Lady Sovereign
Public Warning!

Def Jam
2006
D+
Reviewed by: Al Shipley
Reviewed on: 2006-11-07



Posted 11/07/2006 - 10:29:38 AM by Fantastic:
 I'm not a Lady Sovereign fan particularly, but if you're going to give a record a D+, you've really got to spend more than your last two paragraphs (well, really, your penultimate paragraph) explaining why the album sucked to your ears. It's a well-enough review Al, except insomuch as it's not enough of a review.
 
Posted 11/07/2006 - 01:30:36 PM by dougrokakis:
 forget Lady Sovereign and review the Kode9 + Spaceape record.
 
Posted 11/07/2006 - 01:33:05 PM by frantic:
 I disagree, I think the reviewer said enough about the record. But, the idea of getting someone who utterly doesn't care for the genre to review a record in that genre is never good. I can tell, because I have no idea how this sounds, and the reviewer just conveyed the feeling I'd probably have if I'd listened it without prior explanation. Oh wait, maybe that's a good thing (:
 
Posted 11/07/2006 - 01:34:57 PM by frantic:
 Hm, if this is anything like kode9+spaceape, then the review did suck, because I didn't get that impression. I love all the new dubstep/grime (more dubstep than grime) releases - burial, kode9, boxcutter.
 
Posted 11/07/2006 - 02:54:05 PM by :
 "Dynamite! Dancehall Style" vol 1 on Soul Jazz is worth getting if you don't have it, Frantic. Lady Saw > Lady Sov.
 
Posted 11/07/2006 - 06:23:57 PM by grodinsky:
 i felt embarrassed when i seen this person on letterman
 
Posted 11/08/2006 - 12:30:02 AM by Hone_Heke:
 And certainly the more the Lady S fatwahs her gospel ignominy into the depleting reverb we witnessed on Letterman, the less her intrinsic jokey ahead-thinking covets the Eminem stanza-riffic & meritocratic inducement to rapport her grime-coated tap-digits like that cerebrum palsy on Lynch`s hivemind London space duet Beethoven/Wonder/Anderson elaborated over time in secret conduance. The shitkickers on Public Warning! were itching their skootchy feet to get Dizee elected. Bloggers, bloody fingers, the lot of `em.
 
Posted 11/09/2006 - 05:57:55 AM by meatbreak:
 The Milanese album is pretty much my dubstep choice for the year. can't stand the broadsheet backed burial. Plenty better atmospheric stuff out there. The bass in Extend is unbelievable. get yourself a decent stereo or your own club and play it loud. This music is a physical thing.
 
Posted 11/28/2006 - 11:59:35 AM by dmassey:
 No no no, its far worse than you are making out.