Deftones
Saturday Night Wrist

Maverick
2006
C+
Reviewed by: Sam Roudman
Reviewed on: 2006-11-03



Posted 11/03/2006 - 09:14:52 AM by gnarles:
 Simply an awful review. It should be illegal for a critic to review an album or a genre of music he so clearly feels is inferior to him. I'm hardly a Deftones fanboy, but this is ridiculous. It's a good album and a creative one, and it certainly deserved a review cut from the same cloth. Bah!
 
Posted 11/03/2006 - 09:55:35 AM by BoobMcNair:
 It's OK to like the Deftones?
 
Posted 11/03/2006 - 10:24:04 AM by prohibitedart:
 I agree; this is not a good review. Dammit, please get over how a band used to be labeled. There's a clear growth (or at least a change) on all of their records. You want to talk about Adrenaline with this "rap metal" shit, but then you exclude it from their albums list of four. They have FIVE albums in the last ELEVEN years. If you're going to talk about comparisons to Korn and such, then include that album in your total number. Chino has a habit of experimenting with some weird elements on his last few albums. It's the whole Team Sleep spillover. Now THAT would make for an interesting discussion here -- talk about the division between Deftones and TS. Maybe you don't think there is one. Certainly the lines are blurred a bit. You have a few well-written lines in here but overall, this review comes across as mostly thoughtless. Find another band to write about that you can appropriately trash.
 
Posted 11/03/2006 - 11:27:49 AM by GlassAnimalBoy:
 I disagree with you guys. I think Roudman does a really nice job of plucking the Deftones up from where a lot of this site's readers undoubtedly, and unfairly, place the band - with the macho jock bands that have a lot of surface similarities, without any of the same depth. By drawing connections to shoegaze and stoner rock, along with the Cure and the Smiths (all of which I feel are appropriate), he lends the band the credibility that could allow a typical indie kid (or Stylus Reader) to give the band the chance that they deserve. I've heard this album a number of times, and I think the rating and remarks are pretty fair, maybe a little on the low side.
 
Posted 11/03/2006 - 02:07:59 PM by Hystyk:
 I'd like to echo the sentiment of GlassAnimalBoy, the author clearly recognized his audience as one that would look down on nu metal in general, and was trying to convey to them that the Deftones certainly defy a lot of the (justified) sterotypes of the genre. It does, however, come off as condescending to both the band (undeservedly) and the genre (deservedly), and I too agree that this album warranted a higher mark; it's a solid B in my world, but what the hell do I know about anything? After all, I'm not an online zine rock critic.
 
Posted 11/03/2006 - 02:51:25 PM by gM.Ed.:
 I agree with the posters here as well. I don't think it's appropriate to be condescending in an album review. This felt more like a blog entry to me than "objective" criticism. I would rate this album a solid "B" as well, but I definitely understand that you either like Deftones, or you just don't. So no need to stress that Sam isn't a fan.
 
Posted 11/03/2006 - 04:41:27 PM by cables:
 I have no problems with the deftones at all. I actually enjoy white pony and their self titled album. However, they DO NOT sound anything like the smiths. I can see the Cure comparison because of the darker sensibilities that they appeal to. But come on, the smiths? really?
 
Posted 11/04/2006 - 01:00:58 PM by Zarklephaser:
 Yeah, c'mon guys. How is this an awful review? I think it's a great assessment of the album as well as Deftones in general - their cultural relevance in particular. I think it's a great review...
 
Posted 11/04/2006 - 03:16:08 PM by gloden:
 I haven't listened to the Deftones for years (I stopped after White Pony), but I'm glad to see people are still listening and assessing their music seriously. I think I'll go back and listen to Around the Fur now. I couldn't get enough of that album back in the day.