Tori Amos
The Beekeeper

Epic
2005
D-
Reviewed by: Dom Passantino
Reviewed on: 2005-02-21



Posted 02/21/2005 - 05:40:54 AM by frantic:
 Damn if I ever saw a review where the reviewer was more concerned with how to sound witty and less concerned with the subject matter.
 
Posted 02/21/2005 - 09:43:18 AM by Lambert:
 Oh please, Frantic, we all know 'From the Choirgirl Hotel' was the last good thing Tori Amos has recorded. I think miss Amos is rather happy these days. Good for her, but too bad for her fans. Sometimes it's true what they say: Artists need to suffer in order to create great stuff. Miss Amos, apparently, is in the autumn of her career. Let her just do the Cher thing: a ten year farewell tour. "To all my loyal fans who have supported me and cried with me throughout my million dollar career: Let's be crucified again!"
 
Posted 02/21/2005 - 10:55:10 AM by Liarbythefire:
 I don't see what's wrong with the review....at least Dom is/was a fan of Tori Amos. I'm just surprised Tori Amos hasn't released her "anti-war/anti-GW" album that so many artists seem to have out now.
 
Posted 02/21/2005 - 11:07:10 AM by caroline_l:
 "is if someone has the decency to abduct and kill her daughter." Nice. After this I couldn't be bothered to read the rest.
 
Posted 02/21/2005 - 02:18:18 PM by foppish_twit:
 that whole "artists need to suffer" bollocks is reductive thinking and a fucking myth, at that. Anyway, this reads like the author hates women (cemented by the first and last ugly sentences). Seriously, I don't know if Dom does have those sorts of issues, but he really writes like it here. Hey Stylus, I thought you prided yourself on not stooping to this level? What's next, gonna hire Brent D. and Gavin McInnes? Hey, it's the "male gaze" at work, let's crack wise about bitches and how they should get raped and their kids killed and get facelifts and all that, because if they can't write a good tune, they probably have it coming.
 
Posted 02/21/2005 - 02:30:04 PM by Liarbythefire:
 Now that I remember it and it's been pointed out, yeah there was something wrong with the review. Dom needs counseling or something. To suggest that someone would improve their art if their children gets kidapped or killed is sick. I would hate to be a woman in a relationship with Dom.
 
Posted 02/21/2005 - 05:23:25 PM by mvdu76:
 That's it! I'm done with Stylus Magazine for good. What an appalling thing to say! I can deal with disagreement, but this review is really, really low.
 
Posted 02/21/2005 - 05:46:18 PM by pagan_poet:
 And right on cue, here come the Tori fans (the author of this review should be warned - their reputation as the nuttiest fans on the net is well deserved!). In any case, Tori's been little more than been a pretentious Dido clone, making nothing but beige musical wallpaper, for years now. And her new album is, sadly, just like the last couple: predictably dire.
 
Posted 02/21/2005 - 05:46:45 PM by MyNameIsKenny:
 I rather like this review.
 
Posted 02/21/2005 - 07:06:15 PM by frantic:
 Lambert: Actually, I didn't like From the Choirgirl Hotel at all. I like the trinity: Little Earthquakes, Under the Pink, Boys for Pele, with the last being IMO by far the best. After that it has gone pretty much...well, lukewarm. Regarding the latest album, I've listened to it but not too many times, and I generally like what I hear: simpler approach; not really exciting: true; but pretty even and with some nice melodies. My beef was with the review, as the reviewer is trying to throw a pun in every sentence, overdoing it grossly. Read the first and the last sentence of the review (it gives a great idea of what's in the middle): horribly exaggerated, unecessarily cruel, and all with a smug and arrogant idea that he actually knows the artist's 'true' motives, thoughts and desires. Lastly, I'm not (as some people who posted below clearly are) that much offended by the 'kill her daughter' theory. I just consider it out of place and irrelevant - like most of the other observations in the review.
 
Posted 02/21/2005 - 08:18:58 PM by IanMathers:
 "Scared little boys not yet sold on the magnificence of Nellie McKay parrot off the same rote answer for why they don’t “get” this album: “She reminds me of the people I hate in real life”. Yes, women." Clearly just a rotten misogynist, then.
 
