Missy Elliott
The Cookbook

Atlantic
2005
A
Reviewed by: Rich Juzwiak
Reviewed on: 2005-07-05



Posted 07/05/2005 - 09:43:16 AM by unsaunsa:
 Yeah. Awesome. She's sure of herself just like Mariah and gay. I'm really happy I read this review. Maybe I should check her record out, if only I knew what it was like.
 
Posted 07/05/2005 - 10:36:21 AM by scooper:
 fairly boring, actually. 'joy' absolutely kills, and that's why it's the first track on the album. there are three or four other strong cuts ("on and on" and "we run this" are the best of those), but for the most part missy's cookbook lacks flavor etc etc.
 
Posted 07/05/2005 - 11:48:08 AM by GavinM:
 I thought this was one of her worst albums, but I'll give it another listen. I like the analysis of coded gay messages though, good work.
 
Posted 07/05/2005 - 04:07:50 PM by AlexMacpherson:
 odd, I didn't particularly notice the coded gayness in the music but it's definitely there in the sleeve photos where she rocks that same camp/butch aesthetic that kd lang does so well
 
Posted 07/06/2005 - 10:50:13 AM by ectocooler:
 Couldn't say if this is her worst album. It does suck. That's for certain.
 
Posted 07/06/2005 - 01:03:26 PM by GavinM:
 Really, if someone claims something besides So Addictive is her best, I'm liable to start sharpening my axe.
 
Posted 07/06/2005 - 08:21:56 PM by grodinsky:
 the paragraph speculating on her sexuality is really fucking weird
 
Posted 07/07/2005 - 09:38:24 PM by IanMathers:
 Why?
 
Posted 07/08/2005 - 02:51:23 AM by grodinsky:
 im not exactly sure, i had to reread it because it seemed so bizarre thought i mustve misread. i just guess if someone wrote something like that in a review about an album of my songs i would think "who the fuck is this guy and why does he think he knows me?" the whole reviews smacks of something like that. but they arent really my thing in the first place.