Camera Obscura
Let’s Get Out of This Country

Merge / Elefant
2006
C
Reviewed by: Iain Forrester
Reviewed on: 2006-06-06



Log In to Post Comments
Posted 06/06/2006 - 07:32:04 AM by smwynne:
 In actuality, the album is composed of over half uptempo pop numbers. (Lloyd, Margaret, ..out of this country, ...looks could kill, I need all the friends... , Razzle Dazzle Rose - and for fuck's sake I can't believe the author didn't mention this epic). Perhaps the reviewer's tastes might be better suited to any one of the dozens of faceless, assembly line, U.K. chart toppers. There you can have 13 incarnations of the same 'stormin' pop number'. For fans of expertly crafted, intelligent pop - this album is an 06' essential.
 
Posted 06/06/2006 - 08:41:18 AM by richardmf:
 nah, it's more like, pitchfork likey, so stylus no likeyz. LOLZ
 
Posted 06/06/2006 - 10:06:02 AM by Mushroomgod:
 C??? thats madness. I agree with smwynne, 1/2 are upbeat and Razzle Dazzle Rose is easly the best song on the album, Im kinda suprized that Iain Forrester does not even mention this song, I get the feeling he just does not like there style of music, which should not be a reson to give an album a bad review. As a fan I would give the album a B+, easly as good as there other 2 albums.
 
Posted 06/06/2006 - 11:44:03 AM by driveblind:
 Wow, this is the first poor review of this album that I've seen. I'm still planning on buying it on the strength of the two songs I've already heard.
 
Posted 06/06/2006 - 05:36:32 PM by smwynne:
 This is literally one of the worst reviews in the history of the world. Iain Forrester should return to his day job as an old folks home gigolo.
 
Posted 06/06/2006 - 06:00:50 PM by Subwoofer:
 The review seemed... rushed.
 
Posted 06/07/2006 - 10:24:38 AM by cwperry:
 This is like a mediocre Concretes album.
 
Posted 06/09/2006 - 05:01:07 PM by cherryblossom:
 this is quite lovely and brilliant. you don't know what you're talking about mr. forrester.
 
Posted 06/15/2006 - 12:31:47 AM by ieatseeds:
 right to the point, as objective as it gets for a record review, i will not buy it!
 
Posted 06/18/2006 - 02:40:53 PM by mvdu76:
 Do not follow any reviews, especially a Stylus review! I'll say it again: Stylus can't recognize a great album. This album is really like the female B&S; - it's gorgeous.
 
Posted 08/18/2006 - 08:22:36 PM by idunnowhy:
 wow...i got to this one kinda late. But I agree with you people-- what the hell? I'd say "lloyd" is one of the LEAST good tracks on the album, though all ten are absolutely jaw-dropping. And what a leap forward from their last album!! Definitely one of the 5 best albums of the year (so far).