Posted 02/22/2005 - 03:09:35 AM by ajohnny:
 Seriously, you should be embarrased to have penned such trash. Your review amounts to malice and garbage. No meat here, no food for thought. Just vindictive B/S. If Tori Amos was your ex-girlfriend, dumped you, and you wrote all about it in your diary, this is how the entry might read. And then it might actually make sense. But to call it writing, keen, objective, or sound criticism, is to declare a faslehood. This is shit- not hot, but foul. You really ought to develop some critical writing skills prior to writing your next review, or I'm afraid you'll make a fool of yourself again. Dom.
 
Posted 02/22/2005 - 07:28:19 AM by Lambert:
 Hi Frantic, the funny thing is I never really cared for 'Boys For Pele'. Although the album has some remarkable good (and indeed sincere) songs, the majority of the songs just doesn't do it for me. According to friends who own the album too, that is a shame. Personally, I consider 'From the Choirgirl Hotel' to be Tori's opus magnus. To me it felt like that album had most of the anger, frustrations and questions. After that, what more was there for Tori to do? And yes, Foppish Twit, it's not always true that artists need to suffer in order to create magnificent art, but I do believe the more Tori suffers, the better she is in creating fantastic music. And to all the other people who believe this review to be scandalous: Dom Passantino has written a perfect review. If a review evokes this much response, the reviewer has done an excellent response. There is nothing more frustrating for a critic to see his review do nothing at all. So, mister Passantino, you did an excellent job!
 
Posted 02/22/2005 - 08:42:42 AM by frantic:
 Heh, being a journalist myself, I know that publicity is important, but it isn't by itself a measure of quality. Think about yellow journalism. One more observation: although some bad things did happen to Tori in her life, and although she did drew lots of inspiration from them in her work, I think that in her case the connection between art and suffering is exaggerated - not only in this review. I think that the vast majority of her appeal lies in her musical talent, fantastic voice, great songwriting, unique way of singing, and technical prowess. The themes of her songs and the lyrics - while admittedly interesting, cryptic, different or just plain weird - are just a smaller part of the equasion.
 
Posted 02/22/2005 - 01:07:21 PM by foppish_twit:
 I'm not a Tori Amos fan, haven't even heard a note intentionally since '95, I don't care for what I have heard, I just read all these Stylus reviews. But go ahead and chalk it up to Tori fans being overprotective of their piano-tinkling flower, if that makes you feel better. Hey, it's all in good fun! I hate this sort of shit where someone says something clearly offensive to get a rise out of the reader. Either they don't mean it, which means they don't have the cajones to be sincere in their writing, knowing that they're an anonymous internet hack if they don't draw attention to their writing via shocking comments (mission accomplished, haha), or they're really a scumbag who hates "women who happen to be on the downslope of their career". Hey Dom, when ("when") your writing starts to go to shit, mind if we start responding to your reviews that "If only someone would kidnap and strangle his wife/mom/daughter/son and leave the corpse hogtied on the side of a freeway, maybe then we, the readers at home, would get the sort of reviews WE want!"
 
Posted 02/22/2005 - 01:09:04 PM by foppish_twit:
 Lambert, I agree with your comments, but your paragraph is still a little non-sensical to me. I wish someone would have the decency to rape your mom so you'd write better.
 
Posted 02/22/2005 - 04:57:09 PM by Lambert:
 Well, Foppish Twit, my mother died three months ago, so I think raping her isn't going to happen. So who does the non-sensical writing over here?
 
Posted 02/22/2005 - 07:52:53 PM by Lambert:
 If Stylus allowes people publicly to wish for someone's mother to be raped, then I no longer wish to be associated with this website. Greetings to you all. See ya, wouldn't wanna be ya.
 
