Nick Lachey
SoulO

Universal
2004
C+
Reviewed by: Clem Bastow
Reviewed on: 2004-05-17



Posted 05/17/2004 - 12:07:46 PM by sup_sonic:
 What the fuck is happening to this site? Used to be a haven for good taste. Now it's a haven for shit.
 
Posted 05/17/2004 - 02:46:07 PM by clamsy:
 Haven't you heard? Straight-faced acceptance of mainstream pop is the new indie. Irony 360 degrees.
 
Posted 05/17/2004 - 07:14:36 PM by clem_bastow:
 Actually, there's nothing ironic about it - a good album is a good album.
 
Posted 05/17/2004 - 08:16:33 PM by boilingboy:
 Actually, it's only Clem Bastow, our self-proclaimed actress/singer/beauty pageant runnerup. Clem writes about this crap because this is most of what she wants to BE. Someone once said that people are defined by their idols. C'mon, Clem...I'm waiting for the thin-skinned retort.
 
Posted 05/17/2004 - 10:59:08 PM by rvincentpeters:
 "Our Endless Numbered Days" gets a 6 and this horseshit gets a 7?! Something is seriously wrong with the writers.
 
Posted 05/18/2004 - 08:28:13 AM by NickSouthall:
 Contrary to what you may presume, Stylus is not an ‘indie site’; we’re independent, yes insofar as that means we’re not allied with or owned by anyone other than opurselves, but that does not mean we have a remit, intentional or otherwise, to write about or privilege what you might term ‘indie rock’. We simply cover music. That might take the form of Sugababes or Morrissey or Modest Mouse or 4-disc box sets of Scandinavian experimental electronics, or even Jessica Simpson’s boyfriend. A pop thrill is just as ‘valid’ (uergh) as a slice of indie rock credibility or the further reaches of the avant-garde in our world; at different times, for different moods, we love them all. Also, never forget that Stylus is a group of individual writers; there is no party line, there is no ideology (beyond the fact that we love music and feel compelled to write about it), there is no ‘Stylus stance’ on anything at all. Editorial policy is to allow writers to express how they feel about music, not how the editors themselves feel. Clem’s taste may not fit exactly with my own all of the time but she’s a hell of a writer, blistering and passionate and in love with the rockingest and the poppingest that music has to offer, and that’s why she’s here. What would be the point of having a staff who agree on everything the whole time? Precious little, I suspect. If one writer thinks Our Endless Numbered Days is only worth a 6 and another thinks SoulO is worth a 7 then so be it; and if the little numbers in reviews can get to you so much then I suggest you ignore them and concentrate on the words instead!
 
Posted 05/18/2004 - 11:21:14 AM by hutlock:
 just to save you all the trouble of correcting nick with some smarmy bullshit comments: Mr. Lachey is in fact Jessica Simpson's husband, not her boyfriend. So please save your venom.
 
Posted 05/18/2004 - 11:27:40 AM by sup_sonic:
 Obviously, Clem is a hack writer who resorts to big mouth clichés to convey what she thinks. Or hides behind compilations to mask her lack of musical knowledge. Or hides behind that Harpo Marx wig. It seems to me the site used to pride itself on reviewing interesting, esoteric music. Now it prides itself on how many times it can get the word fuck in a review, insult the readers or highlight chart schlock. As for you Southall, don’t make us call your shit out too.
 
Posted 05/18/2004 - 11:48:17 AM by NickSouthall:
 How can they be married if she's not taken his surname? What mockery of a once-great institution is this? As for my shit being called out, I'm only too happy when that happens. I'm a busy man and make mistakes. Plus, you know, my taste is rubbish. At least I'm happy with it though!
 
Posted 05/18/2004 - 03:06:47 PM by d.a.boyfriend:
 nick: um, their TV show is called "Newlyweds." I think that's a rather large hint that they are in fact married. and while I can agree with what sup_sonic says about clem (I'm no fan -- see elsewhere, as nauseum), I don't think you can extend those accusations much beyond her, let alone to Stylus as a whole. I still find lots of interesting and thoughtful work here. It's "free to be individual" sort of attitude works wonders for me -- if you don't like it, well, there's always Pitchfork if you're looking for people to tow the indie party line...
 
Posted 05/18/2004 - 04:29:02 PM by stagger_lee:
 sup_sonic sup_sucks
 
Posted 05/18/2004 - 04:51:39 PM by NickSouthall:
 Just to clarify - referring to Lachey as Simpson's 'boyfriend' was a slip of the fingers (and brain). And I don't think I'd even heard of Newlyweds until I read this piece!
 
Posted 05/19/2004 - 09:42:33 AM by JoshLove:
 I can't decide whether I admire or am frightened by rvincentpeters' tenacity about that Iron and Wine review. I just thought it was disappointing bro, no more, no less.