Radiohead
In Rainbows

Self-Released
2007
A-
Reviewed by: Derek Miller
Reviewed on: 2007-10-22



Posted 10/22/2007 - 08:32:09 AM by dubidet:
 Get outta yr igloo, Miller!
 
Posted 10/22/2007 - 08:35:44 AM by florenz6:
 "This is my way of saying goodbye, `cause I can´t do it face to face" - this quote from a fine Radiohead album is my way of saying goodbye for the rest of this year - with my special gift incl. smiles and rolling eyes on invisible faces: the first "best-of-2007" list you are likely to see. Here it is, the Top 10 of the infamous mid-european guy named florenz6: 1) Robert Wyatt Comic Opera A+ 2) Tunng: Broken Arrows (A) 3)Kammerflimmer Kollektief: Jinx (A) 4)Arve Henriksen: Strjon (A) 5)Stars of the Lid: And Their Refinement of Decline (A) 6)Amateur: Alog (A) 7) Christian Wallumrod Ensemble: The Zoo Is Far (A-) 8) Supersilent 8 (A-) 9) David Torn: Prezens (A-) 10) Radiohead: In Rainbows (B+)"There´s a crack in everything that´s where the light moves in." Enlightening grey november skies for everybody, CHEERS, F6!
 
Posted 10/22/2007 - 09:11:27 AM by meatbreak:
 Ah Flo, you're gone and I'm back. So you interviewed Robert Wyatt? Wow. Hope that went well and all, what a great interesting guy to get to speak to - he must have left an impression, because there's greater albums from the last 10 months than his - if you'd have given me your email we might have seen the Monsters Build Mean Robots album up there (On the Nice Weather For Airstrikes label - so many good names round these parts). Not enough soul in that sterile Stars Of Their Lid album for me in the end - multiple listens kept pushing me further and further away from it's cold interior. Shame, there's some beautiful moments in it. As for this Radiohead album, I can't really see many changes between Kid A and In Rainbows. Sure, they brought the guitars back in Hail To The Thief, but that's old Radiohead and this album will take many more listens before it proves itself to be anything other than HTTT V.2 Not necessarily a bad thing, but after the leap from The Bends to OK Computer, then from their to Kid A, they really could be doing more for us mortals than being comfortably "at ease with their own past and no longer willing to force things quite so hard." That contadicts some things I've said on this site before about artists doing it for themselves and not for the market, so I rephrase that and ask why are Radiohead content to not push harder into the unknown?
 
Posted 10/22/2007 - 09:33:49 AM by smwynne:
 I'm happy with this record. I don't need another OK Comp. or Kid A.
 
Posted 10/22/2007 - 09:42:02 AM by blackrooster:
 I'd agree with your mark, but not with your view of 'Reckoner'. I'd say it is one of the strongest tracks along with 'All I need', '15 Step' and 'Videotape'.
 
Posted 10/22/2007 - 10:05:18 AM by meatbreak:
 I'm happy with this too, it's just not especially exciting. I didn't mean that they should repeat the sound and formula of those two albums either, I was talking about the the spirit in which they were invented - but that might be what you're referring to too smwynne.
 
Posted 10/22/2007 - 10:10:33 AM by gregarious:
 That's funny that Derek singles out Reckoner as a weak track on the album, which along with Nude, is one of my favorites.
 
Posted 10/22/2007 - 10:41:21 AM by scooper:
 10/10 for releasing it themselves.
 
Posted 10/22/2007 - 11:03:14 AM by johnedowney:
 I disagree with the use of big words. Also, I think that the word "Happy" needs to be used in order to describe this album.
 
Posted 10/22/2007 - 11:50:10 AM by motelmoka:
 I'm really surprised at this review, I thought that stylus being stylus would give it a C or a D just for the sake of it, glad you decided to ignore the hype for once and do some serious reviewing. I also thought right away of the comparison of Roygbiv = all i need & Faust arp = Julia when I first listened to the album. Yet we do digress on many points, Bodysnatchers was the song I found the most un-interesting at first but I now find it delightful, I find some of the lyrics to "all i need" cringe-inducing rather than acid ("I'm an animal trapped in your hot car" "I am a moth who just want to share your light") yet it truly is musically beautiful and I think Reckoner is one of the highlights of the album, where you hear meaningless and undynamic passages I hear one of Radiohead's most refreshing and gorgeous moment in years, Yorke's lyrics are among on that one and Phil Selway's percussion work is outstanding. Actually this is the first review I read with someone dissing on Reckoner.
 
Posted 10/22/2007 - 12:09:10 PM by florenz6:
 a postscriptum for meatbreak, then it´s time to go - no one leaves an impression on me that makes me go crazy about a record even more.(i don´t think this last sentence was perfect english, but ya know what i mean) the music is always first place. i haven´theared anything that has touched me deeper this year, so don´t let us play "your ears" - "my ears", mr. meatbreak. but i´ve listened to the band you appreciate so much, and the three pieces on my space are really fine.i will go for it, thanks!
 
Posted 10/22/2007 - 01:37:16 PM by florenz6:
 Re: Meatbreak Re: gregarious - The more I think about leaving, the more I think about it as a fake, Meatbreaker, just imagine the inner smile of Little Matters. Unacceptable. Returning to Radiohead, I experienced that my favourite pieces are always changing. From the beginning, I had the feeling this a great record sometimes approaching the kitsch zone (some great works of music did exactly this!)And, refering to Mr. Gregarious (a woman would never call herself gregarious)- "Nude" is still one of the tracks that is for me very, very close to kitsch. And "Reckoner" has become a fantastic piece. The spectrum of Radiohead is still very rich. And they are too intelligent to end up in the territory of over-pathetic prog rock syndroms. Yet they have to be careful.
 
Posted 10/22/2007 - 03:59:43 PM by mtwill:
 agree more or less with the score (i'd give it an A; its probably the best record of 07 (although i need the clean the radiohead out of my ears and revisit strawberry jam before making any rash pronouncements)) and with many of the sentiments, but still... why is stylus so annoying? i cant quite put my finger on it... something so... silly and goofy about the site that just keeps me coming back for more...
 
Posted 10/22/2007 - 05:29:02 PM by barbarian:
 I don't really agree with the A-, 9.3/10, etc. reviews I've been reading. This seems like a decent album which I think was the goal here. It is just a solid album. For a while I've been feeling one of Radiohead's growing weaknesses has been over production. Even though there are some beautiful layers of Yorke's voice all over the place, some of the songs would be much improved with a more raw edge. In fact, I am hoping their next release is by far their rawest. What an awesome move that would be.
 
Posted 10/23/2007 - 02:33:50 AM by florenz6:
 re:barabarian - Rawness , that´s exactly what the Thom Yorke and Co. hav to keep in mind! Otherwise they might be trapped in beauty and some of their formulas!
 
Posted 10/29/2007 - 01:41:23 AM by terrorist:
 Glad to see the back of you flo6. Your very second comment slid into a formula of the first & it's been downhill ever since. Similarly, this review is trollop. Trapped by his imaginings of what to say about it, Derek has baulked turkey giblets of bologna; oh, an A album, for sure. But really, what does this sentence mean? "('Bodysnatchers' ...is the album’s most dated and inessential song)". The most? Which is the least? Shall we list them in order from least to most? All ten of them? Snicker.