Gnarls Barkley
St. Elsewhere

Warner
2006
B+
Reviewed by: Derek Miller
Reviewed on: 2006-04-27



Posted 04/27/2006 - 05:55:20 AM by inabillity:
 spot-on review. re: "who cares" though, cee-lo mentioned in an interview that its verses are meant to sound uninspired because the chorus ("i could go on and on / but who cares?") acts as a self-conscious negation, the character's awareness that he's spitting out banalities.
 
Posted 04/27/2006 - 09:04:57 AM by gnarles:
 I know you're all just as upset as I am that these guys stole my name. Please, let there be calm. I assure you, the lawsuit is pending.
 
Posted 04/27/2006 - 09:08:47 AM by bassman08:
 "I still can't talk about Gorillaz." Huh? I thought that the new Gorillaz was really good (but DangerDoom is a bit annoying, I'll give you that).
 
Posted 04/27/2006 - 09:47:29 AM by AlecIsAlec:
 It seems like this record works in spite of Danger Mouse and his production. The Grey Album was a cute gimmick at best, and Danger Doom is reaaaaaaally annoying stuff. Cee Lo's sangin' makes this an enjoyable experience nonetheless, and Danger Mouse is able to stay out of the spotlight enough for the majority of the record to not get in the way too much.
 
Posted 04/27/2006 - 10:06:09 AM by J_R_K_:
 so i can't understand the hatin' on gorillaz. danger mouse is very good at making it look easy. but it's not, so give him some credit.
 
Posted 04/27/2006 - 11:01:35 AM by inabillity:
 "Danger Mouse is able to stay out of the spotlight enough for the majority of the record to not get in the way too much." what? since when is doing all the backing tracks considered staying out of the spotlight? the record succeeds precisely because his tracks mesh so well with cee-lo's singing. the spotlight is on the combination of both of their efforts, hence the creation of a certain Gnarls Barkley to represent this synergy. also, can someone please elaborate on what's so annoying about DM's productions (besides the drums, that's a given)?
 
Posted 04/27/2006 - 12:51:11 PM by garlad1:
 Attention: would the person who namechecked Ry Cooder please report to the credibility office? That is all.
 
Posted 04/28/2006 - 12:41:53 AM by bassman08:
 I suppose I didn't make it very clear: I like Danger Doom. Even though it is annoying at points and it's basically a gimmack album, I still find myself playing and enjoying it every now and again. I'm not so sure about DM's production on it, but I always enjoy MF Doom. Gorillaz, however, is different altogether. I think the beats/ production on "Demon Days" is really solid if not even excellent on a few songs.
 
Posted 05/21/2006 - 08:19:10 PM by Nygrah:
 I really find DangerDoom annoying. I think the St. Elsewhere album shows much growth in Danger Mouse's work. Not to mention I think the synergy between the two of them has finally given Cee-lo the support he needed to get his point across. I think the best two tracks on the album are "Crazy" and "Smiley Faces" because they have that Motown/Stax sensibility. They basically give you the familiar but keep your topically current. That is what a pro-fit is supposed to do. "You're a pro-fit is what you do brings currency. Testimony will be followed by an offering." — Vonyse. These brothers are definitely preaching.