Kate Bush
Aerial

EMI
2005
A-
Reviewed by: Nick Southall
Reviewed on: 2005-11-08



Posted 11/08/2005 - 07:23:14 AM by martin:
 Not a great album by any means, but definately worth purchasing
 
Posted 11/08/2005 - 08:41:45 AM by oldrottenhat:
 "slooshy sloshy slooshy sloshy", eh? I could see Robert Wyatt singing that, but he probably is the male Kate Bush.
 
Posted 11/08/2005 - 08:46:20 AM by NickSouthall:
 I had considered using Wyatt as a parallel, but I think Kate's profile and sales are so much wider and higher than his that it renders it a null comparison - we have to imagine someone who sells MILLIONS of records singing "slooshy sloshy slooshy sloshy" for it to be a worthwhile exercise, if you see what I mean.
 
Posted 11/08/2005 - 08:59:36 AM by Zarklephaser:
 "Because, even after 12 years of laundry and washing the dishes and making fairy cakes and raising a child . . ." Oh, awesome! Love the sexism, Nick. That's a first-class review right there. /sarcasm
 
Posted 11/08/2005 - 09:07:29 AM by NickSouthall:
 Zarkle, the lyrics and sleeve imagery EXPLICITLY DEPICT those things. There's a picture of her WASHING LINE across the gatefold. Also if you think that I think that's all she's done over 12 years then you need an irony transplant and pronto.
 
Posted 11/08/2005 - 09:33:28 AM by wantondisco:
 <3 for Southall.
 
Posted 11/08/2005 - 10:21:59 AM by J_R_K_:
 i guess i understand post timbaland, but post fennez? maybe fennez has been responsibile for more than i credit him with, but if post fennez- why not post oval or post nobuzaku takemura? not trying to playa hate but what else is the internet for? anyways, since smile! finally came out, everyone wants in
 
Posted 11/08/2005 - 10:29:49 AM by NickSouthall:
 Fennesz because, as someone in the UK, you see his records a lot more in shops than you do Oval or Takemura. Not that they stock Field Recordings in Woolworths, but his profile is considerably higher. Also I prefer him...
 
Posted 11/08/2005 - 10:53:52 AM by florenz6:
 Record stores may not be the ideal to surrounding to get a full pichture of this music, but what made me not buy this album,was the fact that the synthesizers quite often seem to sound very soporific and a bit too holy. Does no one share this opinion? A bit kitschy here and there, I thought. Nevertheless it seemed to be a very personal record out of Mrs Bush´s universe, but I was not so sure if I could really enjoy this. In fact, I really doubted it. In contrast to that, Brian Eno´s "Another Day On Earth" (which got quite mixed reviews, and a "full down" here), is running and running and running on my cd-player. It´s so terrific! I´m making this comparison, ´cause Eno is making use of such thrilling electronic textures. There is - I´m sharing Robert Wyatt´s view here - a lot of "inner space" in Eno´s song album. I love Kate Bush´s singing,too, but too well-known, smooth keyboard sounds get a bit overpowering after a while.
 
Posted 11/08/2005 - 11:32:00 AM by PlatypusQuest:
 I likewise prefer Fennesz: Endless Summer is my favorite album of the '00s. And on an unrelated note, I can't wait to hear the Kate Bush album...... Glad to see it's being well-received.
 
Posted 11/08/2005 - 12:34:46 PM by J_R_K_:
 I understood the Fennesz comment in the sense that Kate Bush's keyboards sound "kitschy". It seemed like a greater stretch in relevancy, than say Stereolab or Luscious Jackson. I'm a big fan of the 80s keys (KLF, Talk Talk). If a band writes good songs with cheesy sounding keys, it's a lot better than writing bad songs with cool sounding keys. IMO, it's easier to take a good song with a bad keyboard sound and turn it into having good keyboard sound than to turn a bad song into a good song even if it had good keyboards. Evidence- the progress on the early keyboard sounds of the Wolf Parade EPs to the LP.
 
Posted 11/08/2005 - 03:13:34 PM by florenz6:
 But then, J_R_K, the best thing is a good song with rich keyboard/electronic etc. textures, because this is finally the landscape for the voice. Talk Take did a fantastic job in that area with "Spirit of Eden" and "Laughing Stock". I don´t like to hear a wonderful voice when I don´t like the landscape it is moving through.
 
Posted 11/08/2005 - 03:47:15 PM by J_R_K_:
 i agree, a good song with a nice soundscape is the best. what is important to me is a good song, first and foremost. if the production on the keys is weak, that can be revised later. but often you'll find that even if the keys are cheesy sounding at first, by the end of the song you'll have been drawn into tune if it's any good.
 
Posted 11/08/2005 - 03:57:37 PM by NickSouthall:
 Isn't complaining about cheesiness in a Kate Bush record a bit like whinging about Led Zeppelin, you know, rocking out a bit?
 
Posted 11/08/2005 - 05:47:08 PM by cwperry:
 Zarklephaser: I seem to recall a MOJO article some years back where Bush really did talk about retreating into a domestic world of dishes and laundry. I believe it even had a picture of her doing the dishes.
 
Posted 11/08/2005 - 11:20:11 PM by anonymous:
 thumbs down for the cover art
 
Posted 11/09/2005 - 05:08:06 AM by florenz6:
 You have made a point, J_R_K, a small point. I was thinking about records, where I like the songs, although the sonic textures don´t match the quality of the composition and the performance of the singer. And, well,yes, the last album from "The Blue Nile" is a good example for that, and it IS a good album!
 
Posted 11/10/2005 - 11:49:36 AM by Woootooowoo:
 I've read some incredibly good reviews of this album. I nearly bought it yesterday, but upon entering virgin, boosh I noticed it is £12.99. Instead I invested my cents on The Band's (can't remember the name, southern carnivals or summat) and a curt boetcher thing. Both are very good, but the band are, like, my favourite band at the moment. Back to Bush, i'm not hugely impressed by the single. bo
 
Posted 11/10/2005 - 11:51:28 AM by Woootooowoo:
 and yes, i'm aware that the band have split up.
 
Posted 11/10/2005 - 03:57:44 PM by J_R_K_:
 it's the singer, not the stones.
 
Posted 11/11/2005 - 03:38:44 PM by cwperry:
 anonymous: I quite like the cover art. At first glance, it looks like huge rocks out in the sea, coupled with their reflections; on closer perusal of the booklet, you learn that it's soundwaves of a sparrow's song or some such thing. But you can still imagine it's just rocks in the sea. I like the laundry line on the inside, as well, with how you can't quite tell if the birds are pinned to the line.