Liz Phair
Somebody’s Miracle

Capitol
2005
B+
Reviewed by: Alfred Soto
Reviewed on: 2005-10-07



Posted 10/07/2005 - 12:04:40 PM by Zarklephaser:
 Another instance of a highly off-target review on Stylus these days. Come on, Alfred, THIS ALBUM SUCKS. All the other publications are getting it right! Are you too self-conscious to take up the obviously correct (in this instance, at least) mainstream opinion on this terrible collection of songs?
 
Posted 10/07/2005 - 12:09:10 PM by AlfredSoto:
 I like it better than "mainstream opinion" has decreed. What's so hard to understand?
 
Posted 10/07/2005 - 12:29:46 PM by J_R_K_:
 zarkle, who cares?
 
Posted 10/07/2005 - 02:35:24 PM by KingVitamin:
 I wonder what percentage of articles written about Liz Phair, ever, contain the phrase "blow job queen".
 
Posted 10/07/2005 - 08:54:06 PM by IanMathers:
 Zarklephaser am not Bizarro #1. Him not best Bizarro never.
 
Posted 10/08/2005 - 08:59:52 AM by J.Timmermann:
 98%--and the other two percent are for publications that won't print the word blow-job. It's in my piece on "Nashville," but only in reference to the fact that everyone who writes about Liz inevitably manages to throw it in there.
 
Posted 10/09/2005 - 01:44:34 AM by Snuffleupagus:
 "Luckily the tension between commerce and privacy—the true polarity, not the bullshit commerce-versus-art thing..." Fuhrers? Do you understand that you are the most annoyingly glib 'critic' on Stylus?
 
Posted 10/09/2005 - 09:58:23 AM by AlfredSoto:
 I wouldn't have it any other way.
 
Posted 10/09/2005 - 12:17:35 PM by Snuffleupagus:
 Alas, I'm afraid that choice is not up to you Alfred; you cannot have it any other way. Your meek, underdeveloped and reactionary criticisms are a product of your person. It's just who you are, I guess. Bummer.
 
Posted 10/09/2005 - 05:00:55 PM by AlfredSoto:
 Bummer.
 
Posted 10/09/2005 - 05:24:50 PM by dubidet:
 can we please get back to cocksucking? Look at that mouth!
 
Posted 10/09/2005 - 05:44:14 PM by BeingaBunny:
 I'll take head, but I think I'm gonna pass on the album. Hey Soto, send the head this way, buster.
 
Posted 10/09/2005 - 07:47:49 PM by AlfredSoto:
 Just let me know, Bunny.
 
Posted 10/10/2005 - 12:50:18 AM by PeterIa:
 I thought the review was pretty good. I haven't heard this album, or her self-titled effort, but at least this review did a good job of articulating the writer's views, which is really all a review should do, I think. So props on the review, and I may just check this record out.