Patrick Wolf
The Magic Position

Loog
2007
A
Reviewed by: Nick Southall
Reviewed on: 2007-02-26



Log In to Post Comments
Posted 02/26/2007 - 01:00:49 PM by browngirl5566:
 "beautiful, unique and a genius" HAHAHAHAA please stop fellating patrick, this album is sub par
 
Posted 02/26/2007 - 02:05:48 PM by draglikepull:
 This album has its moments (particularly "Bluebells" and "Augustine"), but falls far short of his previous two albums. The faster songs don't manage to keep up with the great up-tempo songs from "Lycanthropy", and the slower songs aren't as moving as songs like "Teignmouth" from "Wind In The Wires". When doing up-tempo numbers, he's better when his songs have some edge, like "Don't Say No" or "Bloodbeat". "The Magic Position" isn't a failure by any stretch, but it's also a far cry from his first two records.
 
Posted 02/26/2007 - 07:49:56 PM by ieatseeds:
 again... patrick fails to disappoint me
 
Posted 02/27/2007 - 12:51:09 AM by barbarian:
 "Above all there is Patrick Wolf: 6'4", shocking red hair, twenty-three years young, beautiful, unique, and a genius." LOLOLOLOLOLOLOLOLOLOLOLOLOL. That's about as homoerotic as the album cover. Oh my god. Wait. I don't believe in god.... Shit.
 
Posted 02/27/2007 - 12:56:50 AM by barbarian:
 He must be 6'4" 125lb. This kid couldn't survive one knee from my Thai clinch. Then again, very few could.
 
Posted 02/27/2007 - 04:27:27 AM by meatbreak:
 How is it no one mentions Kevin Rowland. In most of the stompy songs he sounds just like him - in fact, they really are reminiscent of Dexy's. That's a good thing, especially because it's even camper than Dexy's. It seems to get a little more disingenious through some of the balladry bits, but that industrial noise comes as a complete refresher. And on the same label as The Horrors? It all adds up to something weird enough for me.
 
Posted 02/27/2007 - 08:36:43 PM by salami-nipples:
 I totally agree with browngirl5566. Nick Southall's enthusiasm for Patty Wolf is a bit disturbing/overwrought. Album's a bit shit too.
 
Posted 02/28/2007 - 01:32:13 PM by Iain.F:
 Um, the review is great enough to make me feel bad about mentioning this (and all the love for Patrick is right right right!) but the line you highlight in "Accident & Emergency" is actually sung by the guy from Larrikin Love
 
Posted 02/28/2007 - 01:35:33 PM by NickSouthall:
 Really? I knew Ed Larrikin had guested somewhere (no full credits with the promo) but couldn't tell where. Consider me zinged! And for the first line too!
 
Posted 03/01/2007 - 04:28:41 AM by MyDyingBrain:
 I think of Dexy's too when I hear some of the songs.
 
Posted 03/07/2007 - 07:59:57 PM by ieatseeds:
 i don't care how cheesy 'the magic position' sounds. that song is gold.
 
Posted 03/12/2007 - 06:50:26 PM by ieatseeds:
 I am not one to make over-the-top statements such as this: but i keep coming back to this album and feeling amazed and how awesome it is. No one even comes close to this as far as innovation goes---there's nothing like patrick wolf. He's in a class of his own. And again, I am not one who is prone to hyperbole.
 
Posted 03/15/2007 - 03:09:40 PM by septimus:
 Yes as an album it falls well short of the previous two. A perfect pop patchwork with sub-par filler tracks, although I love "Secret Garden"