Blonde Redhead
23

4AD
2007
A
Reviewed by: Liz Colville
Reviewed on: 2007-04-11



Log In to Post Comments
Posted 04/11/2007 - 09:37:35 AM by brente:
 I hate to bring up the ongoing Pitchfork vs. Stylus debate, but here is yet another one where you got it right and they got it wrong.
 
Posted 04/11/2007 - 09:59:54 AM by scooper:
 a well-made record i am totally unmoved by.
 
Posted 04/11/2007 - 11:29:34 AM by J_R_K_:
 haven't heard ths yet. i've seen this band on several occassions, and sometimes they are amazing, and other times they are not so much. if they were a more consistent live band, like ladytron or someone, blonde redhead would be one of my favorites.
 
Posted 04/11/2007 - 11:31:26 AM by Richie_A:
 Some great songs but maybe a bit too much ear gloss.. Thought it was excellent initially but I'm a little tired of it a couple of weeks later.
 
Posted 04/11/2007 - 11:34:47 AM by PlatypusQuest:
 I agree with Brente. Very nice review for a very nice album.
 
Posted 04/11/2007 - 04:29:27 PM by KingVitamin:
 I think about half this album (23, the dress, silently, top ranking) is better than anything they've done before. And the rest isn't.
 
Posted 04/11/2007 - 06:22:59 PM by idunnowhy:
 i agree with most of the people here...a lot of the songs walk the line between amazing and forgettable. "23" is definitely great. My least favorite part of the album is that "I love you less / Now that I know you." line that was pointed out. What a downer.
 
Posted 06/05/2007 - 05:32:31 PM by cwperry:
 A thoroughly enjoyable listen that is almost immediately forgettable. The title track has stayed with me, sort of, but in my mind I always forget it's Blonde Redhead and not Lush. Muzak for the Stylus set, and I mean that in the best possible way.