New Order
Waiting for the Siren’s Call

Warner Bros.
2005
D
Reviewed by: Andrew Unterberger
Reviewed on: 2005-04-29



Posted 04/29/2005 - 11:43:04 AM by wantondisco:
 Thankyou for a great review. You're completely right; for a band like New Order, it's impossible not to measure them against their previous work, and you have to do that because it reminds us of just how good they were.
 
Posted 04/29/2005 - 01:20:39 PM by stevegoz:
 I've been a new order fan for 20 years (they're my all-time second favorite band, after The Smiths), but only Republic could come close to drawing this kind of bile from me. How is Republic a better album than Sirens' Call? You seem to take the band far, far more seriously than they have ever taken themselves. I'd venture to say the risk factor pretty much went out the window with them after Low-Life, but they've made plenty of ace material since then.
 
Posted 04/29/2005 - 01:33:26 PM by mtwill:
 Pace the first comment, this review gets it wrong. Please see the more insightful and accurate reviews at pitchfork, cokemachineglows, or almost any of the nearly universally strong notices this record has been receiving. I couldn't agree more with the reverence for the old records or with the assertion that you have to hold new order to higher standards. but what has always made new order great is the spirit of the work, the hope, the joy and the perseverance in being new order in the face of, well, everything. 25 years later and these guys are still keeping it real. listen to peter hook during the chorus on the first cut - its one of his most thrilling basslines yet, and that, obviously, is saying something. it gives me goosebumps. true, there is a clunker or two on here (as there is on every other new order record except pc&l; and technique), but this is a wonderful record, full of the authentic, bittersweet, utterly unique new order sound. its not their best record, but its also not their worst, and there are at least 3 or 4 songs here that stand alongside the classics.
 
Posted 04/29/2005 - 02:47:39 PM by AUnterberger:
 can't say you're wrong about any of that, but I don't find a single thing about this record joyful or thrilling in the slightest.

You seem to take the band far, far more seriously than they have ever taken themselves. Right you are. Which is more than a small part of the problem with the album.
 
Posted 04/29/2005 - 04:31:43 PM by lovezero:
 it is clear that their worst record to date. so, rating is what it deserves best.
 
Posted 04/29/2005 - 07:06:02 PM by UHLawdog:
 Um, if you're not prepared to provide an objective review, why on earth did you agree to do one at all? You make it painfully obvious that you had no intention of allowing the work to stand or fall on its own merits. Does this record stand with New Order's best work? Of course not. But insisting on such from the get-go is ultimately self-defeating. Put another way, name me one band that has released a career-defining record after 20-25 years in the business. For instance, while "All That You Can't Leave Behind" was a solid record, it paled in comparison to "War" and "The Unforgettable Fire." Putting aside the impossible standard to which you're holding this record, it is actually quite good. "Krafty" is hands-down one of the most glorious pop singles I've heard in eons. "Jetstream" is equally appealing. It's a shame that you've gotten so wrapped up in a romantic image of what New Order used to be that you cannot simply enjoy the band for what it is now.
 
Posted 04/29/2005 - 07:52:11 PM by AUnterberger:
 you're right, that is a shame.
 
Posted 04/30/2005 - 01:12:34 AM by IanMathers:
 Nobody is ever prepared to provide an objective review of anything, period. I can understand how Andrew can't tolerate this level of work from the same band that did "Temptation" and "Bizarre Love Triangle" and etc etc, although I'd need to hear it to decide if the same holds true for me. But if it doesn't for you, why is that problematic? And he's right about Republic, too.
 
Posted 05/03/2005 - 06:18:15 PM by stevegoz:
 Stylus: circlin' the wagons since 2005!
 
Posted 05/05/2005 - 11:57:49 PM by pagan_poet:
 I 100% agree with this review. This is one of those albums I started off liking but grew to loath. It's not necessarily that bad, just so damn stale, stubbornly safe and mediocre all the way through. Perhaps the achievement of this album is that you don't realise this straight away. But, with that said, Jetstream Lover is awesome!
 
Posted 10/07/2005 - 08:58:57 AM by Solist:
 I think, New Order have reached their pancake-baking-level of creativity already with 'Get Ready' - only 'Get Ready' marked a comeback with rocking effect... 'Waiting for the Sirens' Call' except for the striking nihilistic cover has nothing to offer but four guys way down their shit refusing to say they're old farts losing the edge. Hooky, Barney or Steve - their kids are probably embarrased for their daddies' efforts now. New Order were always enigmatic, at least visually - but musically they start letting go with embarrasingly uninspiring music. 'Sirens' Call' is one hell of a problem - so, do I need this one? No!