Iron and Wine
Our Endless Numbered Days

Sub Pop
2004
C
Reviewed by: Josh Love
Reviewed on: 2004-04-07



Posted 04/07/2004 - 07:58:40 AM by I_fear_Satan:
 Pah! Tish and indeed fipsy! 9/10
 
Posted 04/07/2004 - 07:50:40 PM by rvincentpeters:
 This site is bunk. No one knows what the hell they are talking about. This album is excellent.
 
Posted 04/08/2004 - 11:43:51 PM by curiousyellow:
 Yeah, this album is good. But if you've heard the creek drank the cradle, then you would agree with Mr. Love here that this album is indeed quite a let down in comparison. and also.....bunk??
 
Posted 04/09/2004 - 12:35:40 PM by d.a.boyfriend:
 Gotta love those tiny-minded losers who say that if you disagree with me, you don't know what the hell you're talking about. And hey, 6 = Good. Check the scale at left. It's not like he said it stunk or something.
 
Posted 04/09/2004 - 08:19:19 PM by rvincentpeters:
 Actually, Our Endless Numbered Days is a step forward for Sam Beam & Co. in my honest opinion. It's funny how people want an artist to reproduce the same album over and over. What's the point of that? I prefer growth as opposed to hearing the same thing done multiple times. I was disappointed... this album is at least "really great". Heh.
 
Posted 04/10/2004 - 02:24:04 AM by curiousyellow:
 But that's just the point. It's not that i want any artist to merely reproduce the same album over and over again - on the contrary that's exactly the opposite of what I want. But that is what Beam did with OEND, it's just a watered down version of the creek drank the cradle. The lyrics don't have the same depth and the music borders on forgettable.
 
Posted 04/10/2004 - 10:04:50 PM by rvincentpeters:
 Wrong. The lyrics and music are better. Listen to it a few times before you judge. Some things take awhile to grow on you. Simple doesn't always mean simplistic.
 
Posted 04/19/2004 - 12:25:37 AM by armchaircritic:
 I think Mr.Love's putting the wry lyrics of Creek on too high a pedestal and missing what this newer album's really about. the wryness on Creek was there for a reason - Beam was both embracing and undermining his own childhood nostalgia. this newer album seems much more about romantic relationships than "the South" persay. the Onion av club had the perfect title- "love and death." not every album can be tart and dry. frankly, since beam's now a husband and father, it would sound rather self-conscious to me if he turned up the wryness. Love's opinion is completely valid, but he's totally baiting all us other saps when he coyly mentions "sophomore slump." sounds like someone's in a hurry to contradict his peers.