Avril Lavigne
The Best Damn Thing

RCA
2007
B
Reviewed by: Theon Weber
Reviewed on: 2007-04-30



Posted 04/30/2007 - 12:17:39 PM by mvdu76:
 I like this review! Its observations of the lyrics are spot-on. I do think Let Go and Under My Skin are better albums, but people are faulting Avril too much for wanting to have fun. I wish Stylus would have more reviews that are this refreshing.
 
Posted 04/30/2007 - 06:02:48 PM by smwynne:
 This record is an umitigated pile of shit.
 
Posted 04/30/2007 - 07:30:23 PM by mvdu76:
 Just your opinion, smwynne. I happen to agree with Stylus this time that it's good. I give it B+.
 
Posted 04/30/2007 - 09:41:14 PM by bj_randolph:
 When I heard "Keep Holding On" late last year I thought it seemed like an obvious step in the career arc; I blogged that she seemed to be remaking herself as the teen-set's Diane Warren. But when I heard "Boyfriend" I was baffled. It's her most childish track yet, something you can picture even Skye Sweetnam rejecting as too corny.

The whole record seems like a regression, and "Keep Holding" sticks out like a sore thumb. If this review nails one thing dead-on, it's that Under My Skin appeals more to thirty-somethings than teens, whereas this one is far more Radio Disney (albeit with a lot of cussing). I prefer Under, and I'm 32, so there you have it.

Having said that... "She's like/So whatever" is an early contender for best pop lyric of the fucking century.

 
Posted 04/30/2007 - 11:16:16 PM by vennroe:
 lol. stylus has turned into a joke. time to look elsewhere.
 
Posted 05/01/2007 - 08:31:40 AM by johnedowney:
 "HEY HEY!/YOU YOU!/I DON'T LIKE YOUR GIRLFRIEND!"=best turn of phrase since "I am an arms dealer!" (That's supposed to be sarcasm, but Stylus DID give "Infinity On High" an A-, so...)
 
Posted 05/01/2007 - 11:33:41 PM by bj_randolph:
 vennroe: Where the f--k have you been? Stylus has been taking the music of Avril, Ashlee, Kelly, etc. seriously for years now. This is the breaking point?
 
Posted 05/22/2007 - 02:19:05 PM by diggles:
 why is it so hard to fathom that someone would like this album? it's gutsier to review releases from a broad spectrum than to stick to strictly indie stuff that's always going to be a safe 'A' grade. (though i am one of those people that can't stand this shit myself) I'd rather read an honest review of Avril than another clueless, by-the-numbers ode to AC