Primal Scream
Riot City Blues

Sony
2006
D
Reviewed by: Nick Southall
Reviewed on: 2006-06-05



Log In to Post Comments
Posted 06/05/2006 - 06:12:54 AM by FunkyTim:
 I really can't say I've agreed with you on a lot of your reviews, but this time...After XTRMNTR and Evil Heat I even revisited some earlier albums I dismissed because of "Give Out..." but as much as I love PS....this one pissed me off even more than "Give Out..." I mean WTF !!! You we're easy on em "D" is more than they deserve...Second time they pull this crap...
 
Posted 06/05/2006 - 10:10:57 AM by badhaircut:
 DFA worked on XTRMNTR?
 
Posted 06/05/2006 - 10:28:45 AM by NickSouthall:
 I've not got the album to hand but I believe they worked on Blood Money, the Krautrock-ey instrumental in the middle, as did David Holmes. It may have just been Goldsworthy on his own rather than The DFA as a named entity.
 
Posted 06/05/2006 - 11:00:15 AM by wantondisco:
 I think you may've been a little too hard on them Nick. I mean, yes, this is pretty damn ordinary "rawk" rubbish. But it's like the Scream need to make these albums in between their great ones so as just to purge such filthy ideas from the system. Oh and you can't tell me 'Ivy Ivy Ivy' doesn't do it for you.
 
Posted 06/05/2006 - 12:37:44 PM by J_R_K_:
 someone's gotta make the black crowes sound adventureous once in a while. i still think evil heat has a few good songs here and there though. i would file that one in a thrid category "bearable".
 
Posted 06/05/2006 - 04:36:10 PM by idunnowhy:
 haha...great review. I also love Primal Scream but am almost half embarrassed about it a lot of the time. Riot City Blues is terrible, but I'm convinced that if the production wasn't so glossy it wouldn't sound half-bad.
 
Posted 06/05/2006 - 10:03:17 PM by fraew001:
 'blood money' was a cracker, too... grant smithies had a bizarre interview with mani this week: http://www.stuff.co.nz/stuff/0,2106,3689927a4500,00.html
 
Posted 06/06/2006 - 12:36:34 AM by GALKIN:
 Yes James and Tim did work on Blood Money at DFA with Bobby G when he was over working on that OTHER drug fueled mess of a record by David Holmes "Bow Down To The Exit Sign". It was before they were known as The DFA, and was originally how they met. This new album sounds like The Soup Dragons, like when they covered I'm Free by The Rolling Stones. But worse.
 
Posted 06/06/2006 - 11:49:17 AM by driveblind:
 It looks like Stylus and Pitchfork agree on this one. Good thing that I read both of them; I was almost tempted to buy the album after hearing "Country Girl." I wasn't expecting groundbreaking, but I hoped to get something at least a little interesting. There's still a lot of XTRMNTR that I haven't explored, so maybe I'll just go back to that.
 
Posted 06/13/2006 - 06:04:37 AM by Alistair101:
 The problem with Primal Scream is not actually their problem. It’s just that most other people are not as open to music, any sort of music, as they are. They were a rock band who discovered the dance culture and made a record which embraced all of their loves. It wasn’t about compartmentalising music – ‘Come Together’ even explicitly states this – yet still they were (are) dismissed by the indie boys who couldn’t accept dance and by parts of the dance culture who couldn’t accept a few guitars. The point is that Primal Scream worship music. It doesn’t matter who is making that music – Iggy Pop is just as valid as a throw away bubblegum pop song – it’s the music that counts and how it makes you feel. Their philosophy has always been that the music is the most important thing. Consequently they want to make the best music possible and will get whoever they need to help make that music involved in the process. If they are making a dance type record they get a suitable producer in, if they wanted to make a Rolling Stones type track they got Jimmy Miller to produce, if they are making a soul record they get the Memphis Horns, a funk record – George Clinton, melodica required – that’ll be Augustus Pablo, righteous noise – Kevin Shields etc etc. In the same vein XTRMNTR was given out to several DJs to remix and the best results put on the final album, it doesn’t matter that there are two versions of Swastika Eyes – the music is so good it has to go out there and be heard. You should consider Primal Scream as a hardcore of Gillespie, Innes, Throb, Duffy (and probably now after ten years Mani) and whoever else is required to make the music they are hearing in their heads. There is no ego involved – if Denise Johnson can sing ‘Free’ better than Bobby Gillespie then she sings it. It’s as simple as that. So to suggest that Screamadelica and XTRMNTR were made by other people is missing the point. The hardcore of Primal Scream still wrote those songs but they were not so precious about them as to keep them to themselves – they wanted the best versions and if that meant a complete overhaul of ‘Come Together’ then so be it. To dismiss ‘Vanishing Point’ just because it is based on a film is ridiculous. The film may be the starting point but the album is just as much, if not primarily, about the come down from the euphoria of the late eighties/early nineties. It’s an absolutely brilliant album mixing heavy dub/dance/electronic sounds, rock’n’roll, soul, funk and in my opinion is right up there with Screamadelica and XTRMNTR. It’s too early to judge ‘Riot City Blues’ (I think you need at least a couple of months to let the dust settle and then make a judgement) but on past form and early listens it sounds promising.
 
Posted 06/15/2006 - 09:38:24 AM by J_R_K_:
 i dunno alistair, i see your point, not that it was specifically directed at me or anything, but primal scream hiring some DJs in the 90s doesn't mean they discovered dance rock. i mean, the klf were making dance pop and producing zodiac mindwarp and the love reaction's "tattooed beat messiah", which holds up far better than any straight-foward rock record primal scream can pull off.
 
Posted 06/20/2006 - 03:30:54 AM by Alistair101:
 I didn't mean Primal Scraem invented dance rock, I meant they were a rock band who discovered the dance culture and made a record inspired by both scenes. I'm not saying they were the first or the best simply that they were able to look outside their immediate record collection and embrace new music.
 
Posted 06/22/2006 - 09:19:53 AM by J_R_K_:
 yeah. absolutely. i'd say primal scream contributed two cohesive albums to the dance rock world. which is more than a lot of bands can say for themselves. more often than not they are repeat offenders of bar-rock standards.
 
Posted 08/01/2006 - 09:08:59 AM by micky67:
 This is an absolute disgrace of a review. You have spent 6 out of the 9 and a half paragraphs slagging Primal Scream (amongst others) off. And a measly 3 and a bit paragraphs on the actual music. If you don't like Primal Scream the answer is simple... don't listen to them. In regards to them being a disaster, well, when I saw them headline T In The Park a couple of weeks ago, they were anything but a disaster. They even blew The Who out of the water
 
Posted 08/02/2006 - 03:39:15 PM by scratch:
 D is much too high for this overproduced filler...
 
Posted 08/20/2006 - 12:19:23 PM by NickSouthall:
 micky67 please read the actual review - from "Recorded with Youth" onwards (the 3rd paragraph) the entiure piece is about this album (possibly bar the short para about Throb and Kevin Shields, although as stated earlier, the personnel involved with a PS record are always integral to the sound of a PSD record); just because I don't deal with precise moments of precise songs in each sentence doesn't mean it's not about "the music". Also I state quite clearly at the end of the review that I LOVE Primal SCream - loving them as a band does not preclude me from thinking that this album is absolutely rubbish though, which it is.