Super Furry Animals
Love Kraft

XL/Beggars Group
2005
C
Reviewed by: Jeff Siegel
Reviewed on: 2005-08-30



Posted 08/30/2005 - 09:45:40 AM by isaacq:
 well then...... i'm glad it's not just me. i think 'lazer beam' might be the most aggravating single i've heard this year. so sad, considering their history. and thank you for giving 'phantom power' some love. the dvd might be a half-assed effort, but the record is unfairly maligned all over the place. not every song was great, but in retrospect, it was a masterwork next to the new album. that being said, i can't stop listening to love kraft. i've given it at least 10 tries now, which is more than i would have done for an equally dull album by another band. i just really want it not to be the suck. on the plus (???) side, about half of it has grown on me now... i think i'll go listen again and see what we can do about that other half.
 
Posted 08/30/2005 - 10:07:15 AM by Derek_Miller:
 Great job with this review, Jeff. I typically avoid these posts, but I have to say this is one of the more faceless, utterly disenchanting discs I've heard all year. In a word: sleep.
 
Posted 08/30/2005 - 10:14:21 AM by drf1974:
 As a huge SFA fan I initially thought the same. But perserverance has revealed new sides to Love Kraft, and I find myself humming tracks, in particular Laser Beam at odd points of the day. If ever an album could be classed as a grower this one is it.
 
Posted 08/30/2005 - 03:12:56 PM by IanMathers:
 Won't somebody please think of Rings Around The World?
 
Posted 08/30/2005 - 03:18:46 PM by jeff_siegel:
 I love RATW. I slogged through this one about a dozen times searching for something, to no avail.
 
Posted 08/30/2005 - 08:26:55 PM by MoogDroog:
 Initially I wasn't going to make a post on this, but I'm simply compelled to. 'Lazer Beam' may just be the red herring on the album, but to say it's devoid of any tune is ridiculous. This new album represents the debut of a new multi-vocalist SFA, which allows them to go into directions they wouldn't normally find themselves in. There is *nothing* like the likes of 'Walk You Home' on other SFA albums, for instance. SFA have chosen this time to forsake the accessible, clipped songs and go for something big and expansive. Whereas 'Rings Around The World' was big and expansive in terms of its production, 'Love Kraft' is big and expansive in terms of its songs. I have to admit also, that as a fan for 9 years this is the first SFA album that I didn't make friends with straight away, it took at least 2 or 3 listens. Now I think it's their absolute masterpiece. I love how SFA have an album for every mood, and this album is no exception... it's perfect to lay back and chill out to. There are ideas aplenty on this record too, no less than usual. PS. 'Phantom Power' didn't get any bad reviews in the UK.
 
Posted 08/30/2005 - 09:09:33 PM by samuellitt:
 It's beyond me how anyone could tell this reviewer he did a great job with the review. If you think it's poor or mediocre, that's fine. But the author wrote in so many inaccuracies and completely ignored things like the fact that this is the first time SFA have employed four different vocalists and songwriters on an album. He also mentions that the album contains Welsh, which is completely true. "Atomic Love" doesn't exist because the song is called "Atomik Lust". It would've been interesting to read the writer's thoughts on favourites like "Frequency," "Ohio Heat," "Cloudberries," or "The Horn", but instead he spent time critiquing an instrumental and a single t hat sounds nothing like the rest of the album (and I happen to think "Lazer Beam" is immensely fun). The only misstep I found was "BAck on a Roll," which just seemed like a trite, unnecessary song. So once again, while I can accept an average review for the album, I can't accept a poor review.
 
Posted 08/30/2005 - 09:10:18 PM by samuellitt:
 Sorry. It's completely UNTRUE that the album contains any Welsh.
 
Posted 08/30/2005 - 09:35:03 PM by phantom_ass:
 Jeff Siegel is a moron. (Please note this comment contains as much effort, energy, creativity and originality as Mr. Siegel's review did. The only difference being this comment is not full of inaccuracies.
 
Posted 08/30/2005 - 11:15:17 PM by samuellitt:
 I don't know if he's a moron, but he did a horrible job with this review. The best Love Kraft review I've seen online is Pitchfork's. It's clear Marc Hogan knows a lot about the band and the album, and he wrote the review well.
 
