The Killers
Sam’s Town

Island
2006
C+
Reviewed by: Alfred Soto
Reviewed on: 2006-10-03



Posted 10/03/2006 - 07:56:48 AM by tom1977:
 oh come off it. for all it's flaws you can't criticise this for not being gay enough.
 
Posted 10/03/2006 - 07:58:24 AM by tom1977:
 I mean, it may be a "straight" album, but that's ok isn't it? Would "not straight enough" be a valid criticism of Final Fantasy?
 
Posted 10/03/2006 - 09:50:31 PM by EK5432:
 I feel you miss the point. By making a doggedly "heterosexual" album, the Killers have robbed themselves of a core part of their original appeal: the sexual ambiguity and adventurousness that they co-opted from the synth-pop groups that they also co-opted their sound from. Yeah, it wasn't particularly original or super-exciting, but it's better than the serious path they take here.
 
Posted 10/04/2006 - 08:43:13 PM by loafsta:
 Agreed - this is a terrible album, but "hermeneutics"? In the second paragraph? I'm all for artful prose, but that word has all the hallmarks of a writer with no self-esteem and a large thesaurus. Note to editors . . . fire yourselves. Fire Alfred Soto first.
 
Posted 10/17/2006 - 09:54:40 AM by andrewi31:
 Yeah, Soto is a joke, but rememember he has to use this jargon to prove to his mom he's not wasting his education writing reviews for shitty pop bands. (Although how can one waste a worthless education, believe me, I'm in in the same boat, that's why I went back to school to study something besides hermeneutics). Oh, and "hetero-normative" is not grad-school jargon, it's sophomore rote where I studied. And it's not exactly "deployed". Yikes.
 
Posted 10/17/2006 - 09:57:21 AM by andrewi31:
 A bit late with this but this shit just fucking stinks, this band, this bullshit review, this whole crappy world.
 
Posted 11/14/2006 - 10:13:08 PM by Aristagoras:
 Did you dismiss Springsteen's "Born to Run" in your first paragraph? What the Hell?
 
Posted 11/14/2006 - 10:13:37 PM by Aristagoras:
 Andrew, how did a review make you a nihilist?