LCD Soundsystem
LCD Soundsystem

DFA
2005
A-
Reviewed by: Andrew Unterberger
Reviewed on: 2005-01-31



Posted 01/31/2005 - 08:30:07 PM by MusicNotSee:
 To say they've been in the public eye is misleading... They're on Pitchfork news because they'r hipster darlings... even then they played Coachella last year to only a handful of already familiars, and they've done spotted appearances with established or hyped acts in the U.K. Nobody who doesn't already want to know knows about them. Even !!! got covereage by NME, but go search LCD Soundsystem on the website. LCD Soundsystem are pure hipster hype... Nothing wrong with that, but I doubt they're going to start a musical revolution right away the way !!! and Rapture were supposed to... I get the feeling it's more of a laid back gradual approach their taking... you know, an 8 minute build as opposed to a 3 minute payoff?
 
Posted 01/31/2005 - 10:12:09 PM by carmela:
 muisc revolution? nah... an epidemic of robotic dance moves? yes
 
Posted 02/01/2005 - 04:29:55 AM by NickSouthall:
 LCD Soundsystem's debut album entered the British album charts at number 20 and has received pretty ravenous coverage in the music sections of broadsheet papers as well as more specialist music magazines. I can't find evidence to confirm it, but I'm pretty sure !!!'s album didn't make the top 20 when it was released last summer over here.
 
Posted 02/01/2005 - 05:31:23 AM by NickSouthall:
 I've just had confirmation from a friend who works at a record label - !!!'s debut album didn't even go top 40 in the UK. There is substantially more buzz about LCD Soundsystem in the UK than there was about !!!, Radio 4 or even The Rapture.
 
Posted 02/01/2005 - 03:38:11 PM by meatbreak:
 Psychedelic techno is a phrase no one will ever use again. But it is, don't you think? It's the coital explosions of robots and you're all dancing in it...and everyone nods knowingly as Losing My Edge shatters every record in your collection with it's smuggorance club and you wave your hands in the air...danzedanzedanze
 
Posted 02/11/2005 - 07:33:10 PM by cliqtech:
 Funnily enough I had this band on the burner to start looking out for after enjoying the Rapture and DFA. I agree with the reviewer, they kinda got into my consciousness but how? (missed out on !!! but will check them). Then they release their debut album?!? OK that's cool and I don't feel so late (but i am). I have already heard this album more times than the Rapture and will be revisiting it more often cos holds up better to repeated listenin (and a damn site easer to mix). They don't need hype, just watch this continue to sell on pure word of mouth (UK) and then see the gigs sell out. Album of the year for me at the mo and I've heard the new Daft Punk, but i want LCD playin at my fuckin house with DFA on the dex.
 
Posted 02/13/2005 - 02:39:28 PM by Slumberlord:
 And with last year's unanimously celebrated "Yeah,"

"Yeah" still sucks. You're dead-on about this record, though - best album I've heard so far this year.