Broken Social Scene Presents: Kevin Drew
Spirit If...

Arts & Crafts
2007
A-
Reviewed by: Derek Miller
Reviewed on: 2007-09-17



Posted 09/17/2007 - 03:49:01 PM by motelmoka:
 what the best record associated with broken social scene in your opinion?
 
Posted 09/17/2007 - 05:35:14 PM by barbarian:
 This one should be interesting to hear. Kevin Drew's style can just piss me off bad sometimes. I've always preferred Brendan Canning's work and wished for more from him. A full album of Kevin Drew seems painful. What is Newfeld up to?
 
Posted 09/17/2007 - 06:02:21 PM by barbarian:
 Dear God! I just read the first two paragraphs of the Pitchfork review and had to say thank you to Derk Miller for not being that much of a hipster piece of blah blah blah...
 
Posted 09/17/2007 - 11:30:08 PM by DerekMiller:
 motelmoka: For me, it's definitely still You Forgot It In People. I went through a stage with this record where I was sort of fighting what I'd come to think (that it's better, top to bottom, than BSS). I gave that up. I think it was last Tuesday. . .
 
Posted 09/17/2007 - 11:32:14 PM by DerekMiller:
 barbarian: if you don't like Drew's prior material, I'm not sure you're gonna find much here to cherish. It's definitely his stuff smeared across your cheekbones.
 
Posted 09/18/2007 - 05:01:36 AM by hardcoracle:
 I could never listen to either of BSS's albums front-to-back because they sounded so bloated and wandering to me (especially the second), even though they shone brilliantly in certain spots. I feel like they definitely could have benefited from a stronger unifying force. Which is why I'd take this one over either of those--it has every bit the breadth of a BSS album, and yet it never sounds overstuffed.
 
Posted 09/21/2007 - 12:18:55 PM by axiomatic:
 not to be a dick, hardcoracle, but there are three BSS albums kicking around there - if the one you're missing is Feel Good Lost, it's a nice counterpoint to the "bloated" feel of the other two.
 
Posted 09/22/2007 - 11:07:41 PM by bassmanO8:
 feel good lost is the kind of album - pleasant mood music where there are a thousand and one far far better pleasant mood music albums out there, rendering it utterly irrelevant. Kind Of Blue possibly sitting at #1 with savath & savalas sitting around #1001