Fountains Of Wayne
Traffic and Weather

Virgin
2007
D-
Reviewed by: Ian Cohen
Reviewed on: 2007-04-02



Log In to Post Comments
Posted 04/02/2007 - 10:53:51 AM by cwperry:
 I can't believe anyone paid attention to this band past their first album.
 
Posted 04/02/2007 - 12:02:59 PM by mvdu76:
 This is one of the most stupid reviews I have ever seen. Fountains of Wayne has put out another great album full of interesting sketches in the lyrics. I'll just have to laugh at the review - why get worked up over something that has no impact on me anyway.
 
Posted 04/02/2007 - 01:16:13 PM by diggles:
 Their last album sucked so bad it doesn't really matter what happened with this one; it's over for them
 
Posted 04/02/2007 - 08:35:09 PM by vohpoh:
 I downloaded this album, listened to it once and erased it, something I seldom do for OCD/collector reasons, but it's so bland it's a waste of (even very cheap) space. The D- grade is spot on. In their defense I could say I really liked their cover of The Kinks' "Better Days", but that's about it.
 
Posted 04/03/2007 - 12:55:40 PM by Zurich:
 I've read lots of reviews throwing this album away, and I really don't think it's fair. It's not the greatest thing ever, but it is not as terrible as everyone says. Throw away the lyrics becuase it's Fountains of Wayne, and there's still a bunch of great songs here that no reviews are mentioning. "New Routine" and "Strapped for Cash" are Fountains of Wayne at their best. While this is a bit more fleshed out than the terrible review at pfm, I don't think this album deserves such crap heaped on it.
 
Posted 04/05/2007 - 01:13:04 AM by superliminal:
 I saw fountains of wayne as part of my first real concert experience when they played on the Smashing Pumpkins' Melancholy tour. It was then when I was first informed about opening bands and how they often, much like this band did, suck. Seeing the band 10-odd years later being reviewed on stylus brings back nostalgia but mostly comedy, even their name is funny-- fountains of wayne. Could any reviewer possibly give a band like fountains of wayne any rating other than d- (upped from an f for sheer longevity) in 2007?? Ok, i've never even heard them since that concert...but still.
 
Posted 05/06/2007 - 10:44:23 PM by RUllman:
 You downloaded it and erased it, didja? Didja? How very dramatic of you. And Mr. Cohen, if youre gonna slam the lyrics to "Hung Up on You", at least get them right. Ah well, at least you don't seem to be in a terribly derivative band of your own like that d-bag on 'Fork.