Embrace
This New Day

Independiente
2006
A-
Reviewed by: Nick Southall
Reviewed on: 2006-03-27



Posted 03/27/2006 - 07:12:06 AM by sidownes:
 LOL
 
Posted 03/27/2006 - 10:54:31 AM by Zarklephaser:
 LOL x2
 
Posted 03/27/2006 - 11:03:32 AM by fishplums:
 fanboy alert!
 
Posted 03/27/2006 - 11:25:25 AM by vsvsvs:
 Mmm! Impartial then. Embrace are a joke. They were 8 years ago and they still are today. I do not need any more "triumph of the human spirit" choruses in my life.
 
Posted 03/27/2006 - 12:30:27 PM by mattmc387:
 Hey, this is Grass! We've been eating GRASS! -or- artists you liked until one album/song turned you around on them 180 degrees My adventures with Embrace to thread. I still like certain tunes. -- Nick Southall (auspiciousfish@yahoo.co.uk), January 12th, 2004. So was this album kind of like, "Hey, this isn't grass anymore!"?
 
Posted 03/27/2006 - 12:31:50 PM by Bowscale:
 Considering you're an Embrace uber-fan, I think it's a well balanced review. I think the comments by vsvsvs are slightly unfair as this album isn't what you would necessarily expect from them. It's poppy, it's rocky and yeah, there is a ballad on there. But seriously give it a listen. (if they release what I expect them to as singles, I don't think you'll get a choice)
 
Posted 03/27/2006 - 12:39:24 PM by NickSouthall:
 mattmc387; that was more the key tracks on their last album and the b-sides that came with it. Not long after I made that post on ILM I heard new material and got involved with them again, and the last two years has allowed me to re-evaluate their older music by placing it in a better context.

vsvsvs; there's no such thing as impartiality in music reviewing! You either like something or you don't! As for not liking big choruses, well that's fine for you but I'm a sucker for a tune and a melody as well as a noise and an idea.

As for you other kids... well, you don't know what you're missing.
 
Posted 03/27/2006 - 02:45:55 PM by venezuelan1:
 I haven't read a review this enthusiastic in a long time. While I only know the album Out of Nothing really well, and while I find it to be quite good, your review makes it sound like this one shatters it to pieces. Can't wait to give it a listen. I've been waiting for them to go darker. The rest of you cynical hipsters should go listen to Tapes and Tapes or whatever "it" band you fancy that no one will remember five years from now.
 
Posted 03/27/2006 - 03:02:01 PM by venezuelan1:
 can we all agree on at least one thing, even if not everyone who posts comments like Embrace: Fishscale is going to be fuckin' rediculous.
 
Posted 03/27/2006 - 04:21:11 PM by badhaircut:
 Haters step back. Go listen to more crack-hop and shit. Hope this finds them a little success in America. The last album should have but it was never given a chance. It's fucked how shit like The Fray will get pushed here but odds are this won't.
 
Posted 03/28/2006 - 12:35:21 AM by mpatton:
 Damn, relax, he likes the record - what's the big deal?