Kanye West
Late Registration

Roc-A-Fella
2005
C+
Reviewed by: Evan McGarvey
Reviewed on: 2005-09-05



Log In to Post Comments
Posted 09/05/2005 - 08:28:27 AM by yoshi4:
 good piece, agree about everyone needing to take it on it's own merits instead of getting swept up in the hype, but i dont think many people would do that. it's not a great album at all in my opinion, y.
 
Posted 09/05/2005 - 09:13:53 AM by RoqueStrew:
 Nice review, Evan; but I might (& I'll give it one more listen) go so far as to declare this a bona-fide dud
 
Posted 09/05/2005 - 10:13:50 AM by tomlea:
 I actually wasn't expecting to like this album so much, but I think it's excellent- certainly one of the two best hiphop full-lengths I've heard this year along with the Quasimoto. It's certainly more consistant than Dropout- okay, there are three or four skits but they're short, and I don't think there's a single bad song. That soul sample in Addicted won't leave my head..
 
Posted 09/05/2005 - 10:56:08 AM by roadrunner:
 finally. i am ecstatic that there are some people somewhere in the world who see Kanye West for what i think he really is: mediocre and nothing more. My brother (a Kanye fan; he and i have been fighting over the man for 2 years now) told me yesterday that Kanye says Portishead's Dummy was an inspiration of his while making this album, as if he had something to prove to the world (see guys, I'm cool! i promise!). I said great, but who cares? Is everything this man says taken as a sermon in itself? He is not a messiah, he is not saving hip hop as we know it, and he definitely is not a genius.
 
Posted 09/05/2005 - 11:27:18 AM by gnarles:
 Thank good one 'zine is taking baby steps to dismantle the hype surrounding this jackass. It might actually be impossible for an artist to be as overrated as Kanye West. The Strokes would stand in awe of him. However, I must admit that I loved his admonishment against Bush - live on the air! - that Bush didn't care about black people. A supreme moment. Kanye, when the last of the buzz police have begun arresting others, you've got a career in politics, dawg.
 
Posted 09/05/2005 - 11:28:44 AM by gnarles:
 I meant to put "Thank God", not "Thank good". Long night last night.
 
Posted 09/05/2005 - 09:29:52 PM by PeteGuy:
 I'd like to echo the comments about Kanye being an inflated/overated figure of importance on contemporary music. In his defence it is fair to say he is yet to release a poor single. Regarding Evan's review however, I'm a tad disappointed that the commentary focuses on peripheral details and lyrical content of the record. While what he says is obviously a big part of West's 'game' I'm more interested in the choons than his take on university fees. Nevertheless despite the C+ ('could do better, see me after school' review) I think if there's one record its worth having your own take on in 2005, this may well be it.
 
Posted 09/09/2005 - 02:21:36 AM by ddrake:
 "ridiculous tirade" Um...what?
 
Posted 09/20/2005 - 02:20:29 PM by ieatseeds:
 I really love what you say here, you make fine points. Kanye West is a bit in love with himself, it is a little precious, but 'Gold-Digger' is a fun song, and he's had some other good ones on this album and on College Dropout--the tracks that aren't included on the regular release of the album are the ones I keep going back to: "Home" and "The Good, the Bad, the Ugly" feat. Consequence. Now, what I'm saying is Yeah, Kanye has done a few good songs, but I'm with you in saying that he is generally his own personal hype machine, fueled by other popular hype machines (you know who I'm talking about) and generally it's just fun to sit back when someone who believes these hypesters comes along and says to me "WOW! Did you hear the new Kanye West album? It is the best thing ever! The guy is a genius" and I just have to laugh. C+ is a great grade for the thing cause it is what it is: mediocre.
 
Posted 10/18/2005 - 05:22:10 PM by n2udice:
 ARE U CRAZY OR WHAT?! Late Registration was HOTT!!! I mean a couple of song aren't all that but over all, it was tight! Most def. deserved more that a C+, what's wrong with the reviwers on this site, Late Registration, C+, The Naked Truth, D....I defnitely think ya'll need your ears checked.
 
Posted 10/18/2005 - 05:25:07 PM by n2udice:
 You give Kanye a C+, and then go give Paul Wall--YES--Paul Wall a B-....oh yes ya'll are defnitely off ya'll rockers, were we listening to the same Paul Wall Album, ummm I think not. Let's recheck these ratings SERIOUSLY!
 
Posted 10/20/2005 - 08:50:32 PM by ieatseeds:
 *guffaws*