Les Savy Fav
Let’s Stay Friends

Frenchkiss
2007
B+
Reviewed by: Evan McGarvey
Reviewed on: 2007-09-18



Posted 09/18/2007 - 03:00:50 PM by grandbanks:
 Don't buy this guy's shtick at all (not saying he is a bad guy or anything, though). He's "insane," not insane. Safe escape for indie kids who forgot that rock bands sometimes are fun. They are the default. The guitarist is like an 80's Edge Jr. 20 years removed. It was insinuated on another site that this band was way ahead of the curve concerning the whole "dance-punk" thing, which is one way to look at it, but another is this: they were copping the moves of another, much better Providence band, Six Finger Sattelite, all along. Saw L.S.F open for tons of bands in the 90s, never very good. They have gotten better, but I keep imagining I missed something, go back, listen to the records, see them play, and am disappointed all over again. Tim's antics, the terrible clothes, sailor hats, shenanigans, were originally there to overcome the mediocrity of his band and indifference of the audience. Don't mean to be too harsh, but they seem to get the same critical pass that The Hold Steady get, and I just don't understand.
 
Posted 09/18/2007 - 03:28:03 PM by grandbanks:
 All I meant above is that the "Best live band on the planet" tag lobbed at this band seems way overstated. Oneida woulda wiped the floor with this band anyday, circa 00-04. Many others as well.
 
Posted 09/18/2007 - 04:03:04 PM by KissMyGrits:
 Hey grandbanks, try talking about the record next time. I think it's a great album, and I'm really happy that they're trying new things while still hanging on to their trademark sound. Super psyched to see them live. Who gives a shit about Oneida "circa '00-'04" anyway? You're living in the past, dogg.
 
Posted 09/18/2007 - 04:08:58 PM by grandbanks:
 You're right, just griping. I'll refrain from the negative, though I stick by what I said. I'll also listen to this record when I can and maybe hear what I haven't heard previously.
 
Posted 09/18/2007 - 05:10:24 PM by raskolnikov:
 Grandbanks: you're not griping. You're absolutely right about the false smell of this band. You beat me to the punch today for sure. Tim Harrington needs to be pummeled by David Yow's empty Jack Daniels bottle, and the band themselves are total cheeseballs.
 
Posted 09/18/2007 - 05:11:15 PM by raskolnikov:
 Nice double-g on your "dogg" there too, KissMyGrits...did you have writer's block when you came up with that one too?
 
Posted 09/18/2007 - 08:20:51 PM by KissMyGrits:
 You felt the need to make a second post about my use of dogg? Just listen to the record, mann.
 
Posted 09/18/2007 - 09:32:45 PM by dougrokakis:
 raskolnikov is just pissed because they haven't reviewed the new Sword Heaven yet. Load records rulez.
 
Posted 09/19/2007 - 07:38:18 AM by raskolnikov:
 Yes, I did need to make a second post about that, KMG. Any other dated hiphop phraseology you want to toss around? Like boyeeeee? Perhaps when you're disrespecting Oneida's existence in favor of the false and crappy LSF and Grandbanks for allegedly living in the past, you might try to be a little more current in your slang.
 
Posted 09/20/2007 - 05:02:20 PM by grandbanks:
 I will add here that I am sure Oneida would still wipe the floor with this band, but I haven't gotten to see them in a while (NO FUCKING VIRGINIA SHOWS IN ALMOST 4 YEARS GUYS). So I am not living in the past, just referencing about when the "Best Live Band In The World" thing started getting bandied about. Not that this should stop you from enjoying LSF. They are alright, it's just that the math doesn't add up. Peace out ...
 
Posted 09/20/2007 - 07:53:08 PM by raskolnikov:
 Oneida destroyed Mission of Burma too back in Jan. 07 at Irving Plaza NYC...looking forward to them rip it with Circle this weekend at the Knit. All of these bands are far better at playing live or recording or existing than Les Savy Fav.