The Mobius Band
The Loving Sounds of Static

Ghostly International
2005
C
Reviewed by: Derek Miller
Reviewed on: 2005-08-12



Posted 08/12/2005 - 08:31:42 AM by BillyClyde:
 Profanity is a crutch for the inarticulate
 
Posted 08/12/2005 - 08:54:45 AM by boilingboy:
 This makes obvious the fact that most music critics are English or Journalism major: They are primarily intersted in words. In less the lyrics are atrocious, I care far more about the music (like most people). To write off this album because the lyrics are obvious is just ridiculous. Who are you writing this for? Other writers?
 
Posted 08/12/2005 - 10:08:39 AM by Derek_Miller:
 And cliches a clutch for the ignorant.
 
Posted 08/12/2005 - 03:36:16 PM by informer:
 Derek, were you up all night working on this one, or what? This is some seriously next level rock crit, man. Love the hyphens and the sort of neat way you manage to work in references to pop culture. Also really love the way you mold the English language to your needs. Keep up the GREAT work. Love, informer.
 
Posted 08/12/2005 - 04:03:06 PM by blogmonkey:
 cliches exist because there is truth and power within their archetypes. Sometimes the best way to express something is to just come right out and say it. This reviewer got lost in the forest.
 
Posted 08/13/2005 - 12:28:35 AM by mattmc387:
 No, cliches exist because there was originally power and meaning in them--the very word "cliche" implies that it's lost its meaning from over-use, otherwise it'd be a "maxim" or something else to that effect. Any writer will tell you that the use of cliches is a good way to bore someone and fail to really express much of anything, like how objects you see every day eventually become practically invisible. Sorry, I don't know why I felt like rambling on about cliches.
 
Posted 09/07/2005 - 03:28:03 AM by spanko191:
 Well then, I guess I'll just give some imput on the actual content of the album. Its bland, the hooks are predictable and it lacks the energy it could have. I've seen them live too, and it really feels like theyre holding back.