2007 Year-End Thoughts
Writing About Music




Reviewed by: Nick Southall
Reviewed on: 2007-10-31



Posted 10/31/2007 - 04:32:20 AM by gbutcher:
 Nick, your writing is comparatively more amazing and entertaining than any music I have heard, and I can not thank you enough for what you have done over the past five years. Good luck in the future.
 
Posted 10/31/2007 - 07:04:39 AM by Sutrarama:
 Nick, I very much agree with gbutcher and hope you carry on writing somewhere else in the future. But if you don't, good luck.
 
Posted 10/31/2007 - 07:58:48 AM by terrorist:
 Well, I've done my best to be as much of CUNT as humanly possible to you and Stylus in general. I was several characters on here, most infamously, TheDisexists for the greater part of two years. I know I was hated by some & loathed & hated by others & looked down on by some & utterly ignored & hated by still more, but I did achieve my final goal which was to have Stylus *dis-exist* me. I don't mean this to sound smug in any way. Being a complete fuck-knuckle, disagreeing with everything, talkin absolutely shit; these things were so much more fun than trying to say anything serious. You guys did that - the serious talk. & As much as I found most of deathly boring, quite a bit of it I enjoyed too. Thank you. Thank you too. And thank you.
 
Posted 10/31/2007 - 09:50:13 AM by florenz6:
 All the best, Florenz aka Michael
 
Posted 10/31/2007 - 10:28:08 AM by meatbreak:
 Nick. This is a sad day. I didn't know I would react so emotionally to the closing of a website, but I did, and continue to. I've been useless at work this week. Thanks for everything, it's been an eye-opening, mind-expanding trip. These Things You Can't Unlearn. All the best. MxBx (aka Duncan - married, with two cats)

p.s. If you stop writing I will hunt you down and force the words from you.
 
Posted 10/31/2007 - 10:29:52 AM by meatbreak:
 Ummm...and: Hahaha. Jeezus Terrorist, you were TheDisexists? So did you use a thesaurus and medical dictionary all that time or do you really have the most psychedelic vocabulary of anyone alive? Well, congrats of achieving your goal of ex-communication - you never really dabbled in Scientology then did you? It was a lot of fun.
 
Posted 10/31/2007 - 10:41:06 AM by Zarklephaser:
 Thanks Nick, of all the Stylus writers I think I've realistically enjoyed your stuff the most. Still reading your blog so you'd better post occasionally. You're a fantastic writer. All the best, Stephen
 
Posted 10/31/2007 - 01:21:09 PM by grandbanks:
 Fucking hell, terrorist, I am glad that I do not have the problems entertaining myself that you do (though I have found you entertaining often enough). Good job, Nick, you managed some pretty good shit on here. Good luck, Davis (why not)
 
Posted 10/31/2007 - 01:51:05 PM by raskolnikov:
 Bye-bye Stylus, you were ballsy enough to allow your readership to fire back in a visible forum. For that alone this magazine deserves a lot of respect. Effort should always be respected, and I think Mr. Southall qualifies as someone who cares a great deal about the music he likes and is familiar with...Stylus was by far the most "grown-up" of all the indie webzines. I'm going to miss pissing publicly in your magazine. It's been fun, and remember all of us grouches as we fade off along with you.
 
Posted 10/31/2007 - 03:27:59 PM by dario09:
 Altough I am a long time reader, I just registered here solely for the purpose of telling you, and all the staff of Stylus how grateful I am for all that you have done here. You had become a daily routine to me, one of the few sites worth reading of all the junk that spawns on the web everyday. There's not much else to say, I'll miss you. Thank you all. Good luck, and dont ever stop writing.
 
Posted 10/31/2007 - 05:00:28 PM by J_R_K_:
 nick your writing is really great. todd is amazing for running this site all these years, and maybe now he can approach a more sane sleeping schedule.
 
Posted 10/31/2007 - 08:21:55 PM by adentice:
 The grand un-masking - I love it! So long Stylus - I think the best thing I can say about this site is that it has become a daily ritual for me - and I'm truly going to miss it when it's not there anymore. I also the think the personal nature of these final pieces is fitting given the personal nature of the writing was always one of the things that made Stylus special. P.S. Nick, (despite comments to the contrary, mainly concerning new rave!) I have thoroughly enjoyed your writing. Good luck.
 
Posted 11/01/2007 - 01:42:38 PM by cwperry:
 Frank Zappa said that eons before Elvis Costello said it.
 
Posted 11/01/2007 - 04:41:47 PM by mtwill:
 Stylus has always been a pretty seriously goofy affair (check out uber-douchebag Alfred Soto's idiotic signoff), but Nick's reviews and articles have always kept me checking in. Nick, you're the best music writer on the internets right now, one of the few who writes with real sincerity and spirit about a genuine love for sound. Your review of Silent Alarm is still one of my favorite reviews I've ever read, and Imperfect Sound Forever is a justly reknowned classic. I look forward to hearing a lot more from you. Cheers.
 
Posted 11/02/2007 - 11:17:20 PM by vohpoh:
 Fuck! I just found out that Stylus is closing. I've been visiting daily for about a year now and never had a clue. There was something not quite right about all these lists and year-end thoughts, and there it was. Fuck! The web won't be the same without Stylus around. Oh, and thanks to you for al the OCD writing which I've so much enjoyed. Among other things it has led me into discovering full-size headphone listening, Alessandro MS1s (and several more), Head-Fi, headphone amps and so forth (my wife and daugthters also thank you for bringing some silence into their lives). Hope to be reading more of your stuff somewhere else sometime soon. Boo Hoo.