Black Rebel Motorcycle Club
Howl

Echo
2005
B-
Reviewed by: Ian Mathers
Reviewed on: 2005-08-25



Posted 08/25/2005 - 09:32:29 AM by brian586:
 Has the reviewer ever heard of an album called Stoned and Dethroned? BRMC are JAMC ripoffs, period-->.
 
Posted 08/25/2005 - 09:36:01 AM by IanMathers:
 This record is a lot better than Stoned and Dethroned.
 
Posted 08/25/2005 - 10:08:57 AM by bassman08:
 I like this. A lot.
 
Posted 08/25/2005 - 12:34:25 PM by IanMathers:
 To be more complete, as I'm now fully awake: Saying "BRMC are JAMC ripoffs, period" does a disservice to both bands. They really don't sound the same, at least to these ears. If your visceral reaction is strong enough you don't want to listen to see if they get any better once you get used to them, cool - that's a totally legitimate reason to dislike a band. But don't expect everyone else to follow suit, especially those who hear something different.
 
Posted 08/25/2005 - 12:52:38 PM by brian586:
 Well said, this is just my opinion. It just struck me hard that now they are doing an acoustic/blues/country thing, which JAMC also did, though they did so 5 or so albums into their career. I apologize for my snarkiness, I hadn't had my coffee yet.
 
Posted 08/25/2005 - 02:32:29 PM by J_R_K_:
 yeah. american band sounds like JAMC. what a tragedy. next thing you'll complain the dandys sound like love & rockets. at least they choose good bands to be "ripoffs" of.
 
Posted 09/11/2005 - 05:01:43 PM by b-grrrlie:
 The track after "the Line" is called "Open Invitation". And indeed it is one of the greatest they have done! The organ reminds me of David Bowie's "Memory of a free festival".