And You Will Know Us by the Trail of Dead
So Divided

Interscope
2006
D
Reviewed by: Ian Cohen
Reviewed on: 2006-11-13



Log In to Post Comments
Posted 11/13/2006 - 08:13:49 AM by raskolnikov:
 This band has always been horrible. That's their big secret. They parlayed a good band name into an 8-year career despite being a moronic band of simpletons from Texas who haven't written one memorable song in their existence. I could've told you this band sucked long before their allegedly good album dropped a few years back; I saw 'em suck it up live in NYC after hearing that they were the "most amazing live band". They were not amazing, they weren't even any good. Another heartwarming story of press-aided success. Nice to see that Stylus is not fooled by their schtick.
 
Posted 11/13/2006 - 09:12:07 AM by gnarles:
 I loved all of their previous albums - even Worlds Apart - but they pretty much jumped the shark this time. Heartbreaking.
 
Posted 11/13/2006 - 09:38:55 AM by JessGraves:
 good god. anyone with the video game character on it from that "video mods" show that used to be MTV needs to go back to the D&D; tournie with fleezer. or is their target demographic like 9?
 
Posted 11/13/2006 - 11:11:24 AM by J_R_K_:
 i still enjoy their first three records and have never listened to world apart, but decided to give this one a chance. whoops.
 
Posted 11/13/2006 - 11:56:13 AM by garlad1:
 They went for the brass ring and ended up scewered by the bull. Oh well, I'll always enjoy their first three albums. No one ever feels sorry for/buys the 'self-pitying dude' schtick.
 
Posted 11/13/2006 - 05:31:56 PM by cables:
 Ian. I read all of your reviews and am usually in agreement with you. However, i find this review to be a little harsh. I think that TOD's previous efforts have held them to such high standards that they are now being scapegoated for trying to introduce a more pop oriented sound. As for the rest of you who said that the band has always sucked... your flat out wrong.
 
Posted 11/14/2006 - 12:09:07 AM by gloden:
 Ditto on the first three albums... especially Madonna. Always will be one of my all-time favorites.