Sunset Rubdown
Random Spirit Lover

Jagjaguwar
2007
A
Reviewed by: Jeff Weiss
Reviewed on: 2007-10-15



Posted 10/15/2007 - 07:46:48 AM by grw123:
 Great album, or the greatest album? One thing that every review I have read of this album fails to mention is just how funny it is. I can't listen to it at all without having a huge smile on my face due to it being so awesomely ridiculous, both lyrically and musically. Easily the best album of the year, if not ever. It just keeps getting better. 17 times is not nearly enough to fully appreciate it. "Up on your leopard, upon the end of your feral days" has been listened to 75 times according to my iTunes. The album is astonishing.
 
Posted 10/15/2007 - 10:09:27 AM by ddzodin:
 Well done. I wrote a review of this for another site, and it's funny how similar the experience seems to have been. Even after settling on a draft that I was happy enough with, I'm still searching around for more reviews, more opinions on this album. I kind of don't want to let it go. It's becoming a slightly unhealthy obsession, but obsession is better than apathy. Not quite the best album ever, but I'll vote for best of the decade so far...
 
Posted 10/15/2007 - 11:56:52 AM by fleezer:
 best album of the decade? you have to be fucking kidding me... this gross krug/mercer thing (wait arent they the same person? no? well fuck off then) really blows. of his 17 shitty bands all contain: 1. terrible lyrics which make me feel embarrased 2. terrible vocals 3. terrible sense of melody 4. ridiculous self-importance "REFORM THE COUNTRYSIDErararrarararagarblegarblegarble!!" god what an asshole. I wasted my ratio downloading this crap! BEST ALBUM TO HAVE EVER LIVED!
 
Posted 10/15/2007 - 12:38:14 PM by ReichlJuice:
 It's a good album so far, but does it come in a discbox format?
 
Posted 10/15/2007 - 03:32:52 PM by yarn24:
 Fleezer was a little harsh but this is definitely overrated. I loved Shut Up, but this was disappointing. Krug's songs aren't as tight as they have been in the past and although there are some gems, there are also two or three flat-out poor songs (something I thought Krug was totally incapable of). Definitely not bad, but not as good as the critics are saying it is. The cokemachineglow review has been the most accurate one I've seen (and I haven't really agreed with them at all this year).
 
Posted 10/15/2007 - 08:36:52 PM by ddzodin:
 Fleezer, your reaction is proof enough of this album's merit. Cokemachineglow aside, there haven't been too many on the fence with this one. And as for it not being as tight as Shut Up I Am Dreaming, I'd say it's the exact opposite. RSL has a more polished sound and its idiosyncrasies are widescreen, whereas SUIAD was a little more intimate and personal (and within that smaller scale, there was not a small amount of flab, however charming that flab was).
 
Posted 10/15/2007 - 10:12:24 PM by fredfredfred:
 I actually feel like this is the first review I've read that got it right. When I initially got the leak (mid august) I felt pretty much like cmg/yarn felt, disappointed and somewhat overwhelmed. It took two months of coming back to this to realize that I can't remember the last time I was as excited about a new album.
 
Posted 10/16/2007 - 01:16:09 AM by mpatton:
 Here's something we can all agree on: this album has one of the best 45 seconds to open an album, ever.
 
Posted 10/17/2007 - 02:24:51 AM by yarn24:
 That is very true mpatton. "The mending of the Gown" is the best song on here and on of the three best Sunset Rubdown songs. I think I've misled some people with my blurb. Although I have some reservations, this album is still right outside my top thirty of the year so far. I like it but don't love it and I guess I was just disappointed because everything Krug has done up to this point has been flawless. He even made Beast Moans worth revisiting.