Pissed Jeans
Hope for Men

Sub Pop
2007
C+
Reviewed by: Kevin J. Elliott
Reviewed on: 2007-06-06



Log In to Post Comments
Posted 06/06/2007 - 07:23:04 AM by raskolnikov:
 Never quite understood all the hype about these guys. The comparisons to Flipper that some critics offer are completely unjustified--good for Mr. Elliott for resisting presskit influence manifestoes. Cherubs and the Jesus Lizard are much more where these dudes are coming from. I'd go so far as to say that this band really kind of sucks, and you should buy Air Conditioning's new one on Load instead if you feel like supporting the Allentown PA punk rockers.
 
Posted 06/06/2007 - 09:17:54 AM by meatbreak:
 I don't know Pissed Jeans - It's a rubbish name for starters. But Rask is dead on when he tells you all to check out Air Conditioning. That's one hell of an album, right from the off - dense and noisy and intensly gratifying.
 
Posted 06/06/2007 - 10:04:51 AM by Garret:
 This album is nowhere near as good as the last one (which was sort of instant rock classic for me.) I love that there are bands who are doing this sort of thing again, but this album ain't so hot. Shallow and Clockcleaner's Nevermind are the ones to get. Word.
 
Posted 06/06/2007 - 01:33:43 PM by jdotton:
 I found it a bit unfortunate that Elliot is upset with the fact that Pissed Jeans resemble regular guys, so as not to fit within his expected stereotype of hairy, nasty neanderthals. This seems to be his biggest gripe, even stating that the album would be much better without seeing pictures of the band. One of the things I enjoy about them is that they don't seem to be offering any sort of false front or image, they are who they are, boring and "regular" as it may be, and deliver it in an interesting way. It's a shame that one can't make loud, nasty rock music without having to don the traditional misanthropic rocker costume, in order to be considered authentic. Hopefully people who aren't expecting things to be quite as by-the-books will find the same enjoyment from "Hope For Men" that I did. I haven't heard the new Air Conditioning disc, but would certainly agree that their previous output has been great and worth checking out. Great band!
 
Posted 06/06/2007 - 06:44:57 PM by grandbanks:
 Kevin, I like your reviews, and a lot of the points you make here are alright, but not sure why the talks about "strategically bruised" and "who we're really dealing with" and "residency en vogue" statements are tossed around. I mean, these guys have toured, thrown shows in their own shitty basements, put out records on small labels, not moved away from Allentown etc. Are they bamboozling us somehow? Projection can be a bitch, but I for one am only more interested by knowing that these guys aren't a bunch of numbskull fuckers with dirty chips on their shoulders, but whatever. They ain't the greatest thing in the world, but I think the slant of your review is a little weird. Haven't heard this new one, but I liked the last record pretty well. Good enough time, some great kinda Ginnish guitar moments and shit. Sup Pop is definitely trying to have it both ways, but I'd rather have a 15 year old nephew check this out than Art Brut. Don't think shmoozing with the Shins is the point, why should they care who comes to listen to them? I'm not saying the new record might not be a step down, but band gets to live a mystery for very long these days? They've been around for a while, did some shit and got a better record deal. Are you sad that your brother's band is on Matador? No real difference there, at least to me. Air Conditioning is sure great when they're great. Also, Meatbreak, we generally agree, but I gotta say Pissed Jeans is a pretty good band name. They aren't mad, you know.
 
Posted 06/06/2007 - 06:52:12 PM by grandbanks:
 That should be "but what band gets to live a mystery for very long these days?" Definitely not advocating rallying around the presskit either, certainly kudos for that. Here is an interesting thought that would clear up a lot, especially for those who think Raskolnikov isn't always right (he's pretty damn close). Every band's press release should be available for scrutiny upon the release of their records, at least if they are getting advertising money thrown their way and a serious media push. It would clear a lot up for folks who think a) reviewing records is fun and easy (at least to do it in a non douchey or sleazy or innefectual way) and b) their nice little indie band world is full of artists and heartfelt heroes to be. It would also just be painful and pretty much ruin Kevin's mystery for everyone. It's definitely easier being approached from obscurity these days.
 
Posted 06/17/2007 - 11:04:20 AM by Dieppe:
 you know, up to this point, i actually trusted stylus reviews. what is this shit, man? "boo hoo hoo, these guys are so normal, they are not the rockstar gods i wish they were." talk about prolonged adolescence. this is a legitimate review? it's come to the point where people are just to bitchy to enjoy a solid album. you bitches could very well be the descendants of the bitches who gave In My Head a c+.
 
Posted 06/19/2007 - 06:58:40 PM by raskolnikov:
 In My Head is the worst Black Flag album ever.