Posted 08/30/2005 - 11:55:06 PM by jeff_siegel:
 samuelitt: You're correct, it's "Atomic Lust." Typos happen. As for the "favorites" you listed, bear in mind, those are your favorites. I didn't write about them because they didn't particularly strike me one way or the other, frankly. As for the other vocalists, there was only one song where I was really struck by the fact that it wasn't Gruff singing, and I can't go ahead and call that a change of direction. As I said, the album bored me. You disagree, and you're not the only one, and you're obviously more than entitled.
 
Posted 08/31/2005 - 12:05:51 AM by MoogDroog:
 By saying there was only one song where it didn't strike you as Gruff singing means a) you haven't done your research properly and b) you haven't actually been paying attention to the album. If your ears are failing you in this way, and you can't be arsed to find out what you're talking about, maybe journalism isn't for you. Regards.
 
Posted 08/31/2005 - 12:25:12 AM by :
 The song title error has been changed on 08/31/2005.
 
Posted 09/01/2005 - 01:05:38 AM by IanMathers:
 I am really sick and tired of the idea that one must know tons about a band to write a good review of their work, which is one step up from the old "if you don't like musician x, where are all _your_ albums, huh?" non-defence. Encyclopedic knowledge makes some good reviews and many bad ones. As for multiple voices: If they all sound like Gruff, it's not a new direction. Or particularly notable.
 
Posted 09/01/2005 - 04:04:23 AM by NickSouthall:
 I must have listened to this record a dozen times now, and while I enjoy most of it quite a bit at point of contact, I can't hum a single tune away from the actual context of listening to it there and then. I think it's an improvement on their last two, both of which have really, really disappointed me, but it doesn't get anywhere near the heights of their first three albums or various b-sides / EP tracks and diversions (Mwyng included as a diversion). I do think that the artwork is, however, fantastic!
 
Posted 09/01/2005 - 04:26:58 AM by NickSouthall:
 Also is it just me of is Zoom! a big Neil Young trip?
 
Posted 09/01/2005 - 06:54:51 PM by samuellitt:
 "I am really sick and tired of the idea that one must know tons about a band to write a good review of their work, which is one step up from the old "if you don't like musician x, where are all _your_ albums, huh?" non-defence. Encyclopedic knowledge makes some good reviews and many bad ones. As for multiple voices: If they all sound like Gruff, it's not a new direction. Or particularly notable." But the vocalists do sound different. If you've heard everything SFA has done up to this point, you'd be able to tell as much. Just for you peace of mind: Gruff: Zoom!, Cloudberries, Ohio Heat, Lazer Beam, Psyclone!, Frequency Bunf: The Horn, Back on a Roll Cian: Cabin Fever, Walk You Home Daf: Atomik Lust Really.
 
Posted 09/01/2005 - 06:58:35 PM by samuellitt:
 And the album doesn't need to be "expertly researched." There was a press release that went out that must of us writers looked over before reviewing the album. When I see someone label a song "Atomic Love" - which was how the leaked track was labeled - it makes me think they downloaded the album. There's a world of difference between a good review and this review. And for the record, I don't really think this is a great album. It's all right, but I haven't enjoyed it as much as I've enjoyed the rest of their music.
 
Posted 09/02/2005 - 02:20:18 PM by hovercraft:
 For fuck's sake! If you rated albums with asses, this one would get a 1/2. The fanboys and street team need to get over it.
 
Posted 09/15/2005 - 12:20:43 AM by PlatypusQuest:
 Well, this one has certainly grown on me VERY VERY much. And I never really got into Phantom Power. After several listens, I can honestly say that this is one of my favorite SFA albums. It greatly surpasses the underwhelming Phantom Power (though Sex, War, and Robots is one of my all-time favorite SFA songs) and, though not nearly as experimental as Rings Around the World, is perhaps even better than that groundbreaking album. I've found that Love Kraft is pretty consistent, and contains some true gems ("Atomik Lust," "Ohio Heat," "Zoom," and especially "Cloudberries"). Regardless of the mixed reviews, this will be one of my favorite albums this year.