LCD Soundsystem
The Sound of Silver

DFA
2007
A-
Reviewed by: Nick Southall
Reviewed on: 2007-03-12



Log In to Post Comments
Posted 03/12/2007 - 10:35:08 AM by smwynne:
 I haven't listened to this album since last December, but I seem to remember it being very good!
 
Posted 03/12/2007 - 12:02:32 PM by vohpoh:
 The inclusion of the toe-curling skin-crawling cliché that is "New York I Love You" is reason enough to give this album a B-. However and since it's the last track, you can always pretend the album is only 8 tracks long. Maybe there'll be a Japanese import that cleanses the album of this awful mess.
 
Posted 03/12/2007 - 01:09:14 PM by KlausFraktal:
 I like the last track, asshole.
 
Posted 03/12/2007 - 01:44:26 PM by mpatton:
 Yeah, it's not that bad - reminds me of some sort of Ryan Adams throwaway (OK, maybe it's not so good).
 
Posted 03/12/2007 - 02:52:08 PM by KlausFraktal:
 The fact that it's been so hyperbolically trashed by auto-fellating internet aesthetes alone means that is, on principle, a good song.
 
Posted 03/12/2007 - 04:06:20 PM by vohpoh:
 Well good for you KlausFraktal if you like the last track. Your taste in music must be directly connected to your arschloch(as is your taste in names, you fookin' nerd!). On principle, fuck off.
 
Posted 03/13/2007 - 01:02:04 PM by NickSouthall:
 I would like to hope that our readers were slightly beyond the level of throwing profanities at each other in the comments boxes like monkeys hurling entrails in a cage. Sadly I appear to be wrong. People who like different records to you aren't idiots; they just like different records. Now can we get back to discussing what we think of this record, please, and without insults?
 
Posted 03/13/2007 - 01:40:28 PM by vohpoh:
 Sorry uncle Nick, won't happen again. As far as i'm concerned the album is good (bar the last track) but lacks the freshness that made the first one great.
 
Posted 03/13/2007 - 02:20:23 PM by NickSouthall:
 You see I think the preceeding singles meant that the debut ended up lacking freshness - this for me takes the aesthetic they've perfected, continues it on half the tracks, and adds serious emotional depth on the rest.
 
Posted 03/13/2007 - 04:21:37 PM by broken_bricks:
 A fantastic album. I can't stop listening to it, just edges Arcade Fire for album of the year (so far, of course)
 
Posted 03/13/2007 - 09:22:53 PM by Binjominia:
 Nick, I'm just curious what zoos you go to. Monkeys throwing entrails is a disturbing image.
 
Posted 03/13/2007 - 09:23:27 PM by Binjominia:
 I do agree with your review, though.
 
Posted 03/14/2007 - 06:14:46 AM by NickSouthall:
 Poo-flinging monkeys is kind of a mimetic thing now, isn't it? I always thought so anyway. You might like the following site - http://www.u.arizona.edu/~rsotelo/monkey2.html
 
Posted 03/14/2007 - 06:15:25 AM by NickSouthall:
 "Memetic" not mimetic, dur.
 
Posted 03/15/2007 - 02:03:26 AM by :
 I love how there`s police in here curtailing our choice of language and therefore our thoughts, insults or otherwise. It`s like New York banning `nigger`. But what I love about it is watching it. It`s like watching a man trying to herd cats. It`s like being slapped with a tissue. "YO! HEY NICK! OVER IN SOULSEEKING! YEAH, THERE`S A DUDE JUST TOLD ME TO EAT SHIT & THAT MY MOM`S A BITCH! GET OVER HERE WOULD YA & ARREST THIS WANKER!" I admire it. It`s like making fun of a Mongol kid with two left thumbs. No. It`s like fighting the devil futility.
 
Posted 03/16/2007 - 12:53:20 PM by diggles:
 I agree, either you have comments and let them naturally unfold or you eliminate them ... what are you going to do, post a list of 'rules' or some shit? let the flow of discussion lead the way ....
 
Posted 03/16/2007 - 04:09:01 PM by bebopkid:
 it doesn't appear that he's laying down rules, but asking.
 
Posted 03/29/2007 - 12:37:19 AM by Takomora:
 LCD Soundsystem was groovalicious before but this album is the tits.