Morningwood
Morningwood

Capitol
2006
D+
Reviewed by: Sam Abbott
Reviewed on: 2006-01-18



Posted 01/18/2006 - 08:19:49 AM by raskolnikov:
 Yeah, these guys are bad. I saw 'em live, sorry to say (I was there to see another band on the bill, I swear)...and as bad as this disc is, they are worse live. The singer has a real diva complex, which is laughable in any musical situation, but married to this retread retro crap her pretense becomes even sillier. Kudos for the awesome fake titles, too...Fun Condo indeed.
 
Posted 01/18/2006 - 10:06:06 AM by jmaxwell:
 Seriously, does anybody know how they got a spot opening for Gang of Four? Is Andy Gill a chubby chaser?
 
Posted 01/18/2006 - 04:25:15 PM by BeingaBunny:
 Yeah, I saw these guys on MTV2 as I was flipping channels. I saw their name and listened for a few seconds, then changed the TV to Seinfeld or something. Who cares?
 
Posted 01/18/2006 - 05:31:30 PM by wmdavidson:
 "This is kind of like Canned and Artificially Seasoned Power, or Fun Condo." Classic.
 
Posted 01/18/2006 - 10:39:33 PM by mvdu76:
 Nope, this is a fun CD, and is being underrated by critics. It has spunk and delighfully irreverent lyrics. Nothing's changing my view.
 
Posted 01/18/2006 - 11:49:15 PM by Hone_Heke:
 Nothing need change your view. This kind of review is so much more fun to read than yer average damn-it-with-faint-praise prose. I wish every Stylus review got snarky up the ass of some album, & then we could all judge a good album by how little the reviewer hated it. This review rules & I believe every word of it.
 
Posted 01/19/2006 - 05:32:37 AM by BeeOKay:
 Poor Weezer, how did they fall so far? That's right they should of broken up after album number two!