The Smashing Pumpkins
Zeitgeist

Reprise
2007
D+
Reviewed by: Josh Love
Reviewed on: 2007-07-12



Posted 07/12/2007 - 10:05:57 AM by DeSandro:
 D+ really? I'd like to think that at its core, this is a great album. BC does go overboard with the production, but the songs are still really fun to listen to. It deserves a solid C. 1. Sometimes the over-cooked sound works (Bring the Light) sometimes it doesn't (God and Country - solo live versions are more affecting). I find I don't have to skip over multiple tracks to get to the good ones like on Adore or Machina. 2. A photo Paris Hilton is featured on the inside cover. Perhaps the pretentious album title is a bit tongue-in-cheek? 3. Corgan could have done a double-album of the melodic stuff (He's been playing some of the smaller songs live) - but is it so wrong to make a metal record?
 
Posted 07/12/2007 - 10:08:39 AM by badhaircut:
 Tar Heart
 
Posted 07/12/2007 - 11:53:10 AM by ReichlJuice:
 Sounds like the reviewer wanted something like a companion album to Machina, as they mention several times... If they only would have made some sort of Machina II. Oh Wait...!
 
Posted 07/12/2007 - 01:48:55 PM by FinFangFoom:
 Barack Obama!
 
Posted 07/12/2007 - 02:48:10 PM by J_R_K_:
 some of these songs sound amazing live "tarantula" in particular. and the first song is really great. but this CD is afflicted with Zwan disorder: every songs has the same dynamics. in this case, loud.
 
Posted 07/12/2007 - 03:36:52 PM by adentice:
 Billy Corgan? Tongue in cheek? Na.
 
Posted 07/12/2007 - 06:21:47 PM by raskolnikov:
 I would rather eat my own vomit than listen to anything by Billy Corgan.
 
Posted 07/12/2007 - 06:38:54 PM by draglikepull:
 This album is great. The last two songs drag and "United States" is desperately in need of a hook, but the rest of the album is top-notch. "Tarantula", "That's The Way (My Love Is)", and "Bring The Light" are all pretty fantastic songs. Is it overproduced? Depends what you think of the rest of the Pumpkins catalogue, I guess. It's not nearly as dense as Machina, and it doesn't sound as layered as Mellon Collie (where one of the longer songs apparently has something like 50 guitar tracks). I also don't see where the criticism of monotony comes from. There are great guitar riffs all over the place, and Machina (which the reviewer seems to like) had a far more unified and consistent sound.
 
Posted 07/12/2007 - 07:40:51 PM by theresafield:
 that billy's no kelly clarkson, that's for sure!
 
Posted 07/12/2007 - 08:42:24 PM by yarn24:
 A D+ for this and a D for Interpol. More proof that Stylus is inconsistent as fuck.
 
Posted 07/13/2007 - 12:19:19 AM by espechemode:
 Yeah, this (review) coming from a guy that gave Kelly Clarkson and Tim McGraw albums a B and B- rating respectively. I give your credibility an F-
 
Posted 07/13/2007 - 02:28:36 PM by espechemode:
 Oh yeah, and anyone that uses the word "sucks" to describe something in a review...sucks
 
Posted 07/13/2007 - 07:55:21 PM by barbarian:
 i wanna go for a bike ride but i just went for a bike ride a little while ago and its not my bike so i dont wanna hog it
 
Posted 07/13/2007 - 11:30:17 PM by audiosnag:
 josh, when they asked you to review this album you really should have fessed up and said "im sorry..i dont like loud music..send me something light and poppy please" the fact you listed Jimmy Chamberlains drumwork, one of the BEST drummers playing today, as a negetive is absolutely rediculous...this album is heavy and loud and its fantastic..if billy wanted to make another adore or album full of ballads he would have.. "unrelentingly loud..and quite often fast" oh no! rock music loud and fast? rock music should be mellow and..how did u put it? lightly kissed...i dont think rock music is for you oh and you dissed trent...stick to pop music please..im going to assume the fact you liked grinderman was an accident
 
Posted 07/14/2007 - 08:25:44 AM by florenz6:
 Another fine review by Josh Love. His sympathy for Grinderman was surely no "accident".
 
Posted 07/14/2007 - 12:52:56 PM by tomburg:
 "That would be like the Spin Doctors putting out a record called Got My Finger on the Pulse of Today that sounded exactly like Pocket Full of Kryptonite." Disagree with the review, as I do with most of this guy's work, but this is arguably the funniest line I've ever read in a music review.
 
Posted 07/15/2007 - 12:10:11 PM by thekevingreene:
 The attacks on sylus' credibility are unwarranted. You cannot judge an Interpol album, or even a Smashing Pumpkins album, against a Kelly Clarkson album. Stylus, like any good review sight judges a band against what they have already done and by what they are attempting to do. If stylus or pitchfork or rolling stone or whomever just judged every album against Closer, or Slanted & Enchanted, or OK Computer, every review would be a shitty one. You judge a band by who they are, not by who they aren't.
 
Posted 07/15/2007 - 01:14:46 PM by florenz6:
 They can. It's freedom of speech and of view of things. Several of the writeres are often excellent, sometimes even in cases I diagree totally.
 
Posted 07/16/2007 - 11:44:16 AM by jhitting:
 The consistent sound of Zeitgeist is the reason for people's dismissal of it. It takes a few listens to get into the flow or lack thereof, but it's worth it. The cover art is pretty tacky, I must say, but as comeback albums go, this ain't too bad at all. More like a C+.
 
Posted 07/16/2007 - 02:18:27 PM by cwperry:
 What are you talking about, Got My Finger on the Pulse of Today is a great album! Just kidding.
 
Posted 07/18/2007 - 03:18:38 PM by J_R_K_:
 with all the mid-90s revival spin doctors will probably be 'relevant' again by the time they released this hypothetical record.
 
Posted 07/19/2007 - 08:26:00 PM by saltlick:
 I don't think this album is quite as bad as most of the reviews say. However, I don't know if I actually like it or if I think it's good compared to the modern mainstream rock landscape. Even in the radio-rock parts, there are some interesting ideas going on. The big example of this would be "Bleeding the Orchid". Even though the song sounds pretty radio (best adjective I have at the moment, sorry), the subtle melodic ideas help it rise above frat level a bit. Anyway, I think the best songs are "Bring the Light", "(Come On) Let's Go", and "That's the Way My Love Is" (which should have been the first single instead of Tarantula).
 
Posted 07/19/2007 - 08:56:10 PM by saltlick:
 By the way, this is rock, not metal.
 
Posted 08/22/2007 - 05:28:30 PM by boilingboy:
 I initially took umbrage with is low rating. The album is mediocre, to be sure, but not the disaster it's made out to be. However, the review gave props to some of the tracks on Machina...some vastly underated songs. So, I put my indignation back in the bag. I'm sensitive to the usual dislike of Billy Corgan which focuses on his arrogant personality far, far, more than his music. This band meant a lot to some of us back in the day, so for a wonderful piece on the conflicted emotions that this new Pumpkins inspires, I highly recommend.... http://cokemachineglow.com/reviews/smashingpumpkins_zeitgeist2007.html