Boris
Pink

Southern Lord
2006
C
Reviewed by: Stewart Voegtlin
Reviewed on: 2006-05-01



Posted 05/01/2006 - 08:44:04 AM by raskolnikov:
 I really enjoyed the way you namedropped twelve different artists who have absolutely nothing to do with Boris' sound or this particular album. It was really helpful as far as trying to get a bead on this release. I have always found meandering Polish filmmaking to be a close aesthetic partner to thunderous Japanese rock music--it is impossible for me to think of the one without the other. Also, the music of Boris automatically makes me think of Mancini. There is much common ground there. Like the mutual admiration societies that exist between Martin Denny and Black Sabbath, or Hank Williams Junior and Christian Fennesz, these unexpected influences have had a tremendous aesthetic impact on our present musical situation.
 
Posted 05/01/2006 - 11:16:11 AM by dougrokakis:
 While I usually think raskolnikov is nothing more than an avant-garde/metal moron, I have to agree with his sarcasm this time around. At worst this album is a B+.
 
Posted 05/01/2006 - 12:34:10 PM by hunky_dory:
 I agree with Stewart on this one. I listened to a webstream of Pink, and it's completely boring. The album lost me after the first song. A grade of C is just.
 
Posted 05/01/2006 - 12:52:14 PM by theresafield:
 lol rockist
 
Posted 05/01/2006 - 01:08:45 PM by raskolnikov:
 Don't try to be nice to me now, Rokakis. It's too late for that!
 
Posted 05/01/2006 - 02:01:26 PM by diemythtruth:
 i thought akuma no uta was just okay.. the first song, this ambient doom thing with sirens and guitar squall could've gone on for half the album and it wouldn't have been too long. but they break into the quick hard stuff and it counter-intuitively lost momentum for me. i shall avoid this one
 
Posted 05/01/2006 - 02:19:03 PM by dougrokakis:
 Don't worry Raskolnikov. You're still an asshole in my book.
 
Posted 05/01/2006 - 04:58:10 PM by AKMoose:
 I know teasing Stylus about the lack of timeliness in reviews is getting old, but, geeeez, guys, if you're going to blast an album with a wildly inaccurate review, at least do it the year the album came out.
 
Posted 05/01/2006 - 05:32:24 PM by dubidet:
 AKMoose: You are the one who's inaccurate. This is a review of the American version of this release, which just went up for sale on SL's site. The Japanese version is on eBay. Read and learn.
 
Posted 05/01/2006 - 05:58:46 PM by raskolnikov:
 Rokakis--that's with a short A isn't it? Y'know, like Rocockis?
 
Posted 05/01/2006 - 06:15:14 PM by dougrokakis:
 That is correct.
 
Posted 05/02/2006 - 02:02:59 PM by AKMoose:
 Well, I stand corrected. I'd seen reviews of this awhile back and had friends play it for me, so I assumed it had already dropped over here. My complaint is retracted. I apologize.
 
Posted 05/03/2006 - 11:50:11 AM by bmichael:
 I don't think that Stewart Voegtlin really even listened to this album. R U sure you did, Stew??
 
Posted 05/30/2006 - 09:10:00 AM by raskolnikov:
 I finally got around to getting this Boris album. I doubt Mr. Voegtlin even understands the nature of Boris...I have not heard a better record in the last six months. Why do the reviewers at this rag fear and dislike rock music so much? Are they all limpid pussies, or just haters? Why should Boris continue to release hour-long feedback narratives? Should bands be submitting their intentions to Stylus' critics to make sure that they are on the correct path? Have any of you ever even played in a band before? Do you understand the concept of change and growth?