Rogue Wave
Descended Like Vultures

Sub Pop
2005
C
Reviewed by: Evan McGarvey
Reviewed on: 2005-10-25



Log In to Post Comments
Posted 10/25/2005 - 08:48:46 AM by gnarles:
 Um... and so WHY did this get a "C"? The review sounded a lot more positive than that grade would reflect. But then again, I'm having a lot of trouble understanding reviews on here as of late...
 
Posted 10/25/2005 - 03:21:55 PM by dudley:
 "Refreshingly fresh?" "Pallet," not palate? Yo La Tengo's from Hoboken, dude. Nice try.
 
Posted 10/25/2005 - 04:18:26 PM by aroddick:
 A great album, and I agree with gnarles...C?
 
Posted 10/25/2005 - 04:55:10 PM by dougrokakis:
 I'm not really blown away by this record, but the complaints being made are accurate. The review does not match the rating.
 
Posted 10/25/2005 - 06:45:40 PM by richardmf:
 the album being given a C does serve a question: why? i mean, things written in the review point to a mark like a B, at least. it's a solid indie-pop album, but not so solid that it's stale. the moments of beauty on this record surely outweigh that. is this reactionary against sub pop, O.C. friendly bands that make nice music? because that's pretty stupid. i guess the shins were pretty shit, too.
 
Posted 10/25/2005 - 08:03:47 PM by shredded77:
 Agree with other posts... Reading your other recent reviews though, I noticed the highest grade you give is a B-. So I guess if the best music you hear is B- quality, this would probably be a C. Considering the quality of the album and the angle of your review, it seems like you ought to be in B/B+ land, though.
 
Posted 10/25/2005 - 08:43:23 PM by Emmettina:
 I would suspect the reviewer meant to use the word "palette" to describe a range or mixture of musical qualities. The definitions of palate (mouth) and pallet (shipping container) are very different and not correct here. The grade of C is ridiculously low, as this is an alt-pop gem, as was their last release, both grade A- or B+ in my book, subjective as it is.
 
Posted 10/26/2005 - 03:14:49 PM by MJames:
 Gnarles. . .not enough faxumosexuality.