M. Ward
Post-War

Merge
2006
C-
Reviewed by: Andrew Gaerig
Reviewed on: 2006-08-30



Posted 08/30/2006 - 11:49:27 AM by Zarklephaser:
 YOU ARE WRONG
 
Posted 08/30/2006 - 12:02:53 PM by florenz6:
 Oh, no! All M. Ward albums are beautiful, deeply touching gems, and this one is no exception! Loved it from the start. Even with a kind of "normal" back-up band, M. Ward delivers his magic.
 
Posted 08/30/2006 - 12:55:42 PM by pmacfunk:
 This is easily one of the best albums of the year and, surprisingly, one of M Ward's best. You've underestimated the record and will probably find yourself regretting the review after spending a few weeks with it.
 
Posted 08/30/2006 - 12:58:42 PM by roadrunner:
 for shame. j/f i never even heard this album.
 
Posted 08/30/2006 - 04:25:38 PM by darinfic:
 first, post-war is ward's fifth album. second, the lyric is "what do you do with the pieces of a broken heart"
 
Posted 08/31/2006 - 02:23:05 AM by axiomatic:
 Subjectivity be damned, Mr. Gaerig, you are indeed DEAD WRONG. This album is definitely my vote so far for best album of the year, and your marks against it reflect nothing other than the shallowest of listens and the bare minimum of one-sheet skimming. Perhaps spend some time with the album next time, instead of listening to the first two minutes of five tracks and then shitting out a C-. I also enjoy how you spend nearly half the review completely avoiding the record itself; good form.
 
Posted 08/31/2006 - 02:26:00 AM by axiomatic:
 And seriously, Stylus, what is with all this indie hatred lately? It's not just this review. You punish albums for not being obscure, eclectic, or experimental enough for you. To those Stylus writers guilty of this (you know who you are), from one (admittedly former) Stylus writer to another, open your scope. This used to be the place where passionate music lovers of ANY genre could congregate and discuss, regardless of prejudices and biases. Now, a distinct distaste of so-called "indie rock" is becoming more and more prominent, especially in a time when that indie rock is coming out with a plethora of fantastic albums. It's just a little frustrating.
 
Posted 08/31/2006 - 06:12:54 AM by florenz6:
  I´m really happy that this review got so many strong reactions. So, dear readers, give this fine album a deep listening experience! As a radio journalist I got an advance copy of the new Bonny Prince Billy album "The Letting Go" which is fantastic. Now I´m waiting for a kind of Stylus review that tells me that Mr. Oldham does it "too fine & arty & "well-sounding" leaving the raw glory of his old Palace albums."
 
Posted 08/31/2006 - 07:15:50 PM by undead_roger:
 I suppose I haven't been reading long enough to gauge whether or not Stylus has become more narrow in its focus over the years, but it does seem like records reviewed here seem have to be either wilfully disposable (if very high quality) pop or deeply obscure and ornery to get good reviews. But that's fine - there are plenty of other places to get favourable reviews of all the albums you're pretty sure you're going to like anyway. I don't think there's any conscious attempt at creating an indie backlash going on, just people honestly assessing albums that aren't necessarily to their taste. As a reviewer (admittedly not at this level), I tend to be a harsh marker as well because flinging As or high star ratings or however you do it at everything that sounds nice means doesn't give you much headway when you hear something that blows you away. Having said all this, I haven't heard Post-War, but I love Transfiguration of Vincent and was kind of non-plussed by Transistor Radio, which is why I suppose I haven't had a stormingly negative reaction to this review. I'm looking forward to hearing it and deciding for myself.
 
Posted 09/01/2006 - 11:52:37 AM by Utica5:
 Indie rock is no longer a progressive genre. It has been consumed by its own desire for irony, and the word "indie" doesn't talk about sound so much as it talks about a smart-ass attitude towards the world. The only reason albums like "Bang Bang Rock and Roll" or "Blueberry Boat" receive praise is because indie fans respond to sarcasm more than they respond to good songwriting. That said, M. Ward seems to think that good songs written from genuine sentiment are still worth writing. I'm sick of indie bands trying to prove to me that they're witty. I wish more would act like M. Ward and try to prove that they're talented
 
Posted 09/02/2006 - 01:50:56 AM by florenz6:
 I was looking around in the internet, at metacritic.com, and I was pleased to see that this intriguing album (Post-War") got so many very good reviews. In fact, without this non-sense-writing ("empty genre exercise" - what a crap!) it would rank on that reviews-collecting website among the top records of 2006.In fact readers should be given the possibility here to make choices for the worst reviews in the history of Stylus. This one would surely be part of the top 10:) - (having in the back of my mind other high-brown "downers" for Scott Walker´s "The Drift" and Brian Eno´s "Another Day On Earth", as well as the good words for Embrace:))
 
Posted 09/02/2006 - 07:15:05 AM by axiomatic:
 Hooray, I feel more supported in my ranting against this review. GIANT MISTAKE, MR. GAERIG. You may stand by it if you wish but only if you desire posterity to mock you into eternity.
 
Posted 09/02/2006 - 05:32:27 PM by abeith:
 I read this review having only heard 'Chinese Translation', at which point I did side with Mr Gaerig. After actually listening for myself, I'd take this album over a VW campervan any day.
 
Posted 09/04/2006 - 11:59:55 AM by scratch:
 Don't listen to this drivel...M. Ward has released one of his best albums, easily as good as "Transistor Radio". Sure's it's accessible, but it's the point, and it doesn't make this album bad. Do you know many artists who release something entirely different with each album? If I were to follow stylus' philosophy, I would have to buy Paris Hilton's album before I buy this one (yep, it got a C). That just goes to show how lame this review is...
 
Posted 09/04/2006 - 01:59:40 PM by florenz6:
 Thank you, Scratch, thank you, Axiomatic, and all! I´m quite satisfied that this record got so much positive reactions from the readers/listeners. Friends of mine are absolutely thrilled by this album - they say something like "yeah, it is rooted, it is nostalgic, but it is so fresh and hypnotic and deeply affecting at the same time" - I loved the two M. Ward- albums before this one as well - they don´t loose nothing with time passing by. You can listen to all these three works from beginning to end without wanting to skip any piece, any moment. In the past, you could "kill" a record with such a review, but now there are so many different (and, by luck, positive) voices. The traditional "opinion leaders" do not lead anymore, and that´s a good thing!
 
Posted 10/16/2006 - 04:14:24 PM by mhotter:
 yeah, this guy Gaerig is even more full of shit than most of these pitchfork-style lackeys - I'm gonna spred the word about this guy and how horrible he is to as many people as i can. A record this good is hard to get all snarky about, hence the C- rating. Something like the dreadfully dull Califone gets praised to the high heavens, beacuse 1) the critic can seem more "in-the-know" and cutting edge by praising it and 2) the sleep-inducing music is vague and blank to have the hacks to get their Dave Eggers on describing whats basically an emotionally blank canvas.