Posted 02/23/2005 - 07:31:20 AM by frantic:
 Unfortunately, the direction this debate is heading isn't interesting to me, so this will be my last comment on the matter. I'm sorry people concentrated on the first (relatively valid in journalistic sense, but with lack of measure and tact) paragraph of the text. There is lots to criticize in the rest of the text, and there are a few interesting things that could be said about Tori's career. Lambert: I'm pretty surprised by your reaction; if you're against references to family members being murdered/raped (I'm not saying that I'm NOT against it), you should have reacted the same way when you first read the (almost) exact same thing in the review, not when someone stung you with it with obvious sarcasm. See you guys under some other review. (;
 
Posted 02/23/2005 - 12:59:37 PM by Hexagon:
 How's this review turned out for you, Dom?
 
Posted 02/23/2005 - 01:37:47 PM by mayanviking:
 I'm all for the criticism and analysis of art, and I believe that the reviewer has the right to take any stance he wishes on any given album, I think that the way he's done it is pretentious, ugly, and unnecessary. As you said, Mr. Passantino, arrogance is a very ugly trait. Personally, I liked the album, and I'm pleased with the evolution of Tori's sound. There are a few tracks I could have done without, but as a body of work, I found it both powerful and relevant.
 
Posted 02/23/2005 - 02:16:30 PM by DomPassantino:
 "How's this review turned out for you, Dom?" We've got a long way to go before we get to Eminem review levels.
 
Posted 02/24/2005 - 07:00:33 PM by MusicNotSee:
 Christ it's not like the man didn't set up a disclaimer, he recognized what a terrible statement it was with the going to hell bit, it's obvious it was just a cheeky bit of dead baby joke witt to illustrate the point of apathy in the music. Stop your fucking whining. It's people like you who make coddled children dusebchanted with the world when they realize government doesn't actually help anybody. Get a fucking life. And THEN tell me I'm an overgeneralizing synical bull shit artist. And anyway, it's not like everything's hunky dory now that she has a kid... If Dom's theory is right, the adolescent years should be transcendant pieces of nu-genre defining art.
 
Posted 02/24/2005 - 07:36:27 PM by Snorfle:
 I thought the review was rather funny. "Original Sinsuality" ...giggle
 
Posted 02/25/2005 - 12:50:36 AM by IamArock:
 While I have not heard any of the woman's latest material, this review is indeed on par with that of the National Enquirer. Forced wit and shock tactics hardly denote credible journalism--I will actually buy this album in light of your questionable authority! I have to agree with Tori Amos' insane fans on this one. Mordant you are not Mr. Passantino.
 
Posted 02/25/2005 - 04:22:26 AM by noxxrocks:
 hmmmmm.... If I were you what would I say about your review... Oh well good going on pissing off the whole world. I guess everyone has an opinion. Just remember Tori is loved, and your bound to make people upset. The person she is to her family and loved ones overrides any critic, so to her and others like her, what you say doesn't matter.... Its just another opinion, cuz everyone has one. And the only ones that matter are close to her heart. -Krystal Noxx-
 
Posted 02/25/2005 - 06:44:32 AM by Kazanger:
 Dom Passantino, since when did this kind of tripe quailfy as a serious review? I read the first paragraph and decided not to waste another second of my time reading such a childish responce to an excellent album you obviously don't understand. I have no problem in people voicing their thoughts but to start off a review saying 'the only way that we're going to get a good album from her in this day and age is if someone has the decency to abduct and kill her daughter'is sick and deplorable. How this magazine had the audacity to publish something so distasteful really places the question of credibilty on everyone involved in its publication.
 
Posted 02/25/2005 - 01:30:43 PM by MusicNotSee:
 No, it doesn't! And if your time is so important that you can't bother reading all the other responses that say the same that you did vertabim, if not at least the review, then it really lends question to the credibility of the fact that you havea rational mind capable of forming a cohesive opinion in what you're trying to say. Why don't you do something pro-active like teach your 7th grader to stop picking on the new kid or something?
 
