The New Pornographers
Twin Cinema

Matador
2005
B
Reviewed by: Josh Timmermann
Reviewed on: 2005-08-24



Log In to Post Comments
Posted 08/24/2005 - 11:47:11 AM by MEKsLP:
 While I agree that some of the tracks are just flat-out boring (Use It) I can't help but feel positive about where the band is going with this album. Electric version was dull and boring compared to Mass Romantic. It was a good type of dull in that I can still listen to an enjoy it, and there certinly where a couple awesome tracks (Testimate to Youth and Verse). With Twin Cinema they seem to have returned to making each song stand out as unique and memorable. I haven't made a final call on whether I will really like this album or not, but at least I have to think about the music I am listening to as opposed to being bored with it.
 
Posted 08/24/2005 - 03:43:28 PM by wmdavidson:
 "Electric Version" destroys "Mass Romantic." Way better songwriting, 100x better arrangements and production, just a far more lively, engaging, and satisfying record than the debut was. Sorry, I'm just the only person in the world who thinks so, and I need to let off steam sometimes.
 
Posted 08/24/2005 - 04:40:26 PM by IanMathers:
 This style of music should be known as "New Porno" from now on - while reading this I thought that's what Josh had done for a second, and it kind of works.
 
Posted 08/24/2005 - 06:00:45 PM by wmdavidson:
 "Porno-pop"?
 
Posted 08/25/2005 - 09:15:48 PM by peckdude:
 Stylus has a bad habit of underrating New Pornographers albums.
 
Posted 08/28/2005 - 05:20:55 PM by mtwill:
 New Rule: Any record containing the song "The Bleeding Heart Show" as performed by the New Pornographers cannot be rated lower than an "A".
 
Posted 08/31/2005 - 10:09:22 AM by jhitting:
 New Rule: this CD is awesome.
 
Posted 09/16/2005 - 07:32:18 AM by Marcopolo:
 new rule:there's no rule.
 
Posted 09/29/2005 - 11:59:11 AM by mpatton:
 Painful review. I've had "Jackie, Dressed in Cobras" on heavy rotation for weeks and it does not even garner a mention.
 
Posted 10/26/2005 - 02:11:31 PM by jhitting:
 This record got the same grade as Ashlee Simpson. JT is clearly on the crack rock.
 
Posted 11/28/2005 - 11:07:33 AM by whiteboysushi:
 I know I'm late, but... JTizzle cites "Bones of an Idol" and "These Are the Fables" as 'standouts' while bashing "Streets of Fire", "Use It", and "The Bleeding Heart Show". Pretty much the only thing this review got right was the awesomeness of "Stacked Crooked" and "Sing Me Spanish Techno".