Test Icicles
For Screening Purposes Only

Domino
2006
B
Reviewed by: Josh Love
Reviewed on: 2006-02-28



Posted 02/28/2006 - 04:44:55 AM by meatbreak:
 Yeah - good review. I saw Test Icicles at Reading festival and they were utterly fantastic in that hyper-shambolic way which made Stone Roses famous. I also liked the album but thought that this is the kind of band that only really works off the back of it's live legacy - the album being a reminder of the gig you saw that totally blew you away and turned upside down your expectations of a band dynamic. Let's not over-intellectualise this band though - they wouldn't, and it seems, haven't, lasted any amount of criticism because I don't expect any LCD rag (ie. NME -RIP 1999) or HCD braodsheet to be able to get near them, either musically or aesthetically. Maybe it's best if this band have imploded - after all, that is precisly the reason they were so exciting on stage, because it looked as if that could happen at any moment. And the idea of them maturing any further musically is preposterous and if they did they'd have to change their name. RIP Test Icicles. Long Live The Damage!
 
Posted 02/28/2006 - 08:35:18 AM by J_R_K_:
 Hopefully they form more spin-off bands with funny names. The album is good in that disjointed kinda way, like Mclusky "my pain & sadness is more painful and sad than yours", but test-icicles would've been an amazing show to see.
 
Posted 02/28/2006 - 03:56:49 PM by Subwoofer:
 Test Icicles were the most temporary, disposable band - but they were great at it. The break up is very fitting.
 
Posted 02/28/2006 - 06:30:20 PM by pabanks46:
 To take the abortion, etc. imagery a step further, I'd say this band amounted to warm, bubbly, herpes rich afterbirth the moment they decided to go with the name Test Icicles. Wait 5 years until this gets the 'On Second Thought' treatment. Good riddance.
 
Posted 02/28/2006 - 08:01:42 PM by J_R_K_:
 i don't want to blow anyones minds, but maybe they broke up the band so their next project will be bill (feat. ex-test-icicles!)
 
Posted 03/01/2006 - 08:31:47 PM by bassman08:
 I like this a whole lot more then I ever figured I could.
 
Posted 04/03/2006 - 12:31:24 PM by J_R_K_:
 i saw a video of one of their UK concerts and i could see why this band broke up. like seeing ATDI right before they broke up, some bands can't live up to their own expectations.