Posted 02/25/2005 - 01:36:59 PM by MusicNotSee:
 Shit, I don't even like this site THAT much, but if Tori Amos from 1996 read this review in the future, she'd feel terrible, not because of how disgusting the statement would look to her, but because the mid-life section of her career shows such detachment from her expressive aims. This review expresses it's point perfectly. It is concise and effective to get the writers point across. That's the goshdiddlydarn point. It's a rhetorical device. A method of writing, not a call to arms against Tori Amos. Chillax allies.
 
Posted 02/25/2005 - 06:06:11 PM by IamArock:
 The message that this album seems to be genius to some and hilarity to others is evident. HOWEVER, as far as rhetorical mechanisms are concerned, Mr. Passantino undoubtedly took the low road. Read the works of Dorothy Parker, Truman Capote, or Gore Vidal--then you will come to learn the true art of critique!!
 
Posted 02/25/2005 - 06:25:20 PM by J11382:
 I heard a little bit of the album, and it is neither good nor bad. But I will purchase it now because of the review. What you say about the music may be true, but it wasn't kind to attack her looks. What mean-spirited personal issue did this stem from, eh? Just guessing, you are most likely an overweight, unattractive Italian man.
 
Posted 02/25/2005 - 07:00:19 PM by puddledives:
 I don't mind and even tolerate this Dom's opinion on Tori Amos or The Beekeeper. I do mind however her making suggestion that "someone should have the decency to abduct and kill her daughter." Maybe it may take the same for a apology. Dom if it was up to me you would be jobless at this time. Donald
 
Posted 02/25/2005 - 10:20:34 PM by skuter666:
 Hilarious. Two thumbs up! There's something deeply satisfying about a good bitchy, negative review. And it certainly helps cleanse the palette of those adulatory reviews I've read of this same album elsewhere. This is exactly what is required as an antidote to a "talent" who has for too long cornered the market on precious -- as if we needed a cross between Kate Bush and a vacuum cleaner. Remember, "Bee Girl gets the belt."
 
Posted 02/25/2005 - 11:41:19 PM by Hexagon:
 "Read the works of Dorothy Parker, Truman Capote, or Gore Vidal--then you will come to learn the true art of critique!!" This place never ceases to amuse me.
 
Posted 02/25/2005 - 11:48:09 PM by SingAloud:
 Whoa. Who to believe? The biased die hard fans or those who have loathed her from the beginning with no hope of being convinced otherwise? If nothing else, we know Skutter666 went to the Passantino School of Irrelevant Slam Jobs :)
 
Posted 02/26/2005 - 11:30:56 AM by ValB24:
 Well, Sir, callowness is another ugly trait, even more so than Tori Amos' So-called 'Arrogance'. I think its an incredibley pitiful world we have to co-exist in when one has to make such derogatory comments about a child just to make a point about feelings toward a persons music. If you would take time out of your hectic life then maybe you could see how rich and truely moving Amos' recent work is. And I feel sorry for you if you feel that sexual violence and tragedy in ones life 'solely' makes for good songwriting. I doubt you will be at all scathed by whatever negatvity your review has mustered but hope you can at least realise that your comment was completely malicious and out of context. Shame on you.
 
Posted 02/27/2005 - 03:10:04 PM by EffulgentEnnui:
 Eh, his article reminding of Jonathan Swift's, "A Modest Proposal" based on the satirical aspect, especially in reguards to,"if someone has the decency to abduct and kill her daughter."
 
Posted 02/28/2005 - 06:18:19 AM by Kazanger:
 MusicNotSay, how exactly is my opinion not cohesive? I don't believe that a journalist should make statements for the sole purpose of being shocking, especially something like that. It's uncalled for and he should be able to get his point across just as well without this 'rhetorical device'.
 
Posted 02/28/2005 - 07:06:56 AM by Kazanger:
 Goshdiddlydarn! I love it!
 
Posted 03/01/2005 - 12:34:19 AM by jlynch:
 dom, you obviously DON'T GET how FASCINATING and WONDERFUL tori amos is! you SUCK for not APPRECIATING her A.R.T.!!!!1
 
Posted 03/01/2005 - 11:54:16 PM by MusicNotSee:
 glad you like it, the point is that his use of rhetoric is as neccessary as tori's use of whatever stylistic devices he dislikes in her album. it's incoherent of you to say that as a result of that the publication should disband... you wouldn't say a label that puts out a bad album should shut down
 
Posted 03/02/2005 - 06:38:30 AM by Kazanger:
 Well, that is true. Ok so I take that back, you're right, but I don't take back the fact that I think what he said was unnessary. And I also think instead of telling everybody else to stop whining, you should first.
 
