Of Montreal
Hissing Fauna, Are You the Destroyer?

Polyvinyl
2007
B+
Reviewed by: Josh Love
Reviewed on: 2007-01-23



Log In to Post Comments
Posted 01/23/2007 - 08:59:08 PM by angrymice:
 Personally I feel like The Past is a Grotesque Animal is one of the best tracks on here. But, certainly not that track, and really none of the others, is the of Montreal I fell in love with. That was Coquelicot Asleep in the Poppies, certainly the height of that 'Elaphant 6' sound. Personally, I feel that that was a more rewarding style as it focused more on wacky bizarre narratives, a unique style for the band. Though the 'new' sound and style isn't bad, I just wish there was more of the old.
 
Posted 01/24/2007 - 12:58:02 AM by johnnytb:
 This review is dead on. I feel that Grotesque Animal could have been made it to such a great song. I just wanted to hear a hook, but it never came. Go ahead and let it build up for 7 or 8 minutes, but bring some excitement in the end. Something to make you want to listen to the whole thing. I turn on that track and know I will be listening to the same thing forever, so I naturally just swith it. In this case I go straight to She's A Rejector, because the songs in between lack what the first half of the album has to offer. Check out the video for Heimdalsgate if you haven't yet.
 
Posted 01/30/2007 - 11:37:52 AM by cwperry:
 A fair chunk of this album just sounds like Ween to me. Not impressed.
 
Posted 02/01/2007 - 11:50:47 AM by aroddick:
 Say what you will, "You red-rovered the gustapo circling my heart" is still a pretty great line.
 
Posted 02/01/2007 - 12:58:18 PM by cwperry:
 Unlike the majority of reviews I've read, I find the 12-minute track to be the best thing about the album. But this won't be getting many spins . . . the new lyrical approach is unchallenging and on too many songs he sounds like a disaffected boy complaining about how leisurely his life is. I actually regret buying this.
 
Posted 02/07/2007 - 10:25:20 AM by jhitting:
 "No matter where we are, we're always connected by underground wires." Bwwwwwwwwwwww. That almost makes "The Past..." a tolerable song, but there's about 4 minutes in there I could have done without. This review is dead on, except that "Gronlandic Edit" is the greatest song of them all by far and that only gets a passing mention here, if I recall. And what's so overpriced about an $18 filet mignon AKA Victoria's Filet. Outback might be a chain, but its prices aren't bad at all. Oh wait, it's still cool to knock "conformist" and "commercial" people/companies, right? Go hang with the goth kids.
 
Posted 02/07/2007 - 12:06:45 PM by cwperry:
 I am going to stop commenting about new albums after hearing them once or twice (yeah, right) because now even this damned thing is growing on me (to a POINT).
 
Posted 02/07/2007 - 04:46:32 PM by cwperry:
 And now I've read that this is apparently a divorce or breakup album written under very sad conditions, so I retract my comments about him being a spoiled man of leisure.
 
Posted 02/08/2007 - 01:25:09 PM by cwperry:
 Okay, this is my last post. I was completely wrong and now this dang thing is my favorite album of 2007 thus far. And the bonus EP (Icons, Abstract Thee) is quite good as well.
 
Posted 02/28/2007 - 03:52:59 AM by george:
 I checked in to say that I thought "... Grotesque Animal" was one of the best things on here and I kinda like the way it slowly builds the anxiety level and doesn't let you off the hook with a quirky transition to a cute payoff or something. But it looks like a lot of folk feel the same. In fact I'll take it over most of the "giddy pop nuggets" which can be just a bit too helium-giddy for me. But mostly this is an OK CD.
 
Posted 03/06/2007 - 01:03:56 AM by elcunzio:
 Oh man. When I read your review I felt how the selling out thing affected your supposed to be objective review about an album. For me this is the best album of 2007 so far and people need to realize that bands also need money like anyone else. And yes, the EP is really good too.
 
Posted 03/07/2007 - 09:24:42 PM by ieatseeds:
 i COULD say i love this of montreal album and all other of montreal albums simply for some of the one-liner's they deliver. on this album I love "how can i explain? I need you here and not here too?" I never really imagined Of Montreal would theme my life, or have an album that would really fall into line with what was exactly happening in my life. But that line right there was so perfect for what I had going on when I first heard it back in ... oh I don't know... November. It's one of those moments that makes me go 'oh! okay, that's why i love music so much.' because at least for a few seconds you feel a little bit of comfort that 'we're all in this together' ... 'everyone shares the same set of feelings' it's all a bit sappy and illegitimate but I thought I'd say that anyway.
 
Posted 08/03/2007 - 07:46:59 PM by cwperry:
 Still my favorite album of '07 so far, despite my impatient ranting earlier in the year. This has taught me to keep my mouth shut after I play an album for the first time (something you'd think I'd have learned in 30 years of record buying).