The Darkness
One Way Ticket to Hell…and Back

Atlantic
2005
B
Reviewed by: Josh Love
Reviewed on: 2006-01-20



Posted 01/20/2006 - 11:10:12 AM by acid_puppy:
 no way does this album deserve a B. I mean, I LIKED their first album, but this one just sucks, hard.
 
Posted 01/20/2006 - 11:10:43 AM by acid_puppy:
 also, now it's offical; stylus is a joke
 
Posted 01/20/2006 - 11:59:12 AM by dmassey:
 All The Darkness ever had was lycra suits….. and that’s not even a good thing. The first album was a novelty to be filed next to The Smurfs, this is the same joke they have played twice now and it was old the first time. Same criminally reckless hair same bowel looseningly bad music same tosser in the catsuit. Hopefully the world will see the light and leave this album in the bargain bin at Morrisons.
 
Posted 01/20/2006 - 12:18:55 PM by pabanks46:
 Only someone that could write "pomp rock" could like this.
 
Posted 01/20/2006 - 01:39:52 PM by lukem887:
 Oh ffs. This album is well worth a B, musically it's excellent. Get over the crap outfits and hair and give it a listen. I disagree with the single choices, but as an album it's fantastically coherent.
 
Posted 01/20/2006 - 02:01:31 PM by Zarklephaser:
 I already consider Josh Love one of the worst Stylus contributors, and this review simply serves to solidify my opinion. One Way Ticket was quite possibly the worst album of 2005, and yes, I have actually heard the whole thing.
 
Posted 01/20/2006 - 03:22:09 PM by vsvsvs:
 HAhahahaahaHAAHAHAhaha! Seriously... first Stylus starts to look like Pitchfork, and now it is posting contradictory reviews... you couldn't make it up!
 
Posted 01/20/2006 - 03:40:29 PM by janinedm:
 You know you're all proving his points, right?
 
Posted 01/20/2006 - 07:18:22 PM by richardmf:
 for goodness sake...
 
Posted 01/20/2006 - 07:41:06 PM by AKMoose:
 I agree with Mr. Love. The last few sentences basically sum it up: they write catchy songs, they have clever lyrics, and they're a lot of fun. Their only failing is falling into a genre indie kids refuse to evaluate fairly, and just hate on a knee-jerk basis.
 
Posted 01/21/2006 - 12:17:15 AM by theresafield:
 oh no! someone dared to disagree with an ILM icon! death to the infidel! i bet josh love (whoever he is -- amirite?? lol) doesn't even smoke, let alone shoot heroin into his cock while listening to eruption. i mean, cmon, we're all about the music here.
 
Posted 01/21/2006 - 01:25:50 AM by BeeOKay:
 A B rating? haha I don't even think this album got a thread on ILM itself, also I don't think I saw it mentioned on anyone’s best albums of 2005 list.
 
Posted 01/21/2006 - 08:53:15 AM by vsvsvs:
 There's a simpler explanation why The Darkness are universally hated, other than apparently "cool" people hating on a knee-jerk basis... it is because they are a Warrant tribute band FOR GOD'S SAKE!
 
Posted 01/21/2006 - 09:05:46 AM by Hone_Heke:
 The B rating is spot on. It`s the least noticeable rating. The least likely rating to catch anyone`s eye & bother reading the B-ored review. (Note - I didn`t say `boring`). Of the 7 paragraphs, only 2 were actually reviewing the album. The rest was a review of JL`s perception of a Darkness fan/anti-fan.