Posted 03/02/2005 - 06:39:21 AM by Kazanger:
 Oh sorry, I just realised I wrote your name wrong before.
 
Posted 03/02/2005 - 08:52:55 AM by oldtobegin:
 zing.
 
Posted 03/06/2005 - 03:43:31 AM by MusicNotSee:
 My wining, in being reactionary to the original flood of reactionary wining from the faint of heart, acts in itself as preventative wining by instilling the idea that wining is unimportant in those already ingaged in said action, thereby reducing the chances of them believing their wines will be well received in the future, thus reducing the chance of future wining. So, i'm not being as hipocritical as you'd think, though I don't claim to be immune to it. Point is, music is not necessary. Neither are descriptions of it in online forums. This is a big fat web of luxury. Just bathe in it.
 
Posted 03/07/2005 - 03:08:09 AM by srkenney:
 The really sad part is that such an irrelevant album has spawned so much discussion. I neither knew, nor particularly cared that this album was coming out, until I was physically putting it out on the shelf. And I LIKED Tori; I even stuck around later than most of you seemed to (Strange Little Girls, anyone? I have a cheap copy for you to buy), much to my embarassment and annoyance. This album, and by extension, this review, isn't worth more than a disinterested fart - from anyone. I do appreciate Dom's attempts to liven everything up a bit though.
 
Posted 03/07/2005 - 05:33:41 AM by Kazanger:
 You really like to pontificate.
 
Posted 03/08/2005 - 12:49:54 AM by srkenney:
 Pot, is that you? Hi, I'm Kettle.
 
Posted 03/11/2005 - 06:31:54 AM by Kazanger:
 Excuse me srkenney but I wasn't talking to you. And if you'd bothered looking at my previous entries, you'd see they are quite succinct. So not Mr. Pot, you've got the wrong person!
 
Posted 03/11/2005 - 04:47:11 PM by MusicNotSee:
 i've missed message boards SO much it's like family dinners all over again
 
Posted 03/11/2005 - 04:49:50 PM by zona_grl:
 Wow. There are a lot of angry people on here. Besides the fact that the critic's comment is rather callous, it's also important to note that Tori's two greatest albums - Little Earthquakes and Under the Pink - were developed while she was in a relationship, and with the guidance of her then boyfriend, Eric Rosse. And there are a number of somewhat upbeat and brilliant pieces that came out of that era: Happy Phantom, Sweet Dreams and Flying Dutchman just to name a few. I agree with Passantino that she has definitely lost her edge. (The first albums were tightly-woven and brilliant packages of raw emotion, everything since has been a little lost.) Maybe she needs to stop producing her own albums - or at least do some better editing. In other words, I don't think we have to kill any of Tori's relatives to get some decent music out of her.
 
Posted 03/14/2005 - 06:29:52 AM by Kazanger:
 Nobody on this message board seems to realise that Tori lost her brother last November in a car accident or that her mother had a heart attack just before his death. So I think she's had her share of pain while writing this album. If she didn't change her style she'd be slated too so I think she should do what she wants, since it's so brilliant anyway in my opinion. Who wants basically the same album time after time, if you're looking for that then listen to Korn who's lead singer never stops singing about being bullied in school. Get over it Jonathan.
 
Posted 03/20/2005 - 05:30:47 PM by davefons:
 OH NO, now tori amos appeals to soccer moms instead of beastly liberal arts majors with non prescription black rim reading glasses!!!
 
Posted 03/24/2005 - 09:04:39 AM by DomPassantino:
 I graduated in English Literature, my eyesight is classified as near blind, and I wear contact lenses. But thanks for playing.
 
