Dälek
Abandoned Language

Ipecac
2007
A
Reviewed by: Ian Cohen
Reviewed on: 2007-02-27



Log In to Post Comments
Posted 02/27/2007 - 08:36:58 AM by raskolnikov:
 It's about time that this clownish payola-dripping rag stopped paying attention to pseudo-gangsta illiterates and recognizes Dalek as the last real hip-hop band on the face of the earth. This record is brilliant, but so are all their other ones. Get 'em all, you won't regret it....
 
Posted 02/27/2007 - 10:36:09 AM by badhaircut:
 I know so many "real" hip-hop fans who are going to start rolling their eyes the second they hear that this is out. Dalek are for real but they still represent everything that's wrong with hip-hop to so many. It's mind boggling.
 
Posted 02/27/2007 - 10:50:35 AM by meatbreak:
 Everything that's wrong with Hip-Hop? What exactly is that? All the 'Real' Hip-Hop fans (whatever that actually means - the ones that do crack??? The ones that only sample funk???) should pull their fingers out and immerse themselves in some of this urban sprawl and industrial decay. I've never heard music like Dalek and lord knows the hip-hop community needs some outsider artists with more to them than Madvillan.
 
Posted 02/27/2007 - 11:34:26 AM by cuneyt81:
 You know, hip-hop is such a conservative genre. So many people are using the same tired similes and recycled beats, it's nice to hear something like Dalek that just gives it a kick in the ass. As for what's wrong with hip-hop, I'd look to someone like Jay-z, who has gotten old and boring and just doesn't sound like he's trying anymore.
 
Posted 02/27/2007 - 11:45:56 AM by meatbreak:
 Hip-Hop is really conservative, you're right - always bricking out Christian nonsense, looking to the Lord to save them from the street...So tired, contrived, self-pitying, not to mention delusional. Jay-Z was started his journey down a dead-end street as soon as he sampled Annie. Though to be fair, he's never been that bad since, unless you consider boring being worse that bad taste. Maybe. This was my problem with Clipse. Great, soem more rappers talking about dealing drugs over minimal one-beat songs that go nowhere. If you wanna be injecting anything, inject some fuckin' LIFE into the party.
 
Posted 02/27/2007 - 11:47:25 AM by meatbreak:
 That's why i like Kirb and Chris' Niggaz and White Girlz. It's genuinly hilarious, like some sordid sit-com gone wrong. It may not be completely original, but it sure as hell tries.
 
Posted 02/27/2007 - 12:45:22 PM by diggles:
 This album is great but less so than the last two, partly, I think, because Dalek lost a member after Absence. This is less atmospheric ...
 
Posted 02/27/2007 - 12:49:25 PM by Utica5:
 congrats, mr. cohen, on being the first reviewer i've read who actually understands how important dalek is and has been. i wouldn't say that he's the last bastion of creativity in hip-hop, but he may be the only one willing to rap about the same world that he lives in.
 
Posted 02/27/2007 - 01:53:29 PM by grandbanks:
 Badhaircut, if you would care to I would like to hear you expand on what you said. There are so many things loaded into that statement and I am curious, as I don't really know what anyone would find fault with (I get that they wouldn't like it, possibly, and the sales of the record I am sure will reflect it, but what will most of the eye rolling be over?) Would most "real" hip-hop fans even know this record is out?
 
Posted 02/27/2007 - 02:24:03 PM by Ian_Cohen:
 I'm guessing that "real hip-hop fans" is being used to describe the type of critics that dominate mainstream dialogue; the ones that laud intellectually bankrupt acts like T.I., Jeezy, etc. where you can only relate to their rhymes by using allegory (and shaky ones at that). It seemed to me like most people considered the critical acclaim of those kind of acts being a sort of victory after years of trying to have "conscious rap" and difficult acts that bore little in common with mainstream hip-hop pushed on us. That's just my take.
 
Posted 02/27/2007 - 02:35:58 PM by grandbanks:
 The word "real" has never been so problematic, maybe. I mean, is this really being "pushed" on people any more than in any other genre. Is the divide between what's popular and what's critically acclaimed and what's actually "good" really very different in hiphop, or is it just that the numbers and popularity of hip-hop are so huge compared to most other music genres that it seems more divided/present.
 
Posted 02/27/2007 - 02:48:48 PM by jhitting:
 I thought the pink mist was a sharpshooter term, not a bomb term. How would you see the pink mist of a brain exploding with a bomb going off? Doesn't make sense.
 
Posted 02/28/2007 - 01:54:22 AM by Ian_Cohen:
 It works for both, I guess. But in regards to a bomb, it's a person's entire body as opposed to just their head. Never again will I use a "Grey's Anatomy" reference in my work.
 
Posted 02/28/2007 - 03:15:32 PM by ultramagnetic7:
 Clearly Dalek has been studying the Rakim handbook, which in and of itself isn't a bad thing, but when your cadence and delivery attempts to be so similar that you sound like a poor man's Rakim, you need to go find your own distinct voice. Abandoned Language, too frequently, is like listening to Rakim Karaoke. "n--as be bitin' mad styles and s--t" - Raekwon
 
Posted 03/01/2007 - 12:44:41 AM by badhaircut:
 I can't and probably shouldn't try to pin down what I mean by "real" hip-hop fans, since I'm almost exclusively referring to people I just know online. But over the past 2 or 3 years I've seen a lot of really smart heads go to bat for some of the most mediocre, lazy stuff I've ever come across. I won't name names but you can probably guess some of it. And anytime a good indie release comes along, they'll laugh and write it off as something for indie snobs with an axe to grind. I know people who were into Def Jux a few years ago who now don't even consider it "real" hip-hop at all. That sort of thing. Any "intelligent" rap is seen as inherently inferior to, say, Tear Up Da Club Thugs or whoever the latest group of catchphrase mumblers is.
 
Posted 03/01/2007 - 12:57:29 PM by grandbanks:
 Thanks, badhaircut. I get that, and certainly understand the sentiments, as hip-hop maybe above all genres seems to teeter on ideas of realness, street, utility, etc. I was just imagining that they wouldn't even really acknowledge this shit. It is completely terrifying and fascinating how much stake someone can put into what they like. All the convolutions of personality and taste. Stylus is a good example of all the hoop jumping inherent to the cultural shitstorm (snarkier than Pitchfork, dumber than Pitchfork, less trendy than Pitchfork, more of an industry schill than Pitchfork are all titles lobbed in these comments at one time or another, just to narrow the thought). Fandom uniting and dividing equally, or is the dividing outpacing all? Mostly no one wants to listen to and comment and challenge the dystopia, they want to cash in enough to float above it. Amazing that in this genre often any idea otherwise stated is at best quaint at this point. Vague generalisation, sure, but the theme of the day seems to be "numbers."