two down, two to go.
 
Posted 06/08/2007 - 11:06:47 AM by florenz6:
 meatbreak, I don´t know that film at all. But did you read carefully: i said "moments"! The Stones , for example, have no moments of magic at all left in them, the invention of boredom called The Strokes never had a fucking moment of magic in them.
 
Posted 06/08/2007 - 11:49:52 AM by cwperry:
 The standard edition has the worst packaging I've seen in many moons. I hope the "super jewel box" or whatever it's called never becomes standard. And the booklet? With the weird folds and the annoying lyric sheet that fades to white with the note "For the rest of the lyrics, go to www.paulmccartney.com"? Ugh! If you can get it out of that contraption to look at it, that is. Now--someday I'll actually listen to it . . .
 
Posted 06/08/2007 - 11:52:57 AM by florenz6:
 Comedy sketches, meatbreak?! Looks weird. A bit dull, too, from the packaging. So you want to make a little joke, buddy? Last great BBC-series I saw on DVD was the season One of "The Thick Of It". Macca would be impossible there!
 
Posted 06/08/2007 - 11:55:59 AM by florenz6:
 ... yes, the packaging of that edition is super-pretentious crap! But when you ever listen to the content, Mr. Perry, you will hopefully find these two, three really good songs and some great moments:)
 
Posted 06/08/2007 - 03:59:50 PM by cwperry:
 florenz6: I really do look forward to hearing it! I didn't like Chaos and Creation in the Backyard or Driving Rain, but from what everyone is saying this new one will make up for it.
 
Posted 06/11/2007 - 07:16:58 AM by meatbreak:
 Saw him sing on TV on Friday night. Dross. People need to re-examine what exciting innovative, vital sounding music means to them and forget about pointlessness like this. Just ignore it. What can it possibly do for you? Nothing. Exactly. Stuff liek this is really annoying me at the moment; people fawning over risible beige music for no other reason that I can see other than it exists. I repeat: Two down, two to go.
 
Posted 06/11/2007 - 07:37:52 AM by meatbreak:
 ....no really, seriously. What is it about exciting blood pumping challenging music that people are so afraid of? There's nothing wrong in admitting that things are totally dull. The only people who will be offended are the one's that deserve it anyway, so no loss. Too much excellent invigorating stuff around to keep returning to has beens and blandness that isn't going to progress you or anything else one bit. Dear or dear...move along, nothing to see here.
 
Posted 06/11/2007 - 11:57:35 AM by cwperry:
 meatbreak: I like a lot of different things. I bought the new Pelican album at the same time I bought this. And what are you, Mark David Chapman, with your "two down, two to go" comment? You sound like a sociopath. I know that "beige music" isn't the greatest, and truth be told I can't believe I bought this album, but geezus just ignore it instead of getting all excited for McCartney & Ringo to kick off.
 
Posted 06/11/2007 - 11:32:08 PM by boilingboy:
 Meatbreak, I think you just explained the problem with most of Thomas Inskeeps's reviews. Well said.
 
Posted 06/12/2007 - 04:09:03 AM by IanMathers:
 Poor, sweet florenz - you should check your facts vis a vis Godrich and the Strokes, no matter what you think of the latter. But really, anyone defending this piece of crap has no place to be throwing stones.
 
Posted 06/12/2007 - 07:25:27 AM by florenz6:
 re:ian mathers: Hello, Canada man! Nobody seems to read carefully. McCartney´s album is a three star album (with good will). it has one, two great songs ("Mr. Bellamy"), the rest ist mainstream I will never listen to again. I know the story of Godrich and the Strokes very well. Crap remains crap. It´s words, not stones. It´s the Strokes. P.S. But the distant echoes of the Wings and the Beatles sometime works fine. So, keep waiting for The White Stripes - they bore me to death!:)
 
Posted 06/12/2007 - 08:12:25 AM by meatbreak:
 We read you loud and clear, but you've totally lost me now Flo, though I do almost agree with you on the Stripes. I have decided that I'm not ever going to listen to Icky Thump for many reasons, but mostly because I am just bored of it all. It's not their fault (necessarily). it's everyone else. Like I said earlier - toooooo many exciting things going on to dally around with broadsheet nonsense.

I still can't figure out what your problem with the Strokes first album is. I don't really want to. MxBx
 
Posted 06/12/2007 - 08:49:21 AM by florenz6:
 meatbreak, simple as that: the first Strokes was celebrated as a huge piece of music. What it really is: very representative of the post-punk boredom of so many bands. In a great article, Wayne Coyne demolished (verbally) this aura of great music that simply consisted of stealing old formulas and attitudes. The White Stripes fit in the picture. I quoted that band of boredom too much, you´re right. I won´t say any word about them in this lifetime. Promise!:) Now I turn on Lucinda Williams´ "West". That´s simple and magic at the same time!
 
Posted 06/12/2007 - 08:54:33 AM by florenz6:
 But why is Little Matters calling me "poor,sweet"?! He should - instead of imitating the cheap irony of the likes of Raskolnikov - follow the paths of Mr. Cohen and look for great flute songs:)
 
Posted 06/12/2007 - 09:26:57 AM by meatbreak:
 Fuck Lucinda Williams.
 
Posted 06/12/2007 - 09:33:33 AM by florenz6:
 stay constructive!
 
Posted 06/12/2007 - 09:48:29 AM by florenz6:
 Coming back to old spirits. Yesterday I was in a club where they where played roots reggae (without the Island Records superstars), 60s pop with a sense for buried treasures, and 70s ECM jazz with all its masterpieces being released nearly one after the other (Facing, You, Open To Love etc.) And then, out of nowhere resp. an exccellent loudspeaker system "In My Life". This song. Wow!
 
Posted 06/12/2007 - 01:37:41 PM by florenz6:
 And, Little Matters, did I get it right - you´re calling an album a piece of crap, on which your collegue Alfred Soto offered a fair and prejudice-free view??
 
Posted 09/11/2007 - 02:43:54 PM by cwperry:
 I finally got around to listening to this. I'm not sure what McCartney's agenda was, but it sounds like he wanted to make a series of short songs that bleed into one another. Fine idea, but here they sound like McCartney Karaoke to the tune of tinny, crappy electronica. Some of the songs are so colossally bad (the closing tune, in particular) that I can't believe McCartney doesn't think so himself. Man, this is out of touch. I am not buying any more McCartney albums. His last worthwhile release was '99's Run Devil Run.