Posted 03/25/2005 - 04:22:42 PM by FerkoMont:
 I do not know why I do this, but somehow I felt like checking the reviews for this album on the web and I was amazed by how the reception of it was so different in the US than in my home country: Argentina. I've been discussing this issue with some friends, co-workers, and people from college, and we really do love the album. Yes, it's silly. But I found that charming. Decadence is underrated nowadays. I think this album is as dark, or even more, as the previous ones. There is something deeply melancholic about it, like a dark comedy thing. Listening to the cheap eerie organ and the afro funk fusion made me think of those chapels in Las Vegas where a fat Elvis impersonator marries you, while an old lady plays a Yamaha. And I pictured the fat Elvis taking office on a funeral. There is a gesture in that kitsch element that talks about the decadence. Whether you cry or laugh about it, you're overwhelmed by the absurdity of it all. Maturity is not about constructing sense, or having found the meaning, it's about recognizing that it was meaningless, pointless. And yet, here's the thing: when it's all a circus, when our face is airbrushed and filled with botox, when our only worry is to feed the child and drive the Saab, we look back at the old times and nothing was accomplished there. There's just the fact that someone, somewhere, did feel something, and nothing more. Melancholy is the approach many people experienced here. The glamorous-decadent age is full of emotion, even more in this case, that we do have a past age to compare it, and smile kindly at the memory of those young kids that used to spend their days lost in their narcisistic wound discourse. The beekeeper is an invitation to get lost in the absurdity of it all.
 
Posted 03/30/2005 - 07:43:37 AM by whitehorses:
 I have been a tori fan way back since little earthquakes and it is those early albums that make me go out and buy the next tori album. One thing that tori can't be accused of is being the same; she has progressed, stumbled, experimented all throughout her career...with good to mixed to bad results. Still she has a kind of musical 'intelligence' that always raises her stuff above the average. 'the beekeeper' is a good example of this; while i don't agree its as bad as the reviewer has made it out to be, it does border at times at being bland. And i also don't agree with the kidnap-the-child comments but i can see where they are coming from. Tori sure has lost her edge; nothing from the fourth album onwards matches her first three brilliant records. There have been flashes of brilliance, but they are just that; few moments on long albums. What tori needs is some discipline and possibly another producer. The beekeeper suffers from being way too long and while once whatever tori touched was gold (when do we get a bsides compilation?), now someone needs to seriously edit her stuff. I don't think she suffers from arrogance but some over-confidence. The worst thing about the beekeeper for me is that its so all over the place; the garden theme is too pretentious and the songs really don't seem to belong on a single album. Tori's work used to be tight and thematic without being monotonous; perhaps its time to go back to the early stuff and bring back the single girl and the piano....
 
Posted 04/01/2005 - 06:17:26 PM by barnum:
 What I find really irritating is when people are afraid to make bad comments about an artist, especially one which they are big fans. Instead so many people try to make off like the rest of us aren't evolving like Tori's music. That's just a load of horse$#!t. It hurts having to say it but this album sucks, and overall I'm just not into what she's been making lately. Ever since she has switched to Sony her music has gone down the tube. No I'm not just waiting for her to come out with Little Earthquakes the sequel or anything. I have become accustomed to her producing some incredibly powerful music, though her latest albums have been lame ducks. This album is the pinnicle of my worst fears with her music. I seriously thought the theme of the Bee Keeper was some intelligent jab at Mediocrity, or hell even Martha Stewart herself. Until I realized it wasn't, this is all the gusto she was able to put into her music. I guess I'll just have to finally lower my expecations of her new material, and hope someday she comes back with better stuff. Seriously though...this new album sucks...
 
Posted 04/15/2005 - 12:37:30 PM by FerkoMont:
 barnum, you're asking too much. you should get yourself a mother. I do not understand that demanding attitude. The market does not owe you anything. It is you who owe the market something. That's how it works. If you have expectations about a record, that's your own thing. I truly do NOT understand how come people can complain about someone who didn't fill their OWN expectations. Tori's music does not have anything to do with their disappointed fans. In the end, you're asking for condescencion. And that's what "sucks". If she gives you what YOU want, then you're happy. To encounter that (your) mentality makes me truly sad, but I'm not gonna blame anyone for that. That's the difference. Why don't we try to be less childish?
 
