Jens Lekman
Oh You're So Silent Jens

Secretly Canadian
2005
A-
Reviewed by: Ian Mathers
Reviewed on: 2005-12-03



Posted 12/03/2005 - 02:12:45 AM by revolvingatom:
 Well, this review makes it perfectly clear that Ian Mathers is, more often than not, spot on with my own musical tastes (I'll let the "Some Cities" thing go). Jens Lekman is like the European conterpart to the slightly skewed folk-pop mastery of Andrew Bird and like Bird deserves all the accolades one could heap upon him. The only thing I disagree with Mr. Mathers on is the song "Pocket Full of Money" ,which I find quite stunning. The first time I heard that ingeniously used Calvin Johnson sample rip open the delicate web of the verse, my jaw hit the floor. This is a song that begs to be featured in the next David Lynch film.
 
Posted 12/03/2005 - 03:53:30 AM by IanMathers:
 Well, I'm glad my Dovesian apostasy isn't being held against me permanently!
I figured that people who like Calvin Johnson more than I do, or even that are more familiar with the song the line comes from, would like "Pocketful Of Money" more than I do, but I found it jarring on first listen and just hokey after that. The idea of putting it in a Lynch film intrigues me though, I'd love to hear/see that. And I guess now I'd better go try and find some Andrew Bird, I'd never heard him compared to Lekman before...
 
Posted 12/05/2005 - 02:27:05 PM by EffulgentEnnui:
 I'm actually beginning to think that if Andrew Bird and The Magnetic Fields had a love child, that child would be Jens Lekman.
 
Posted 12/06/2005 - 03:26:50 PM by mattmc387:
 "Pocketful of Money" is my favorite song on the album.
 
Posted 01/24/2006 - 05:07:22 PM by ieatseeds:
 OKAY IAN - WERE YOU SAYING YOU'D NEVER HEARD ANDREW BIRD BEFORE OR THAT YOU WERE JUST GOING TO DIG UP THE CDs SO YOU COULD LISTEN TO IT ALONGSIDE JENS LEKMAN'S???? Depending on your response, you're either ridiculously crazy and in for a wonderful treat or an enterprising musical listener interested in a wonderful session of album comparing and contrasting.
 
Posted 02/13/2006 - 01:22:52 AM by IanMathers:
 Actually, ieatseeds, I meant I'd heard a few tracks by Bird before and never found them very compelling, but if people think he's like Lekman I should obviously give him another try. I've heard a few tracks since, but neither of them did anything for me... any recommendations?
 
Posted 02/20/2006 - 10:04:27 AM by louray:
 "A Sweet Summer's Night In Hammerhill" has lots going on in it. One of the layers of sampling sounds like Jonathan Richman playing a live show- the "Bum-bah-bum-bah-bum-bah-...." of the crowd could be a live sing along to "walter Johnson" - at any rate the last "bum-buah..." is unmistakeable to me as JR's voice, as well as the words at the end, when everyone is yelling for "Black Cab" and "Higherpower" (also a JR song). Does anyone else hear that? Anyway, I love this Jens Lekman album and I guess I take that song to be, at least partly, a tribute to JR which makes me glad due to the similarity in their sincerity acts.
 
Posted 02/17/2007 - 07:18:04 PM by PSouthern:
 Jens has admitted his love for "JR", saying that JR was trying (and failing) to be Lou Reed, and that Jens is trying (and failing) to imitate JR.