Wolf Parade
Apologies to the Queen Mary

Sub Pop
2005
A
Reviewed by: Derek Miller
Reviewed on: 2005-09-26



Posted 09/26/2005 - 01:51:00 PM by keyinblack:
 "I'll Believe in Anything" is one of the best songs of the year, as well as the best anthem I've heard in quite some time.
 
Posted 09/27/2005 - 08:30:24 PM by MEKsLP:
 "We Built Another World" is one of the best songs I have ever heard. Luckily for me I didn't get a chance to notice any of the pre-press prior to this release so this album comes as a complete surprise. I have had the damn thing on repeat since I bought it at 10 am. One of those truely great albums that most everyone will enjoy (ie Arcade Fire's "Funeral")
 
Posted 10/01/2005 - 12:06:05 AM by roadrunner:
 These songs are OK, but indie rock is all being treated in the Arcade Fire sense, and the Arcade Fire were never as good as the Public generally said. What I mean is, creativity in indie rock is becoming almost as rare as creativity in hip hop (which, I think, is quite frightening), and there are too many songs that rely on cheeky guitar fuzz and popped drum lines. I liked this review because I thought it was clever and well written, but I don't think this album is as amazing as everyone says it is; just another Interpol is what I say, and that seems to be the best anyone can say these days. Is that a pity? I don't know. Maybe.
 
Posted 10/01/2005 - 09:03:58 PM by Vernie:
 "Just" another Interpol? Arcade Fire not that good? What next...Radiohead is "decent"? Lou Reed had some "okay" ideas? There is so much more depth and beauty to these songs than cheeky guitar fuzz and popped drum lines would produce. Oh yeah, nice review, by the way.
 
Posted 10/02/2005 - 08:07:39 PM by browngirl5566:
 how does it feel to have stumbled across the best sound of the fall? pretty boring and disappointing :( (is this the best people can come up with?)
 
Posted 10/05/2005 - 04:10:36 PM by ohsotired:
 Gorgeous sound, can't stop listening to it. 100% with MEKsLP on that cut.
 
Posted 10/06/2005 - 12:06:32 PM by whiteboysushi:
 I walked two miles during my lunch break to buy new headphones after the ones I was listening to this with broke. And you can put that on a sticker on the front of the shrinkwrap if you want.
 
Posted 10/09/2005 - 02:13:23 AM by stereopro67:
 After hearing a few songs, my wife said "This band is kind of like The Arcade Fire and Modest Mouse." If she can figure that out, anyone can. However, this is still a GREAT indie CD. "Shine a Light" and "I'll Believe in Anything" are tremendous songs.
 
Posted 10/12/2005 - 07:58:37 AM by whiteboysushi:
 I dunno, I still don't see much of a resembalance to either of those bands. I mean, there are weird vocals, occasional Mouse-y guitar lines, and one part in "Dinner Bells" where the guitars chime in a very AF-like way... but other than that I think people are just grasping at straws.
 
Posted 10/12/2005 - 11:27:56 PM by whiteboysushi:
 On further reflection and more attentive listening, the part I was thinking of is actually in "I'll Believe In Anything", which is by far the most Arcade Fire-y song.
 
Posted 10/14/2005 - 11:59:25 AM by jhitting:
 I just got this yesterday and I enjoyed it thoroughly the first run through. However, Funeral it's not. It's not Interpol either. This is a soundtrack for 3AM, for sadness and revenge, for plotting and coersion. It's definitely a new take on the same indie sound. Much as Interpol updated Joy Division, I know this updates something. I just can't figure out what exactly. I hear reminiscent portions, but where do they come from? If I never figure it out, then it must be original. And at least the lyrics and song titles aren't melodramatic garbagery.
 
Posted 10/18/2005 - 01:21:11 AM by Travis_Parker:
 I've got 4 songs and some song called Disco Lights or something so far. I'm gonna buy it on Wednesday. I think it's gonna go top 5 of the year. People criticize The Arcade Fire, but they stand my test. I keep on going back. Album of the year is still Sufjan Steven's release, easily, but how is indie sucking like that? Sure, these bands aren't all like Radiohead, Pixies, The Flaming Lips or like that, but we have bands that are making great albums that are perfectly delightful, and totally replayable for years. Everybody expects something substantial, but the powerhouses are at work. Radiohead, The Flaming Lips, all of those are still cranking, and for some reason my mind keeps on drawing a blank on who else is in the studio, but I know The Shins are. Best indie pop band. I swear. I still have no idea how "Illinois" didn't get an album of the week. That's so lame.
 
Posted 10/25/2005 - 12:43:34 PM by jhitting:
 Well, Stylus is the king of lame.
 
Posted 10/26/2005 - 09:01:00 PM by revolvingatom:
 While reading reviews of "Funeral" at rateyourmusic.com, I came across several "I just don't get it" comments that baffled me. How could you not get it?, I thought. It is life-affirming, post-pop on a grand scale. It speaks directly to one's inner child. It is simultaneously innocent and pretentious. Above all it is a glorious racket. Now suddenly I feel like one of those poor fools left out of the loop. I want to like Wolf Parade. I like their song titles, I like their friends. Somehow their music just does not work for me at all. It is cacophonous in all the wrong ways, tuneless and irritating. If the singer could change pitch occasionally or emote at all it might buffer my general annoyance. I think the bastardization of a great Canadian music scene begins here. And to think, it was oh so young.