Posted 04/18/2005 - 11:20:29 PM by pretentiousfck:
 Well, this review has inspired me not only to join this dumb ass forum/website/whatever but to put on 'The Beekeeper' and give you a peice of my mind. I dedicate my username to you Dom. First of all, I find it hilarious you putting 'Little Earthquakes' in your Top 10, but then basically slandering her for no reason whatsoever. This isint about girl's never wanting to be with you, or that crush you had in high school who turned you down. This is a review of MUSIC. Making accusations that Tori has had botox, and is incredibly airbrushed is just showing how uninformed you are. The last thing people think when they see Tori Amos is 'fake' or 'plastic surgery', Come on. And bringing her 5 year old daughter into it is obviously showing that you have nothing better to bring forth except things that will get a rise out of not only Tori fans, but people in general. And Tori with an ego? And being pretentious? Please, next time you make a comment like that please look in the mirror. The things you are accusing her to be are nothng more than something coming from a boring uninspired writer who has to say things like this to keep people reading. That is sad. Next time focus on the music, not on lies, and junior high bashings of girls.
 
Posted 05/21/2005 - 11:33:42 PM by proffokker:
 In barnum's defense, he has every right to have expectations of quality if he believes that Amos is capable of it. And who said anything about "the market"?
 
Posted 09/14/2005 - 08:37:12 AM by TheBrad:
 "I would put "they sound like themselves" but everyone says that, SO I would guess a bit of tori with a bit of disturbed with a bit of ozzy with a bit of enigma and a bit of enya and a bit of some thing super heavy and super soft, the musics moody, jusy like the moonchild/gemeni cusp herself, Krystal, depends on her mood really, on what she writes. Its hard to label in one catergory. The songs on here hardly scratch the surface on her sound, as a whole" http://profile.myspace.com/index.cfm?fuseaction=user.viewProfile&friendID;=18308303&Mytoken;=20050826013857
 
Posted 09/14/2005 - 03:19:39 PM by DomPassantino:
 Hah, TheBrad wins this comments box.
 
Posted 09/17/2005 - 09:34:32 PM by hyacinth:
 "if someone has the decency to abduct and kill her daughter..." What kind of bullshit is that??? You condone that kind of behaviour? You should be abducted and killed, then maybe you'll write some better reviews.
 
Posted 12/05/2005 - 12:22:36 AM by rietta:
 I don't understand the present-day aversion to music that isn't depressing. Just because a song doesn't make you want to cry and cut yourself doesn't mean it lacks musical merit. Every piece on The Beekeeper was well-arranged, and none of them were boring. Yes, they were happy. So what? The presence of contentment in the lyrics doesn't detract from the meanings of the songs. "The Power of Orange Knickers" talks about the power that can be held in having a secret, something nobody knows but you, and the power in knowing the secrets of others. "Ribbons Undone" is Amos' reflections on her daughter's emotion and physical development into a young woman. Every song has an underlying point and meaning that, as usual, is easy to access while possessing enough depth and bredth to be relevant to a large number of very different people. I suggest you do yourself a favor and climb down off your angst rocking horse and realize that music doesn't have to be depressing to have a point.
 
Posted 06/16/2006 - 05:03:24 AM by slugabed:
 I don't agree with the whole 'artists have to suffer to make good stuff' stereotype. I think the main concern of this album is that Tori is running out of ideas, or at least ideas that catches my interest anyway. When the first single leaked, I already knew how this album would turn out. BUT, I still purchased this album because I wanted to listen to it from the beginning to end. It's her worst album by far, and I wouldn't be suprised if her next release isn't even worse.
 
Posted 09/22/2006 - 08:21:51 AM by RedLeather:
 Tori is not your bitch. Greetings!
 
Posted 05/08/2007 - 02:47:56 AM by slugabed:
 So, since American Doll Posse is a good album, you guys don't plan on reviewing it?